Sophie Cocke

Sophie Cocke is a former reporter for Civil Beat.

December 2014

Tuesday, December 30

Caldwell: City Meets Road Repaving Goal for 2014

Wednesday, December 24

Court Rejects Tommy Waters’ Election Challenge for Honolulu City Council

Oahu Trash Pick-up Suspended for Holidays

Report Indicates Oahu’s Illegal Vacation Rentals Outnumber Permitted Ones

Monday, December 22

Energy Companies Jockey for Position in Hawaii Natural Gas Rush

Thursday, December 18

Executive Indicted on Charges of Taking $4M from Telecom Company

Wednesday, December 17

New Solar Projects Projected to Increase Oahu Electricity Bills

Thursday, December 11

New Fuel Contamination Detected in Red Hill Monitoring Wells

Will Honolulu’s Sit-Lie Ban Expand Again to Target the Homeless Outside Malls?

Wednesday, December 10

NextEra: Efficiency, Expertise and a Penchant for Getting What It Wants

Friday, December 5

HECO Moves Forward With 6 New Oahu Solar Projects

Wednesday, December 3

Hawaiian Electric Sale Raises Concerns Over Solar, Rates

Tuesday, December 2

Filing Period Opens for Neighborhood Board Candidates

Caldwell Signs Bill Banning Sitting and Lying on Sidewalks in Oahu Commercial Districts

November 2014

Sunday, November 30

Officials Will Have to Wait on Plan to Restrict Hawaii’s Plentiful Cesspools

Tuesday, November 25

Carbone Speaks Out About His Resignation From UH Cancer Center

Caldwell Picks Olelo CEO to be City’s New Managing Director, Sources Say

Monday, November 24

Tommy Waters Seeks Recount in City Council District 4 Race

Dear Mayor: Complaints about the Homeless Pour Into Caldwell’s Office

Friday, November 21

Michele Carbone Steps Down as Head of UH Cancer Center

Thursday, November 20

Council Committee Advances Measure to Ease Restrictions on Ohana Units

Tuesday, November 18

Residents of Haseko Resort Development Concerned About Lagoon’s Algae

Friday, November 14

Honolulu City Council Expands Sit-Lie Ban To Districts Throughout Oahu

Thursday, November 13

Homeless Rousted from Kakaako as ‘Hawaii Five-0’ Readies Shoot

Wednesday, November 12

Honolulu City Council Postpones Vote to Expand Sit-Lie Ban Until Friday

Saturday, November 8

City, HUD Agree on $2.9 Million Spending Plan to Resolve Dispute

Friday, November 7

City May Scrap Plan for Sand Island Homeless Camp

Thursday, November 6

Red Hill Task Force May Recommend Navy Double Line Fuel Tanks in 10 Years

Potential Contamination at Proposed Homeless Camp to be Studied

Tuesday, November 4

Honolulu City Council: Carol Fukunaga and Trevor Ozawa Win

Monday, November 3

PR Campaign Would Discourage Homeless from Moving to Hawaii

October 2014

Thursday, October 30

Developers, Unions Jockey for Position in Honolulu City Council Races

Wednesday, October 29

Bill Encourages Car Sharing on Oahu

The Maui Weekly is Pau

Tuesday, October 28

Japanese Dignitary Dies in Waikiki

Friday, October 24

Honolulu Rail Funding Continues to Lag

Wednesday, October 22

The Case of the Mysterious Attack Ads: Tommy Waters Called a ‘Carpetbagger’

Tuesday, October 14

Military Fuel Tanks on Oahu, Kauai Face Increased Regulation

Friday, October 10

Sharply Different Styles Separate District 6 Honolulu City Council Candidates

Wednesday, October 8

Honolulu City Council Votes to Increase Fines for Illegal Dumping

Release of Hotel-to-Condo Conversion Documents: Full Disclosure or Politics?

City Seeks to Hire Law Firm to Avoid New Sewage Plant Regulations

Friday, October 3

Waikiki Homeless Migrate to Airport, Fort DeRussy Beach

How Safe Has the Honolulu Rail Project Been?

