The Senate Committee on Economic Development, Government Operations and Housing approved on Monday several nominees for state boards that impact business and public safety in Hawaii. 

The panel confirmed Brian Tamamoto, executive vice president of Resort Holdings LLC, as a member of the Kakaako board of the Hawaii Community Development Authority.

The board has been at the center of political controversy over how fast the urban district is growing. If confirmed, Tamamoto will serve until June 30 next year. 

The committee also approved Harris Nakamoto as a member of the Small Business Regulatory Review Board until June 30, 2015 and Leigh-Ann Miyasato for the Board of Directors of the High Technology Development Corporation until June 30, 2018.

Sarah-Jane Allen was also confirmed as an administrator of the State Procurement Office until October 15, 2017. 

In addition, the panel confirmed Roy Irei, Steven Schutte and Jeff Riewer to the Enhanced 911 Board and Ross Yamasaki to the Stadium Authority

The nominations are next up for a vote by the full Senate. 


— Anita Hofschneider