Civil Beat Staff

Eleni Avendaño

Eleni Avendaño is a public health reporter who covers health disparities and the COVID-19 pandemic in the islands.

Her coverage is funded in part by a grant from Report for America, an initiative of the GroundTruth Project.

Previously, she covered health, tourism, nonprofits and the University of Hawaii for Pacific Business News in Honolulu.

Her work has been recognized several times by the the Society of Professional Journalists Hawaii Chapter, which awarded her for excellence in news and feature writing.

A graduate of American University and the U.C. Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, Eleni has written articles and captured photos for publications including the Associated Press and Honolulu Magazine.

Eleni, who is also a published video journalist and documentarian, was born and raised in Honolulu and graduated from Roosevelt High School.

She welcomes story ideas and anonymous tips at egill@civilbeat.org. You can follow her on Twitter @lorineleni.

June 2021

Sunday, June 13

This Hawaii Company Found Help In South Korea For Its COVID Test Kits

Friday, June 11

‘Better Than Nothing’: Doctors Urge High-Risk Patients To Get Vaccines

Monday, June 7

Ige Outlines Plan To Ease COVID-19 Restrictions For Restaurants, Gatherings

Sunday, June 6

COVID-19 Cases Are Declining In Hawaii But Restaurant Clusters Show Continued Danger

Friday, June 4

No Vaccine, No Tests Required For Travel Within Hawaii Starting June 15

Growing Use Of Rapid Testing Provides A ‘Degree Of Safety’ As Hawaii Reopens

Thursday, June 3

Maps Show Hawaii’s COVID-19 Vaccine Disparities By ZIP Code

May 2021

Friday, May 28

The Pandemic Has ‘Permanently’ Changed Health Care In Hawaii

Wednesday, May 26

Most Of Hawaii’s Recent COVID-19 Cases Are From ‘Variants Of Concern’

Thursday, May 20

COVID-19 Sniffing Dogs Show Promise With Patients In Hawaii

Wednesday, May 19

Hawaii’s Coronavirus Count Rises As State Adds ‘Probable Cases’ To Its Total

Sunday, May 16

Hawaii Health Care Workers Are Getting Creative As Vaccine Interest Fades

Thursday, May 13

Hawaii Will Maintain Mask Rules Despite New CDC Guidance, Governor Says

Wednesday, May 12

‘Just A Pinch’: Hawaii Children Line Up To Get A COVID-19 Vaccine

Monday, May 10

Hawaii Is Ready As Preteens Get In Line For COVID-19 Vaccines

Sunday, May 9

These Hawaii Doctors Are Fighting Guam’s Abortion Law

Friday, May 7

Kauai Tightens Restrictions To Slow Spike In COVID-19 Cases

Wednesday, May 5

As Demand Wanes, Hawaii Reduces Its COVID-19 Vaccine Order For The First Time

Tuesday, May 4

Fear Of Side Effects, Government Mistrust Among Reasons For Vaccine Hesitancy

April 2021

Friday, April 30

Hawaii Officials Warn Of COVID-19 Cluster Linked To A Football Tournament On The Mainland

Thursday, April 29

State Inspections Show History Of Neglect At Elderly Care Facility Facing Shutdown

Tuesday, April 27

Can People In Hawaii Stop Wearing Masks Outdoors? Not Yet

Friday, April 23

The Pandemic Has Transformed How Aid Groups Help Elderly In Need

Thursday, April 22

Hawaii Health Department Orders Hauula Assisted Living Facility To Close

Tuesday, April 20

Hawaii To Let Vaccinated Interisland Travelers Skip Quarantine Starting May 11

Friday, April 16

Very Few Vaccinated People Have Caught COVID-19 In Hawaii

Thursday, April 15

Hawaii Sees ‘Startling’ Increase In Number Of Children Facing Hunger

Tuesday, April 13

Hawaii Pauses Johnson & Johnson Vaccine, Following Federal Guidance

Monday, April 12

Hawaii Is Working Out The Details Of A COVID-19 Vaccine Passport

Friday, April 9

Hawaii To Get A Much Smaller Supply Of Johnson & Johnson Vaccine

Thursday, April 8

What The Pandemic Taught Hawaii Hospitals About Their Capacity To Handle Calamity

