Civil Beat Categories

Beyond Hawaii

50 Children Killed By Measles In Samoa As Outbreak Worsens AP

50 Children Killed By Measles In Samoa As Outbreak Worsens

The government said more than 1,100 people have been admitted to hospitals since the outbreak began in October.

Why A Measured Transition To Electric Vehicles Would Benefit The US Washington State House Republicans

Why A Measured Transition To Electric Vehicles Would Benefit The US

Democratic candidates might want to give themselves some wiggle room when talking about mandating zero emission vehicles in the coming years.

How The Low-Carbon Transition Is Disrupting Fossil Fuel Politics Cory Lum/Civil Beat

How The Low-Carbon Transition Is Disrupting Fossil Fuel Politics

Climate defiance is leading to surprising clashes between the Trump administration and companies that recognize the fossil fuel economy is unsustainable.

The Problem With Democracy? Voting Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

The Problem With Democracy? Voting

It would be better to randomly select citizens to take turns governing.

Stop Using ‘Millennial’ As A Meaningful Measurement iStock

Stop Using ‘Millennial’ As A Meaningful Measurement

As of this year, millennials have become the largest population group in the country, over 70 million. There’s a lot of diversity in such a big group.

Growth Of Anti-Abortion ‘Sanctuaries’ Challenge The Role Of Federal Law Getty Images/iStockphoto

Growth Of Anti-Abortion ‘Sanctuaries’ Challenge The Role Of Federal Law

These efforts have precedents in the rise of sanctuary cities to protect gun rights — and protect undocumented immigrants.

What Your Coffee Says About Your Politics Cory Lum/Civil Beat

What Your Coffee Says About Your Politics

Partisan divide creates different Americas, separate lives.

Federated States Of Micronesia Alleges Trafficking In Iowa

Federated States Of Micronesia Alleges Trafficking In Iowa

The FSM wants the U.S. Department of State to investigate labor conditions at a pork processing facility.

Ever Since 1796, Congress Has Struggled To Keep Presidents In Check Flickr: Gage Skidmore

Ever Since 1796, Congress Has Struggled To Keep Presidents In Check

The fight for information over the president’s negotiations with foreign powers is an inevitable consequence of the U.S. constitutional system.

How Congress Turns Citizens’ Voices Into Data Points Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

How Congress Turns Citizens’ Voices Into Data Points

The number of constituents seeking to contact their elected representatives has grown immensely and is overwhelming congressional systems.

Want To Reform America’s Police? Look To Firefighters Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Want To Reform America’s Police? Look To Firefighters

A strong institutional culture can suppress individual dispositions, including prejudice.

December 2019

Monday, December 2

50 Children Killed By Measles In Samoa As Outbreak Worsens

November 2019

Wednesday, November 27

Why A Measured Transition To Electric Vehicles Would Benefit The US

Monday, November 25

How The Low-Carbon Transition Is Disrupting Fossil Fuel Politics

Friday, November 1

The Problem With Democracy? Voting

October 2019

Thursday, October 31

Stop Using ‘Millennial’ As A Meaningful Measurement

Monday, October 21

Growth Of Anti-Abortion ‘Sanctuaries’ Challenge The Role Of Federal Law

Thursday, October 3

What Your Coffee Says About Your Politics

September 2019

Thursday, September 26

Ever Since 1796, Congress Has Struggled To Keep Presidents In Check

Tuesday, September 17

How Congress Turns Citizens’ Voices Into Data Points

Thursday, September 12

Want To Reform America’s Police? Look To Firefighters

Friday, September 6

Why Would Anyone Sit On A Plane For More Than 18 Hours?

August 2019

Thursday, August 22

Ocean Warming Is Impacting Fisheries Around The World

Tuesday, August 20

The Patriotism Of Jimi Hendrix

Thursday, August 15

How Did American Samoa Become A Wellspring For Football Talent?

Wednesday, August 14

Guam’s Ex-Archbishop Shielded Culture Of Clergy Sex Abuse

Thursday, August 8

How Organized Labor Can Reverse Decades Of Decline

Wednesday, August 7

Stop Blaming Video Games For Mass Killings

Tuesday, August 6

Why Trump’s Stoking Of White Racial Resentment Makes Working-Class Americans Worse Off

July 2019

Monday, July 8

How The Dalai Lama Is Chosen And Why China Wants To Appoint Its Own

June 2019

Friday, June 14

The Most Unpopular Presidential Election Winner Ever Could Win Again In 2020

Wednesday, June 12

Number Of Women Who Identify As Bisexual Is On The Rise

May 2019

Wednesday, May 22

Why Are There So Many Candidates For President?

Tuesday, May 21

Congress Is Considering Privacy Legislation – Be Afraid

Wednesday, May 8

California Set To Ban Pesticide Blamed For Harming Child Development

Tuesday, May 7

The US White Majority Will Soon Disappear Forever

Thursday, May 2

Shutting Down Social Media Only Fuels Violence

April 2019

Monday, April 22

How You Can Tell If You Might Get Replaced By A Robot

Friday, April 19

Protecting Marine Creatures May Help Slow Climate Change

Thursday, April 18

Read the Mueller Report Here

Tuesday, April 16

Measles Outbreaks: The Legal Challenges Of Public Good Vs. Personal Rights

Thursday, April 4

Vatican Upholds Sex Abuse Conviction Against Guam Archbishop

March 2019

Thursday, March 21

The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West Prepares To Die

Friday, March 15

Navy Wants To Continue Bombing This Tiny Island In The Pacific

Monday, March 11

Court Rules Against News Site Critical Of Philippine President

Friday, March 1

US Cities Are Becoming More Dangerous For Cyclists And Pedestrians

February 2019

Wednesday, February 27

Robocalls Are Unstoppable. Here’s Why Your Phone Won’t Stop Ringing

Tuesday, February 26

Why Blackface?

Tuesday, February 12

Most Americans Don’t Realize What Companies Can Predict From their Data

Wednesday, February 6

If Americans Are Worried About Climate Change Why Don’t They Vote That Way?

January 2019

Thursday, January 31

There’s A Wider Scandal Suggested By The Trump Investigations

Tuesday, January 15

Guam Catholic Church Enters Bankruptcy Amid Sex Abuse Claims

Thursday, January 10

What Life Is Like For Five Families Two Months After The Worst Storm Of 2018

‘From Something To Nothing’: Life In Saipan After Super Typhoon Yutu