Civil Beat Reporting Fellow

Natanya Friedheim

Natanya Friedheim is a reporting fellow at Civil Beat. She covers city government, general assignments and produces video content.
Natanya joined Civil Beat as an intern in August 2016 after completing an internship at Pacific Business News. Born and raised on Oahu, Natanya moved to Oakland, California to attend Mills College. As a student, Natanya taught civics classes at a public middle school in Oakland and worked in a preschool classroom. Upon completing her B.A. in literary and cultural studies with a minor in government, she returned to Oahu to settle down and start her career in journalism.
In her free time, Natanya is at the beach, skateboarding or makes goofy videos for her social media platforms.

For tips, story ideas or comments, you can reach Natanya at natanya@civilbeat.org. Her twitter handle is @natanya_hnl.

April 2018

Wednesday, April 18

Legislators Push To Send $100 Million To Kauai For Flood Damage

Thursday, April 12

New City Council Leadership Challenges Caldwell’s Proposed Budget

Wednesday, April 11

Council Leaders, Mayor Caldwell Will Talk With Feds In DC About Rail Funding

Council Considers Big Cuts In Honolulu’s Climate Change Office

Friday, April 6

Caldwell Wants A Sidewalk Sit-Lie Ban Everywhere On Oahu

Tuesday, April 3

Will Lawmakers Help These Low-Income Tenants Stay In Their Lahaina Homes?

March 2018

Tuesday, March 27

New Honolulu Housing Bill Seeks The Middle Ground

Thursday, March 22

Honolulu Can’t Access 66,000 Personal Documents After System Crashed

Wednesday, March 21

Hawaii County Closes Its ‘Safe Zone’ Homeless Experiment

Tuesday, March 20

Oahu’s First Trailer Park Just The Latest In New Wave Of Public Housing

Friday, March 16

Community Vents Frustration Over State’s Mixed Signals On Waianae Camp

Thursday, March 15

Ige: State Looking For Land To Relocate Waianae Encampment

Monday, March 12

This Honolulu Architect Designs Low-Cost Housing, Often For Free

Thursday, March 8

Waialua Landowner Proposes 30-Home ‘Affordable’ Subdivision

Monday, March 5

Legislators Want Abandoned Cars Removed Quicker

Thursday, March 1

Tax Dollars May Get Tapped To Fly Homeless Out Of Hawaii

February 2018

Wednesday, February 28

Coming Soon To Ala Moana: Another 400-Foot Tower

Monday, February 26

Honolulu Businesses Hurt By Rail May Finally Get Help

Friday, February 16

So Much For Hawaii’s Preparations — The Flu Bug Has Landed

Wednesday, February 14

Waianae Boat Harbor Residents Try To Stave Off A Homeless Sweep

Monday, February 5

Here’s A Novel Idea To Help The Homeless — Vending Machines

Thursday, February 1

Areas Around Schools And Libraries May Be Next For Sit-Lie Ban

January 2018

Monday, January 29

‘Safe Zones’ For Homeless A Hot Topic At Legislature

Wednesday, January 24

City Stuck With Abandoned Cars Registered To Service Members

Tuesday, January 23

Awkward And Rewarding Task Of Surveying Homeless Begins

Monday, January 22

Dozens Of Hawaii’s Mentally Ill May Lose Their Homes

Thursday, January 11

Legislators Push To Create More ‘Safe Zones’ For The Homeless

Tuesday, January 9

Why Oahu’s Rural Homeless Have Often Been Undercounted

Tuesday, January 2

Why Isn’t Honolulu Helping Businesses Hurt By Rail Construction?

December 2017

Wednesday, December 27

Honolulu Police Try Building More Trust With The Homeless

Tuesday, December 26

Outreach Workers Who Aid The Homeless Often Need Help Themselves

Tuesday, December 19

State Pays To Keep Kona ‘Safe Zone’ Open For Homeless

Monday, December 18

Ala Moana High Rise Developer Removes ‘Poor Door’ From Proposal

This Court Offers The Homeless A Fresh Start Instead Of Punishment

Thursday, December 7

One Ala Moana Condo Development Approved And Another In The Pipeline

Wednesday, December 6

Council Gives Preliminary OK To Changing How Police Panel Selected

Proposed High Rise With ‘Poor Door’ Stalls At City Council

Tuesday, December 5

Councilman Wants A Piece Of The Action In Picking Police Commissioners

November 2017

Thursday, November 30

‘Poor Door’: Separate Tower Entrance Planned For Lower-Income Residents

Monday, November 27

Two More Condo And Hotel Towers Proposed For Ala Moana

Friday, November 17

Honolulu City Council Considers Regulating ‘Monster Homes’

