Civil Beat Staff

Yoohyun Jung

Yoohyun Jung was the data reporter for Honolulu Civil Beat. She specializes in investigative and watchdog reporting.

Before joining Civil Beat, she worked across media platforms in the United States and South Korea. Most recently, Jung worked as a radio writer for Korea Broadcasting System’s English division in Seoul, Korea. Prior to that, she worked in various roles, including data specialist, education reporter and public safety reporter, at the Arizona Daily Star in Tucson.

Jung has won numerous state and regional awards and fellowships for her investigative and enterprise work, including from the Arizona Newspapers Association, Arizona Press Club and the Society of Professional Journalists. In 2016, she was one of five fellows selected for an investigative fellowship at Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting, through which she completed a year-long investigation on a rapidly expanding international school network.

A graduate of the University of Arizona School of Journalism, Jung started her reporting career as a Eugene C. Pulliam fellow on the Page One team of the Arizona Republic in Phoenix. She is also an alumna of The New York Times Student Journalism Institute, a training program for young journalists of color.

News tips are always appreciated. You can follow Yoohyun on Twitter @yoohyun_jung.

December 2020

Thursday, December 31

The Hawaii Variable Index: 2020 By The Numbers

Wednesday, December 30

Researchers: Detailed Mobility Data Can Help Target COVID-19 Hot Spots

Monday, December 21

Safe Travels Fails To Lure Many Travelers From Japan To Hawaii

Tuesday, December 15

Surveillance Test Study Shows Few COVID-19 Positives During Safe Travels

Sunday, December 6

Economic Gains, Travel-Related Cases: Unpacking Safe Travels Data

November 2020

Tuesday, November 24

COVID-19 Is Changing ‘The Face Of Hunger’ In Hawaii

Monday, November 16

COVID-19 Data: Dashboards Galore, But Key Data Still Sparse

Friday, November 6

Biden Easily Won Hawaii But Data Shows Support For Trump Has Grown

Monday, November 2

Easy Targets? Some Oahu Homeless Have Been Ticketed Dozens Of Times During The Pandemic

Glitches And Problems: My First Adventure With Hawaii’s New COVID-19 Travel Program

October 2020

Sunday, October 25

Wrong Tests, Weird Exemptions – What The Data Tells Us About Hawaii’s Reopening

Thursday, October 15

Are You Wearing A Mask In Public? These Hawaii Researchers Want To Know

Monday, October 5

Hawaii’s Population Is Shrinking. The Pandemic Could Make Things Worse

September 2020

Wednesday, September 30

COVID-19 Is Revealing Problems With How Hawaii’s Government Uses Data

Thursday, September 24

The Most Comprehensive Hawaii COVID-19 Maps Come From This ‘Data Geek’

Friday, September 4

Hawaii Has A New COVID-19 Data Dashboard With New Metrics

State Officials Are Overusing Privacy Excuse To Withhold COVID-19 Data

August 2020

Sunday, August 30

Hawaii And Maui Counties May Be Reaching A Virus ‘Tipping Point’

Wednesday, August 26

The Public Wanted More COVID-19 Data. What DOH Delivered ‘Misses The Point’

Friday, August 21

Hawaii Trails Behind Other States In The Data It Shares About COVID-19

Sunday, August 16

Trying To Make Sense Of COVID-19 Data? Here’s Some Help

Wednesday, August 12

COVID-19 Data Shows Hawaii Is In A ‘Very Dire Situation’

Monday, August 10

How Bad Is Hawaii At Social Distancing? Here’s What The Data Shows

Sunday, August 2

Why Does Hawaii Have Such Low Voter Turnout? Here’s What The Data Says

July 2020

Sunday, July 26

Report: Hawaii Isn’t Collecting And Sharing Enough Data On COVID-19

Sunday, July 19

Hawaii Is Trailing In Census Participation — And It Could Cost Us

Wednesday, July 15

Federal Prosecutors Bring Death Penalty Case Against Alleged Oahu Crime Boss

Thursday, July 9

Hawaii Prison Oversight Commission: ‘Maybe We’ve Been Forgotten’

Tuesday, July 7

Does Hawaii Have A Grip On COVID-19?