Thursday, October 2

East Honolulu City Council Candidates Stake Out their Differences

Wednesday, October 1

Possible Ebola Patient Isolated in Honolulu Hospital

New Housing Office Would Manage Homeless, Affordable Housing Initiatives

September 2014

Tuesday, September 30

Cachola Accuses Former Colleagues on City Council of Ethics Violations

Friday, September 26

Director of City’s Community Services Department Steps Down

Thursday, September 25

Caldwell to Sign Plastic Bag Ban Amendment

Wednesday, September 24

Shelters Team Up to Help Move Homeless Families Into Housing

HECO Begins Smart Grid Rollout on Oahu

Monday, September 22

Opponents of Sand Island Homeless Encampment Challenge State Approval

Friday, September 19

HECO Executives Take Heat from Lawmakers, Solar Industry

Thursday, September 18

Sidewalk Sit-Lie Ban: First Waikiki, Now Other Commercial Areas Around Oahu?

Wednesday, September 17

Laniakea Homeowners Face Stiff Fines For Fence

Tuesday, September 16

HECO Asks Oahu Customers To Cut Back on Electricity to Avoid Power Outages

Friday, September 12

Hawaii Land Board Approves Lease For Sand Island Homeless Site

Hawaii Interagency Report Advised Against Homeless Encampments

Thursday, September 11

The City Reaches Out to Locals About Sand Island Homeless Camp

Wednesday, September 10

Honolulu City Council Votes to Ban Sitting, Lying on Waikiki Sidewalks

Proposed Sand Island Homeless Camp Could Carry Risks of Toxic Exposure

Monday, September 8

City to Hold Public Meeting On Proposed Sand Island Homeless Lot

DOD Says Navy’s Red Hill Fuel Tanks Pose a ‘High Potential for Fire’

Friday, September 5

HECO Warns Customers To Disconnect Rogue Solar Systems

Wednesday, September 3

Negotiations Over Navy’s Red Hill Facility Continue

Residents of Chinatown High-Rise to Get Homeless and Mentally Ill Neighbors

Tuesday, September 2

Caldwell Appoints New Design and Construction Director

Caldwell Announces City Employee and Manager of the Year

August 2014

Saturday, August 30

City Auditor Slams Long Wait Times at Oahu DMV Offices

Thursday, August 28

Portion of Sand Island Could Become City Homeless Camp

Bills Aimed at Getting Homeless Off Sidewalks Resurrected

Does HECO Have a Plan for the 21st Century?

Tuesday, August 26

Oahu Could Raise Minimum Age for Buying Smokes to 21

Leeward Landfill Seeks Exemption from City’s Waste-to-Energy Fees

Friday, August 22

Combat Gear Blurs Line Between Cops and Military, in Ferguson and Hawaii

Thursday, August 21

HART Job Numbers Increase

Saturday, August 9

Honolulu City Council: Two Districts Will Have Run-offs in November

Thursday, August 7

Hawaii Lacks Hurricane Emergency Plan for Waikiki, Neighbor Islands

Wednesday, August 6

State to UberX and Lyft: No More Airport Rides

Tuesday, August 5

Oahu Has History of Being Spared from Major Storms

HECO Warns Residents About Electrical Risks in Anticipation of Storm

Mayor Caldwell Cuts Japan Trip Short in Anticipation of Storm

Low Levels of Chemicals Found in Oahu Water Supply

July 2014

Thursday, July 31

Honolulu Council Proposes Tax Relief for High-End Homeowners

Will New Honolulu City Council Members Smooth Friction with Mayor Caldwell?

Tuesday, July 29

Public Safety Tops Candidate Concerns In District 8 Race

Monday, July 28

Council District 6 Race Heats Up, Complete With Super PAC Money

Friday, July 25

VIDEO: Maui Mayoral Candidate Tased, Arrested

Honolulu Rail Funding Coming Up Short

Thursday, July 24

Honolulu Mayor’s ‘Compassionate Disruption’ Campaign Disrupted

Tuesday, July 22

Raw Sewage Sparks Public Warnings Along Waikiki, Ala Moana Beaches

Monday, July 21

Caldwell Endorses Abercrombie In Governor’s Race

Political Newcomers Challenge Honolulu Council Chair for District 2 Seat

Sunday, July 20

Sewage Overflow in Kaneohe Sparks Water Advisories

Friday, July 18

Hippo Suddenly Perishes at Honolulu Zoo

Homelessness and Housing Costs Top Concerns In City Council District 4 Race

Thursday, July 17

HART Board Approves $6 Million in Added Rail Costs

City Seeks to Safeguard Bus and Handi-Van Money From Rail Project

Wednesday, July 16

Illegal Wedding Businesses Could Face Stiffer Fines

Navy’s Red Hill Fuel Facility Could Be Partially or Completely Shut Down

Tuesday, July 15

City to Host ‘Complete Streets’ Meeting

Health, Navy Officials to Hold Community Meeting on Red Hill Fuel Leak

Handi-Van Fires Blamed on Vehicles Being Over-Aged and Over-Driven

Wednesday, July 9

Are Oahu Jails Throwing Away Homeless People’s ID Cards?