Thursday, November 16

Council Panel Votes To Prohibit Lying Down At Honolulu Bus Stops

Tuesday, November 14

New Council Proposal Cuts Back Fire Sprinkler Requirements

Monday, November 13

Recycle Or Incinerate? The Battle Of The Blue Bins

Monday, November 6

No Water For The Homeless At The Waianae Boat Harbor Camp

Wednesday, November 1

Council Confirms Two New Honolulu Police Commission Members

It’s Hard To Say Where Homeless People Go After Sweeps

October 2017

Friday, October 27

Audit: Honolulu Could Save Millions By Burning Recyclables For Energy

Tuesday, October 24

Honolulu Council Committee Shoots Down Islandwide Sit-Lie Ban

Monday, October 23

State Plans To Clear Out Homeless Camp Under Honolulu Freeway

Wednesday, October 18

Why It’s So Difficult To Clean Up This Honolulu Hoarder House

Thursday, October 12

Boat Harbor Encampment Cited As Model For Homeless Safe Zones

Wednesday, October 11

Islandwide Sit-Lie Ban Gets Preliminary Approval Despite Opposition

Tax Breaks Proposed For Organic Farms And ‘Ocean Friendly’ Restaurants

Councilman: Contraflow Lane Is Doing More Harm Than Good

Friday, October 6

Hawaii Officials To The Homeless: Go Away

Thursday, October 5

Overtime Costs Keep Going Up For Honolulu City Government

Wednesday, October 4

City Must Find $160 Million To Pay For Rail Agency’s Employees

September 2017

Tuesday, September 26

Some Honolulu High Rises Don’t Need Sprinklers, Fire Safety Panel Says

The Big Island’s First Legal Homeless Camp: Safe Zone Or Shanty Town?

Friday, September 15

Pension Spiking Costs Taxpayers Millions — Now The Push Is On To Stop It

Monday, September 11

Hawaii Officials Push For $300 Million Ala Wai Canal Makeover

Wednesday, September 6

Extra-Tall Hotel Near Ala Moana Approved By Honolulu City Council

Convincing Landlords That Housing The Homeless Is Good Business

August 2017

Friday, August 25

State To Homeless Shelters: If You Want Money, Show Results

Wednesday, August 16

Chinatown Has A New Shelter For The Homeless Mentally Ill

Wednesday, August 9

Honolulu May Pay To Fix Feral Cats

Monday, August 7

Junk Cars Are Piling Up On Oahu

Wednesday, August 2

Council Committee Defers Proposal To Develop Haleiwa Farmland

July 2017

Wednesday, July 26

State Steps Up Its Homeless Sweeps Along Highways

Tuesday, July 25

Honolulu Council Considers Another Expansion Of Sit-Lie Ban

Wednesday, July 12

Council Considers Residential Parking Zones For Honolulu Neighborhoods

City Council OKs Issuing $350 Million In Bonds For Rail Construction

Tuesday, July 11

Reclaiming History: Oahu’s Last Hawaiian Fishing Village

June 2017

Friday, June 30

Honolulu May Allow Transportation Companies To Regulate Waikiki Streets

Monday, June 26

One Man’s Quest To Revive A Forgotten Kalihi Park

Friday, June 16

Bike Tour Offers Firsthand Look At Kalihi’s History — And Potholes

Monday, June 12

The Sorry State Of Many Honolulu Parks

Wednesday, June 7

Council Rejects Proposal To Ban All Plastic Bags At Checkout Counters

City Council Votes to Raise Parking Meter Fees And Vehicle Weight Tax

Monday, June 5

Developer Wants To Convert Farmland To Housing In Haleiwa

May 2017

Friday, May 26

Hundreds Of Low-Income Maui Residents May Face Eviction

Friday, May 19

Parents Camp Overnight To Get Their Kids In Summer Fun Program

Wednesday, May 17

Budget Committee Scraps Property Tax Hike For Hotels

Tuesday, May 16

Fee Increases For Parking Meters, Bus Fares Clear Another Hurdle

Friday, May 12

For Many Local Grads, Staying in Costly Hawaii Is Worth The Struggle

Thursday, May 4

Committee Proposes Fee, But Balks At Total Ban On Plastic Bags

April 2017

Friday, April 28

Why Oahu’s Neighborhood Boards Are ‘The Pulse Of The Community’