June 2020

Wednesday, June 24

Face Scanners At Hawaii Airports Are ‘Terrifying,’ ACLU Says

Wednesday, June 17

Shoddy Record Keeping By HPD Skews Public Picture Of Police Killings

Wednesday, June 3

Honolulu Police Chief: George Floyd’s Death Was ‘Avoidable’ And ‘Criminal’

Monday, June 1

Two Reform-Minded Members Quit The Honolulu Police Commission

May 2020

Sunday, May 31

Breaking Quarantine In Hawaii? A Citizens’ Group Is Watching

Saturday, May 23

Critics Say Hawaii Prisons Are Failing To Help Released Inmates

Wednesday, May 20

Hawaii Prosecutors Want COVID-19 Inmate Releases Stopped

Prison Commission Demands Answers On COVID-19 At Arizona Prison

Saturday, May 9

Fake Cures To Phishing: The Pandemic Is A Boon For Scammers

April 2020

Thursday, April 30

Punahou Coach Accused Of Sex Abuse Went On To Other Schools

Wednesday, April 29

Public Shut Out Of Honolulu Police Commission Meeting

Friday, April 24

Kamehameha Schools Faces A Spate Of Sex Abuse Claims

Monday, April 20

Hawaii Prisoners Still Packed Into Arizona Prison Despite Virus Concerns

Monday, April 13

Coronavirus Won’t Stop Father And Son From Finishing Community Project

Thursday, April 9

Special Master Recommends No Blanket Release Of Hawaii Inmates

Monday, April 6

Justice Delayed: Pandemic Puts Court Cases And Lives On Hold

Thursday, April 2

Special Master Appointed To Recommend On COVID-19 Jail Releases

Wednesday, April 1

Scam Artists Promised Mortgage Relief, Delivered Heartbreak To Hawaii Homeowners

Honolulu Mayor: Prison May Be ‘Safest Place’ To Ride Out COVID-19

March 2020

Tuesday, March 31

Honolulu Star-Advertiser Cutting Payroll Costs To Weather Pandemic

Public Defender’s Office Wants Hundreds More Hawaii Inmates Released

Thursday, March 26

Hawaii Prison Plan For COVID-19 Emphasizes Hygiene Over Inmate Releases

Monday, March 23

Hawaii Prosecutors Retool Policies To Avoid Filling Up Jails During Pandemic

Monday, March 16

Hawaii Gun Violence Commission Would Leave The Public In The Dark

Friday, March 13

Feds Want Katherine Kealoha In Prison For 14 Years

Monday, March 9

Acting Prosecutor Dwight Nadamoto Announces Run For The Job

February 2020

Wednesday, February 19

Lawmakers Want More Transparency About Prosecutors’ Charging Decisions

Friday, February 14

Hawaii Police Shootings Review Board Finally Releases Its First Decision

Thursday, February 13

Florence Puana, Grandmother of Katherine Kealoha, Dies At Age 100

Wednesday, February 12

Will There Be A New Oahu Jail? The Legislature Has Varying Answers

Monday, February 10

Hawaii Prison Reformers Call For New Approach To Guard Training

January 2020

Thursday, January 30

SLIDESHOW: Emotions Run High At Memorial Service For Slain HPD Officer

Tuesday, January 28

Prosecutor Candidates Promise To Restore Trust, Change Culture

Friday, January 24

Lawsuit: Guards Had Suicidal Inmate Cuffed, Let Him Bleed To Death

Thursday, January 16

New Prison Oversight Commission Has A Full Plate

Wednesday, January 15

Can Hawaii’s Elected Leaders Save The State From ‘Drowning?’

Three Hawaii Correctional Facilities Ban Contact Visits Despite Potential Benefits

Monday, January 13

Public Safety Department Wants 15 More Guards But Can’t Fill Vacancies

Friday, January 10

Sheehan Out As Honolulu Police Commission Chair

Tuesday, January 7

Honolulu Police Official Says Suspect Shot Because ‘He Was Not Compliant’

Monday, January 6

Honolulu Police Shoot Man In Kailua

Friday, January 3

Honolulu Businessman Files Federal Complaint In Prosecutor Impeachment Effort

Judge Puts Hawaii Taser Case On Hold