Tuesday, July 8

Honolulu Council Chair Postpones Bill Authorizing City Housing Sale

Monday, July 7

Caldwell Plans to Boost Street Lighting After Pedestrian Accidents

State and Local Officials Up Ante Against Sky Banner Ad Company

Thursday, July 3

Honolulu Mayor Urges Crackdown on Aerial Ad Company

Wednesday, July 2

New Details Emerge About Chimpanzee Escape

Hawaii Homeless Effort Takes Data-Driven Approach

Tuesday, July 1

Lyft and UberX: Innovative Ride Services or ‘Bandit Cabs’?

June 2014

Monday, June 30

Rail Construction Begins Along H-1 Waiawa Interchange

Tuesday, June 24

HC&S Fined $1.3 Million for Air Quality Violations

Honolulu Ethics Commission Complains of Affronts to Its Independence

Monday, June 23

Caldwell Returns Budget Bills Unsigned in Protest of HART Oversight

Saturday, June 21

More Pukas Found in Navy’s Red Hill Fuel Tank

City of Honolulu Hikes Sewer Fees

Honolulu Council Chair Fast-Tracks Homeless Bills

Friday, June 20

Honolulu Councilman Urges Better Coordination of Roadwork

Thursday, June 19

Honolulu Mayor Ramps Up Response to Homelessness

Wednesday, June 18

Is the City Shutting Down Waikiki Restrooms to Deter the Homeless?

Solomon: Too Many Whales for Feds to React This Way

Friday, June 13

Online Tool Tracks Path of Polluted Runoff from Ala Wai Canal

Thursday, June 12

Navy Finds Tiny Holes in Red Hill Tank

Wednesday, June 11

EPA: Hawaii Gas Failed to Report Chemical Release, Update Risk Management Plan

Tuesday, June 10

Solar Continues Precipitous Decline on Oahu

Increased Funding for Homelessness Comes With Challenges

Thursday, June 5

Chinatown Housing Deal Sparks Debate on Low-Income Residents

Wednesday, June 4

Honolulu’s Budget Includes Big Hike for Homelessness

City Council Prepares for Final Vote on Budget

Tuesday, June 3

Greentech Media: Kuokoa Made $6 Billion Offer to Buy Hawaii Electric Utility

Appeals Court Rules Against Hanabusa in Waimanalo Landfill Case

Monday, June 2

Maui County Faces Millions in Fines for Clean Water Act Violations

Is Honolulu Rail Living Up to Its Promises of Job Creation?

Big Island Senator: Whales and Honu Have Too Many Protections

Officials: Navy Slow to Address Red Hill’s Threat to Drinking Water

May 2014

Friday, May 30

Honolulu Council Chair Hopes to Boost Funds for Homelessness

Thursday, May 29

Chinatown Tenant Income Levels Debated in City Housing Sale

Wednesday, May 28

Friend or Foam: Honolulu City Council Proposes Ban on Foam Food Containers

Honolulu Board of Water Supply Fights to Maintain Autonomy

Friday, May 23

Top Navy Officials Respond to Questions About Red Hill Fuel Leak

Cost of Preventing Ala Wai Canal Flood Rises to $200 Million

Thursday, May 15

Indictment: Longterm Deceit Alleged in Honolulu Landfill Disaster

Wednesday, May 14

Ethics Commission: City Employee Misused Sick Leave, Accepted Inappropriate Gifts

Survey: Oahu’s Homeless Population Increased 30% In Past 5 Years

Saturday, May 10

Honolulu Rail Takes Shape, City Prepares for Development Boom

Thursday, May 8

Honolulu Bus Advertising Bill Moves Forward

Wednesday, May 7

Hawaii Should Brace for Major Environmental Changes, Report Says

Tuesday, May 6

Companies Jockey for $1 Billion Worth of Honolulu Rail Contracts

Sunday, May 4

Could Ads on City Buses Help Sustain Honolulu’s Transportation System?

