Civil Beat Staff

Suevon Lee

Suevon Lee joined Honolulu Civil Beat as a reporter in June 2017.

She was previously based in Los Angeles, where she wrote for legal news wire Law360. She also served as editor-in-chief of former print culture magazine, KoreAm Journal.

She has also worked in New York, where she was a reporting intern for ProPublica and editor/reporter for an affiliate publication of the New York Law Journal. She has also spent time in Florida, covering courts for the Ocala Star-Banner.

Originally from the D.C. suburbs, Suevon graduated from the University of Maryland with a degree in English. She holds a masters from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism and a master of studies in law from Yale Law School.

You can reach Suevon via email or follow on twitter at @suevlee

March 2018

Wednesday, March 21

The NRA Is Giving Hawaii Schools A Lot Of Money

Tuesday, March 20

DOE Official Slapped With Ethics Fine Is Reassigned

Wednesday, March 14

Hawaii Students Join Walkouts In Wake Of School Shootings

Tuesday, March 13

ACLU Says State Has No Plan To Address Gender Equity Issues

Students Find Their Voice In Preparing For Wednesday Walkouts

Tuesday, March 6

Feds Say Hawaii Falls Short In Dealing With School Bullying

February 2018

Friday, February 23

Hawaii Schools Chief: Threats Against Schools ‘Aren’t Taken Lightly’

Thursday, February 22

‘We Are So Far Behind’: Hawaii Legislators Look To Make Schools Safer

Friday, February 9

Hawaii Schools Can’t Seem To Give Breakfast Away

Wednesday, February 7

Female Athletes Get The Short End Of The Stick At Some Hawaii High Schools

January 2018

Tuesday, January 30

Charter Schools And Special Ed Will Be In The Legislative Spotlight

Thursday, January 25

DOE Official Fined For Using State Resources On Her Doctoral Work

Tuesday, January 23

Hawaii Education Plan Gets A Green Light From The Feds

Thursday, January 18

What If A Missile Scare Happened On A School Day?

Tuesday, January 2

An Inside Look At Ige’s Request For Millions More In Education Spending

December 2017

Friday, December 29

Hawaii Looks To Spur School Creativity With ‘Innovation Grants’

Thursday, December 28

Hawaii’s Expanding Hunt For The Elusive Schoolteacher

Wednesday, December 27

Do SAT Takers Have An Unfair Edge For UH Scholarships?

Tuesday, December 19

Why Vocational Education Is Back In Vogue in Some Hawaii Schools

Tuesday, December 12

Charter School Debuts An Online Hawaiian-English Dictionary

Wednesday, December 6

Board Of Education Seeks Public Money For Charter School Facilities

Monday, December 4

UH Graduate Students Say GOP Tax Plan Could Derail Their Education

November 2017

Thursday, November 30

How ‘Zombie Maze’ Is Teaching Hawaii Kids Computer Science

Tuesday, November 21

Hawaii Has Fewer Certified Teachers This Year

Monday, November 20

UH Manoa’s College of Education Names New Dean

Disabled Job Seekers Left In Limbo By Agency’s Cash Crunch

Monday, November 6

Missing School Has Become A Huge Problem in Hawaii

October 2017

Monday, October 30

Will Regular Classrooms Better Serve Hawaii’s Special Ed Students?

Friday, October 20

Can School Gardens Get Kids To Eat Their Vegetables?

OHA Money Will Go Directly To Hawaiian Charter Schools

Thursday, October 12

Educators: Pidgin Belongs In Hawaii Schools

Tuesday, October 10

New Rule Pushes Hawaii To Hire More Certified Teachers

Monday, October 2

Grading Hawaii’s New Schools Chief

September 2017

Friday, September 29

How Hawaii Schools Are Rethinking Social Studies

Thursday, September 21

Hawaiian Charter School Concerns Dominate OHA Meeting

Native Hawaiian Schools: Fight Erupts Over Money Management

Monday, September 18

These Big Oahu Schools Got Bigger — And Small Ones Keep Shrinking

Wednesday, September 13

Preschool In Hawaii: Expensive And ‘Ridiculously Hard to Find’

Tuesday, September 12

Jury Clears School In Use Of Chair And Seat Belt For Special Ed Preschooler

Tuesday, September 5

DOE: Maui’s Suspended School Bus Routes Are Being Restored

Friday, September 1

Teaching Civility In The Time Of Trump

August 2017

Wednesday, August 23

DOE And Rejected Vendor Clash Over Maui Bus Driver Shortage

Tuesday, August 22

New Hawaii Schools Chief: ‘That’s What I Believe In’

Monday, August 21

Will More Nurses in Hawaii Schools Help Keep Kids In Class?

Friday, August 18

Hawaii Gov. David Ige Talks Schools With Civil Beat

Monday, August 14

This Honolulu Charter School Has Found A Unique Way To Survive

Thursday, August 10

Shortage of Bus Drivers Leave Maui Students, Parents Scrambling

Wednesday, August 2

New Hawaii Schools Chief’s First Priority: Listening

July 2017

Thursday, July 20

Foreign Student Spending in Hawaii Decreases By 25 Percent

Tuesday, July 18

Some Students Shut Out Of School’s Marcus Mariota Event

Friday, July 14

The Scramble To Recruit New Teachers — And Keep Them In Hawaii

Wednesday, July 5

Here’s Some Help Understanding Hawaii’s Plans For Improving Public Schools

June 2017

Wednesday, June 28

Hawaii Part-Time Teachers, Subs Lose Legal Battle For Millions In Back Pay

Friday, June 23

Governor Approves Loans For Energy Savings In Schools

Wednesday, June 21

Hawaii School Board Signs Off On Bid For Federal Dollars

Friday, June 16

Hawaii Scrambles To Cool Down Hot Classrooms