Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT)

| Suggest an Edit
Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT)

November 2017

Thursday, November 2

TMT Permit Decision Appealed To Hawaii Supreme Court

September 2017

Friday, September 29

Telescope Project Still Faces Fight From Hawaiian Opponents

Thursday, September 28

Hawaii Land Board Grants Permit To Build Thirty Meter Telescope

May 2017

Friday, May 12

Telescope Opponent Wants Free Access To Transcripts From State Land Board

October 2016

Friday, October 14

The Stage Is Set For Tuesday’s Thirty Meter Telescope Hearing

September 2016

Friday, September 16

State Investigating Placement Of Human Remains At TMT Site

May 2016

Monday, May 16

Judge Seeks ‘Fresh’ Start, But Acrimony Over TMT Resurfaces

April 2016

Wednesday, April 6

The State Must Be Held Accountable On TMT Process

December 2015

Friday, December 11

TMT’s Place In History Of Telescope Battles

Wednesday, December 2

Hawaii Supreme Court Invalidates Thirty Meter Telescope Permit

November 2015

Tuesday, November 17

Hawaii Supreme Court Suspends TMT Permit Until Dec. 2

Friday, November 13

State Issues New Guidelines On Media’s Mauna Kea Access

Tuesday, November 10

Poll: Half Of Native Hawaiians Still Oppose Building The TMT

Friday, November 6

Two Telescope Protestors Convicted

October 2015

Friday, October 9

Judge Invalidates Mauna Kea Restrictions

September 2015

Wednesday, September 9

Eight More Arrests at Mauna Kea Visitors Center

August 2015

Friday, August 28

The Projector: Bike, Energy and TMT Events Unfold, But a Sewage Spill Overshadows All

Thursday, August 27

Hawaii Supreme Court Grills State on Approval of Thirty Meter Telescope

Monday, August 24

OHA Spent $4,785 on a Massive March With an Anti-TMT Flavor

Monday, August 10

Pod Squad: The TMT Battle and the Native Hawaiian Leadership Void

Sunday, August 9

Thousands Turn Out for Aloha Aina Unity March

Friday, August 7

Mauna Kea Hashtags Around the Globe

The Projector: Guillermo Kicks Up the Surf; TMT Protesters Seek Astronomers’ Attention

Thursday, August 6

TMT Protesters Hope to Reach Visiting Astronomers Through Waikiki March

July 2015

Friday, July 17

The Projector: From Maunalua to Ala Moana to Mauna Kea, People Are Talking

Wednesday, July 15

BLNR Board Member Had No Conflict of Interest in Vote on Mauna Kea Access

Saturday, July 11

Land Board Approves Restrictions on Mauna Kea Access

Thursday, July 9

Hawaii AG to Provide More Info on Emergency Rule for Mauna Kea

Tuesday, July 7

UH to Decommission Oldest Observatory on Mauna Kea

Thursday, July 2

Honolulu to Host World’s Biggest Astronomy Conference in August

June 2015

Monday, June 29

Ige: No Plans to Use National Guard to Reopen Mauna Kea Road

Friday, June 26

Ige: ‘We Will Do Whatever Is Necessary to Ensure Lawful Access’

TMT: Conflict in Context

Thursday, June 25

The Projector: ‘Mutual Respect and Aloha’ on the Mountain, But No Meeting of the Minds

Wednesday, June 24

Mauna Kea Protesters Arrested as TMT Tries to Resume Construction

Sunday, June 21

Thirty Meter Telescope Construction to Restart on Wednesday

Monday, June 1

UH Ready to Move Quickly on Ige’s Mauna Kea Proposals

Pod Squad: What’s Next for Mauna Kea?

May 2015

Friday, May 29

Hawaii County Prosecutor to Dismiss Charges Against Some TMT Protestors

Tuesday, May 26

Ige Supports Construction of TMT, Asks UH to Better Manage Mauna Kea

April 2015

Thursday, April 30

OHA Board Rescinds Support for Thirty Meter Telescope

Wednesday, April 29

Thirty Meter Telescope Protesters Hold Third Rally in Pasadena

Monday, April 27

Does the Thirty Meter Telescope Pose Environmental Risks?

Sunday, April 26

Cyberattack Hits TMT and State Government Websites

Tuesday, April 21

UH Regents to Hold Mauna Kea Meeting in Hilo on Sunday

Residents Opposing Mauna Kea Telescope March on the Capitol

Monday, April 20

Mauna Kea Telescopes: The Business of Astronomy Is Not an Easy One

Friday, April 17

The Projector: TMT Protests on the Mountaintop and on Oahu

Thirty Meter Telescope Construction Postponed Again

Thursday, April 16

Hashtag Heard ‘Round the World: Social Media Fuels TMT Protests

Wednesday, April 15

As Mauna Kea Protests Grow, Some Hawaii Island Residents Worry About Jobs

Monday, April 13

UH Student Protests Against TMT Continue

TMT Launches Online Campaign in Support of Mauna Kea Telescope

Sunday, April 12

TMT Walk-Out Planned Monday at University of Hawaii

Jason Momoa’s Revolt Against Hawaii’s Thirty Meter Telescope

Saturday, April 11

Moratorium on Mauna Kea Telescope Construction Extended

Friday, April 10

Telescope Protesters Prepare for Another Police Showdown

Thursday, April 9

Protesters Ask ‘Voice of the Hawaiian People’ to Stop Mauna Kea Telescope

Tuesday, April 7

Hawaii Governor Calls ‘Timeout’ on Mauna Kea Telescope Construction

March 2015

Tuesday, March 31

Mauna Kea Protesters Block Telescope Construction

February 2015

Friday, February 13

Big Island Student Covers Telescope Controversy