Friday, May 2

Ethics Commission Seeks Greater Oversight of Honolulu Rail Contractors

Thursday, May 1

Waimanalo Landfill Managers Indicted For Polluting Coastal Waters

April 2014

Wednesday, April 30

Honolulu Tightens Security On Driver’s Licenses

UPDATED: Salary Commission Gives Final Approval to 8 Percent Salary Hike Proposal

Abercrombie Says Hawaii Has Crossed ‘the Energy Rubicon’ on Renewables

Tuesday, April 29

‘Community Solar’ Bill Is Another Victim of Hawaii Legislative Crunch

Saturday, April 26

Honolulu Residents: ‘Saddening’ Lack of Trust in City Government

Ala Wai Bike and Walk Path to Reopen

Friday, April 25

Navy Starts Inspection of Red Hill Tank Three Months After Leak

Honolulu Officials’ Salaries Lag Behind Counterparts in Comparable Cities

Thursday, April 24

City Wants to Hear from Food Truck Vendors on New Permitting Law

Bill That Would Place Ads on Buses is Resurrected

Wednesday, April 23

Will HECO’s Plan For Its Own Solar Plant Help or Hurt Hawaii Consumers?

Tuesday, April 22

Can Aquaculture Revitalize Hawaii Ag?

Will Aiea Development Meet Affordable Housing Expectations?

Thursday, April 17

Honolulu’s City Council Moves to Restore Some Nonprofit Funding

Wednesday, April 16

Hawaii Looks for Local Solutions As Washington, D.C., Stalls on Climate

Monday, April 14

Hawaii Sustainability Conference To Explore ‘A World Worth Living In’

Friday, April 11

New Sewage Rules Could Cost Honolulu Taxpayers Millions of Dollars

Friday, April 4

City Council Unveils Budget Priorities, Cuts Into Mayor’s Spending Plan

Thursday, April 3

City Law Bans Planting Iconic Honolulu Trees, Favoring Native Species

March 2014

Saturday, March 29

Is the Hawaii Dept of Transportation Sabotaging an Oahu Transit Group?

The Real Costs of Waialae Avenue’s Rocky Roadwork

Wednesday, March 26

Honolulu City Council Leaders Cutting Into Mayor Caldwell’s Budget

Friday, March 21

Honolulu City Council: Make It Easier To Build Shoreline Retaining Walls

Wednesday, March 19

Is Hanauma Bay Preserve Undermined by Disrepair and an Opaque Budget?

Saturday, March 15

Low Cash Flow Leads Rail Authority to Ask Honolulu for $1.5 Billion Loan

Wednesday, March 12

Honolulu Says It Will Fight New Rules For Sewage Treatment

Tuesday, March 11

Honolulu Ethics Director Takes His Case for More Money to City Council

Sunday, March 9

Pedal Power: Gaining Traction on Oahu’s Bike Safety and Infrastructure

Saturday, March 8

Officials: Threat to Oahu’s Water Supply More Serious Than Thought

Friday, March 7

Waikiki Luxury Tower Moves Forward Despite Protests

Sunday, March 2

Developers of 2 Waikiki High-Rises Have Donated Heavily to City Officials

Saturday, March 1

Caldwell Would Hike Fees and Taxes, Proposes Spending Along Rail Line

February 2014

Wednesday, February 26

Caldwell Plans Vacant Job Cuts, While Seeking to Improve City Services

Saturday, February 22

Hawaii Legislators Press Governor to Keep Morita at Utilities Commission

Wednesday, February 19

Is Mina Morita Out As Hawaii Public Utilities Commission Chair?

Tuesday, February 18

It’s Your Money: Governor’s Office Gets a $475K Tech Upgrade

Monday, February 3

Is Hawaii Afraid to Regulate Emissions of Greenhouse Gases?

Sunday, February 2

Hawaii Energy Policy Has Driven Up Electric Bills As HECO Maintains Profits

January 2014

Thursday, January 30

Red Hill: EPA May Force New Fuel Leak Detection System for Toxic Spills

Tuesday, January 28

Hydrogen Fuel Cell Cars Were Supposed to Be Hawaii’s Car of the Future

Sunday, January 26

Honolulu Harbor Molasses Spill Sparks Legislation

Wednesday, January 22

Plans for Oahu-Maui Grid Connection Raise Questions About Lanai

Friday, January 17

Leak in Navy Fuel Tank Raises Concerns About Water Contamination

Wednesday, January 15

Health Officials Open Keehi Lagoon Despite Unsafe Bacteria Levels

Tuesday, January 14

Rising Waters, Stinging Ants and GMOs Top Legislative Priorities

Monday, January 13

Energy Legislation Focuses on Hawaii’s Clean Energy Obstacles

Monday, January 6

New Head of Cultural Preservation in Hawaii Pledges Transparency

Saturday, January 4

Honolulu Forgoes Federal Funds to Manage Coastal Development

Friday, January 3

Respected Energy Team Quits East-West Center to Protest Leadership