Thursday, April 27

Council Takes Step To Allow Use Of Property Tax For Rail Construction

Wednesday, April 26

Honolulu Council Gives Preliminary OK To Tax And Fee Increases

Sunday, April 23

Honolulu March For Science Draws Nearly 1,000 Protestors

Wednesday, April 19

Waimanalo Gym Closure Leaves A Town Feeling Sidelined

Tuesday, April 11

Honolulu Climate Change Office Hasn’t Opened, But It’s Already Shrinking

Thursday, April 6

Most Hawaii House Members Won’t Say Where They Stand On Aid In Dying

Wednesday, April 5

Proposal To Charge For Honolulu Trash Pickup Discarded For Now

March 2017

Friday, March 31

Proposed Increases In Honolulu Taxes And Fees Will Be ‘A Tough Sell’

Wednesday, March 22

Council OK’s Bill Eliminating Cap On Rail Money

Monday, March 20

Will Tiny Homes Help Big Island Farmers?

Why It’s So Hard To Eat Healthy In Hawaii If You’re Poor

Thursday, March 16

Low-Income Tenants Ask State To Keep Their Housing Affordable

Tuesday, March 7

Aid In Dying Bill Clears Senate Despite Emotional Appeal

Monday, March 6

State To Schools: Customize Your Hawaiian Education Approach

New Honolulu Housing Aims To Help Artists

Friday, March 3

Committee Chairs Halt Bills To Ban Foam Food Containers

February 2017

Wednesday, February 22

More Sit-Lie Bans Advance In Honolulu City Council

How A Kakaako Mural Festival Took Hawaii’s Art Scene Global

Wednesday, February 15

Medical Aid In Dying Bill Stays Alive In Hawaii Senate

Thursday, February 9

Libraries Struggle With A New Role: Social Services Center

Wednesday, February 8

City Council Holds Off On Stricter Plastic Bag Rules

Monday, February 6

Will This Be The Year For A Styrofoam Ban?

Thursday, February 2

Gun Bills Advance In Hawaii Senate

January 2017

Tuesday, January 31

Bill Banning Many Sunscreen Products Advances In House

Wednesday, January 25

Council Votes To Curb Commercial Activity At Waimanalo Beaches

Friday, January 20

Hawaii Christian Church Says No Gays Allowed At Upcoming Banquet

Wednesday, January 18

Senator Wants More Transparency For Charter School Funds

Wednesday, January 11

Sewage Spills Will Likely Continue Near Ko Olina Until Pipes Replaced

December 2016

Thursday, December 29

Young Entrepreneurs Make A Stand In Honolulu’s Chinatown

Tuesday, December 6

Board Of Education Discusses How To Find New Superintendent

Friday, December 2

Activists Fear Thomas Square Could Become A ‘Revenue Cow’

Thursday, December 1

Angela Kaaihue Removed From City Council Meeting After Disruptions

Baby Death Lawsuit Cites A Hospital Language Barrier

November 2016

Tuesday, November 29

Services For The Needy Generate Hope, Complaints In Chinatown

Monday, November 21

This Kalihi Bike Shop Is Helping Kids Learn Life Lessons

Wednesday, November 9

Hawaii’s General Election Turnout Dipped To 58.3 Percent This Year

Monday, November 7

Hawaii’s Voter Registration Is Way Up — Does It Matter?

October 2016

Monday, October 31

Measure Asks: Are All Those Boards and Commissions Needed?

Thursday, October 20

Mayor Wright Reconstruction Will Displace 1,500 Anxious Tenants

Tuesday, October 11

Do Officials Really Want To Know What Kalihi Residents Think?

Monday, October 3

Kalihi: ‘The Last Working Class Neighborhood In Central Honolulu’

September 2016

Monday, September 19

Chinatown Tries To Hang On To Tradition, Even As It Changes

Friday, September 16

Residents Try To Imagine Kalihi Without Its 100-Year-Old Jail