Civil Beat Staff

April Estrellon

April Estrellon is Civil Beat’s multimedia producer creating and editing audio, video, graphics and animation for the website. She also produces Civil Beat’s award winning Offshore podcast and weekly episodes of Pod Squad.

April has degrees in journalism and anthropology from the University of Hawaii Manoa. She once had dreams of being an archaeologist, but soon realized that it’s nothing like Indiana Jones and that she prefers telling stories to digging and lab work.

April is often glued to her headphones, but you can get her attention by emailing her at april@civilbeat.org.

December 2016

Tuesday, December 27

Pod Squad: Meet Civil Beat’s DC Reporter

Monday, December 19

Pod Squad: How Trump Won And What Comes Next For Journalism

Monday, December 12

Pod Squad: From Hawaii To Standing Rock And Back

October 2016

Monday, October 31

Pod Squad: ‘No Room In Paradise’

Monday, October 24

Pod Squad: Nonprofit News Sites Join Forces

Monday, October 17

Pod Squad: Hawaii Public Radio Looks To Extend Its Reach

Monday, October 10

Pod Squad: What’s Up With The Lack of Mayoral Debates?

September 2016

Monday, September 12

Pod Squad: Capitol Debate Series Takes On Pesticides

August 2016

Monday, August 29

Pod Squad: Race And Ethnicity In Hawaii Politics

Monday, August 15

Pod Squad: Hawaii’s News Business Takes Its Licks From The Reader Rep

Monday, August 8

Pod Squad: One More Week To Go In Mayoral Primary

Friday, August 5

Pod Squad: Tim Garry Wants To Upgrade Permitting And Lifeguard Services

Monday, August 1

Pod Squad: Hard Life Experiences Teach You To Move Forward

July 2016

Monday, July 25

Pod Squad: ‘It’s Time For A Political Outsider’

Thursday, July 14

Pod Squad: First He Got Frustrated, Then He Got In The Race For Mayor

Monday, July 11

Pod Squad: The Making Of ‘Electric Dreams’

Tuesday, July 5

Pod Squad: Is Mayor Kirk Caldwell In Trouble?

June 2016

Monday, June 13

Pod Squad: Taking Down That ‘Pesky Paywall’

Monday, June 6

Pod Squad: Why Does It Take So Long To Get A Bill Passed?

May 2016

Monday, May 23

Pod Squad: Unveiling A New Civil Beat Podcasting Project

Monday, May 16

Pod Squad: Will 2017 Be The Breakthrough Year For Medical Aid in Dying?

Monday, May 9

Pod Squad: A Little A&B Sugar With That Coffee, Mr. Speaker?

April 2016

Monday, April 25

Pod Squad: This Story On Teaching In Hawaii Has Gone Viral. What Gives?

Monday, April 18

Pod Squad: Will We Ever Bring Our Inmates Home From Arizona?

Monday, April 4

Pod Squad: Uber-Taxi Legislative Battle Is Also A Culture Clash

March 2016

Monday, March 21

Pod Squad: Who’s The Best Democratic Presidential Candidate?

Monday, March 7

Pod Squad: Donald Trump And The Hawaii GOP

February 2016

Monday, February 29

Pod Squad: Trump’s Appeal In The Aloha State

Monday, February 22

Pod Squad: A Quick Trip To The Heart Of The Dengue Outbreak

Monday, February 15

Pod Squad: The People Need A Stronger Voice In Hawaii Policy

January 2016

Monday, January 11

Pod Squad: Why Are So Many Tourists Dying In Hawaii?

Monday, January 4

Pod Squad: ‘LGBT Tourism Has Been Reborn’