Special Report

The Civil Scribble

November 2017

Monday, November 20

Disabled Job Seekers Left In Limbo By Agency’s Cash Crunch

Tuesday, November 14

The Long Vacation: Mainland Poke

October 2017

Monday, October 30

The Long Vacation: Was It Worth It To Leave Hawaii?

Thursday, October 19

The Long Vacation: This Reality Was Not What I Expected

Tuesday, October 10

The Long Vacation: Being Smart About Hawaii’s Simple Pleasures

September 2017

Thursday, September 21

The Long Vacation: Life On The Clean Streets Of LA

Thursday, September 14

The Long Vacation: Leaving On A Jet Plane

August 2017

Monday, August 21

More Alternative Uses for the Honolulu Rail Line

Friday, August 4

When The Sit-Lie Ban Isn’t Enough

July 2017

Friday, July 28

So Da Kine

Tuesday, July 18

TheBus Noir: Mystery Of Circle Island

June 2017

Tuesday, June 20

Alternative Uses For Honolulu Rail Line

May 2017

Wednesday, May 31

Scariest Ride In Honolulu

Monday, May 15

Stopping Bad Behavior On TheBus

Friday, May 12

The Perils Of Fine Dining

Monday, May 8

In Case Of Nuclear Attack …

Monday, May 1

Spam Musubi: A Tasty History Lesson

April 2017

Friday, April 14

Da Best Musubi

March 2017

Monday, March 20

The 5 Stages of Opening the Rear Door On The Bus

Wednesday, March 8

Homeless On The Bus

February 2017

Monday, February 27

The State Of Paychecks In Hawaii

January 2017

Tuesday, January 31

The Perks Of Riding The Bus

December 2016

Saturday, December 31

Funny How A Dark Year Sheds Light On What’s Really Going On

Saturday, December 24

Postcard-Perfect Holidays In Hawaii

Thursday, December 22

Yesterday’s Tomorrow: Heads Had To Roll Over Rail, Right?

Tuesday, December 13

Yesterday’s Tomorrow: It Cost How Much?

Friday, December 9

The Media, Snow And Hawaii

Monday, December 5

Yesterday’s Tomorrow: The Story Begins

November 2016

Wednesday, November 23

Appropriate Attire

Tuesday, November 22

The Baby Who Fell Out A Window

Tuesday, November 15

America: You’re Fired

Thursday, November 10

Election Day 2016, Through The Eyes Of A Cartoonist

Thursday, November 3

Kirk Catwell Vs Charles Ddog

October 2016

Friday, October 28

How To Salvage A Bitter Stew

Thursday, October 20

Why Pidgin Still Matters

Friday, October 14

2 Drones At The Beach

Wednesday, October 12

Cartoonist Vs. The Rail

Disabled Job Seekers Left In Limbo By Agency’s Cash Crunch Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Disabled Job Seekers Left In Limbo By Agency’s Cash Crunch

Hawaii’s vocational rehabilitation program insists the problem is temporary, but some clients fear they’ll lose their support.

The Long Vacation: Mainland Poke

The Long Vacation: Mainland Poke

It’s possible to make yourself a proper bowl if you can overcome the poke language barrier, avoid the giant rolls and resist most of the toppings.

The Long Vacation: Was It Worth It To Leave Hawaii?

The Long Vacation: Was It Worth It To Leave Hawaii?

Roads that never seem to end. Masses of unfamiliar faces. The opportunity to experience Southern California comes at a cost.

The Long Vacation: This Reality Was Not What I Expected

The Long Vacation: This Reality Was Not What I Expected

Our transplanted cartoonist suffers sticker shock, California style, as he settles into his new home.

The Long Vacation: Being Smart About Hawaii’s Simple Pleasures

The Long Vacation: Being Smart About Hawaii’s Simple Pleasures

It took moving to California to realize the islands need to be more like the showroom of an Ikea furniture store.

The Long Vacation: Life On The Clean Streets Of LA

The Long Vacation: Life On The Clean Streets Of LA

Other than a parking ticket, our transplanted intern reports smooth sailing on fresh-washed roadways in his latest dispatch from Southern California.

The Long Vacation: Leaving On A Jet Plane

The Long Vacation: Leaving On A Jet Plane

Our intrepid cartoonist finds his footing on the mainland in (yikes) Los Angeles.

More Alternative Uses for the Honolulu Rail Line

More Alternative Uses for the Honolulu Rail Line

Readers offer their own visions for how we might best use the 20-mile line.

When The Sit-Lie Ban Isn’t Enough

When The Sit-Lie Ban Isn’t Enough

The law already prevents homeless people from getting too comfortable on Waikiki’s sidewalks. But what about those inviting grassy areas?

So Da Kine

So Da Kine

In Hawaii, “da kine” is  an all-purpose phrase that can be a noun, verb or adjective. Ask any pidgin-speaker: “Da kine is da kine!”

TheBus Noir: Mystery Of Circle Island

TheBus Noir: Mystery Of Circle Island

It was seemingly a route to nowhere, but Civil Beat’s cartoonist was determined to solve the riddle.

Alternative Uses For Honolulu Rail Line

Alternative Uses For Honolulu Rail Line

Say city and state leaders never do figure out how to finish the project. That doesn’t mean what’s already built goes to waste.