Tuesday, April 6

Hawaii Expects To Meet Biden’s New Goal Of Offering Vaccines To All Adults By April 19

Official In Charge Of Hawaii’s COVID-19 Contact Tracing Resigns

Friday, April 2

Vaccines Open To 16 And Up On Kauai And Big Island

Thursday, April 1

How A Slug In A Salad Led One Patient On A Confusing Quest For Rat Lungworm Treatment

March 2021

Wednesday, March 31

State Warns People To Avoid Maui Church That Failed To Rein In COVID-19 Cluster

Sunday, March 28

How Hawaii Clinics Found New Ways To Reach Patients During The Pandemic

Friday, March 26

Honolulu Blesses Outdoor Weddings Even As Case Count Ticks Up

Thursday, March 25

Hawaii Health Officials Expect To Meet Biden’s Vaccine Timeline

Sunday, March 21

The Pandemic Has Driven Down Hawaii’s Rate Of Childhood Lead Testing

Friday, March 19

Maui Deals With Several COVID-19 Clusters And Highest Rate Of Positive Tests

Tuesday, March 16

Hawaii’s Rush To Vaccinate Has Led To A Patchwork System With Little Policing

Friday, March 12

Three Hawaii Residents Contract COVID-19 Despite Getting Vaccinations

Thursday, March 11

Starting Monday: 65+ Eligible To Get COVID-19 Shots As Hawaii Moves To Phase 1C

Monday, March 8

South Africa COVID-19 Variant Detected On Oahu

Friday, March 5

Lanai And Molokai Are Poised To Broaden COVID-19 Vaccine Eligibility

Wednesday, March 3

Starting Monday: Hawaii COVID-19 Vaccinations To Include 70+

Tuesday, March 2

Hawaii Wants To Give Away COVID-19 Tests, But Not For Big Island Airport Screening

February 2021

Friday, February 26

COVID-19 Strain That Originated In Brazil Detected On Oahu

Tuesday, February 23

Hawaii Grapples With How To Use Stockpile Of Rapid COVID-19 Tests

Friday, February 19

Oahu Approaches Fewer COVID Restrictions Even As Vaccines Are Delayed By Bad Weather

Should Hawaii Nurses Be Allowed To Perform Abortions?

Tuesday, February 16

Hawaii Court’s Massive Fine Against Drug Makers Could Boost State Budget

US Spike In Deaths Surpassed Official COVID-19 Counts, But Not In Hawaii

Monday, February 15

Hawaii Judge Says Makers Of Blood-Thinning Drug Must Pay $834 Million

Monday, February 8

Other States Have Opened Vaccinations To Those As Young As 65. Why Not Hawaii?

Tuesday, February 2

More Contagious UK Variant Of COVID-19 May Have Been Found In Hawaii

January 2021

Sunday, January 31

Some Expectant Mothers In Hawaii Are Steering Clear Of Hospitals During the Pandemic

Friday, January 29

State Health Department Is Mum On Former Epidemiologist’s Departure

Monday, January 25

COVID-19 Variant Linked To California Outbreaks Found In Hawaii

Wednesday, January 20

Hawaii Labs On The Lookout For More Contagious COVID-19 Variants

Friday, January 15

Getting Consent From Seniors Poses Barrier To COVID-19 Vaccine Rollout

Thursday, January 7

Hawaii Officials Ask Residents To Stay Home To Reverse COVID-19 Spike

Tuesday, January 5

State Details List Of Who’s Next In Line For COVID-19 Vaccine

State Sent Out Hundreds Of Ineffective Masks In Pandemic Chaos