Civil Beat Categories

Civil Beat Editorial

Only Lawmakers Can Fix Hawaii’s Mask Mandate. What Are They Waiting For? Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

Only Lawmakers Can Fix Hawaii’s Mask Mandate. What Are They Waiting For?

With the nation entering a “dark winter” of the pandemic, it doesn’t make sense to hold off until the new year to change a state law.

More Voter Service Centers Essential For Timely Election Results Cory Lum/Civil Beat

More Voter Service Centers Essential For Timely Election Results

The Hawaii Legislature must amend our new vote-by-mail law so the long lines we saw Tuesday do not happen again.

Honolulu Police Must Implement A Conflict Of Interest Policy Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Honolulu Police Must Implement A Conflict Of Interest Policy

Most other police departments across the country prohibit this obvious problem. A new lawsuit illustrates why HPD needs to prevent officers from using their powers to settle personal scores.

Legislature Must Give The Police Standards Board The Money It Needs To Do Its Job Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Legislature Must Give The Police Standards Board The Money It Needs To Do Its Job

Hawaii has a long history of cops behaving badly. The new oversight panel aims to address that, but it can’t without financial support.

4 Reasons You Must Vote — And Soon Flickr: Sheree Zielke

4 Reasons You Must Vote — And Soon

There really is no more important election than this one. 

Mayor Kirk Caldwell’s Foolish Plan To Fatten HPD With CARES Money Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Mayor Kirk Caldwell’s Foolish Plan To Fatten HPD With CARES Money

It’s far more important to help people pay rent and other necessary expenses than to buy more ATVs for cops.

Term Limits For Honolulu Prosecutor Are A Great Idea

Term Limits For Honolulu Prosecutor Are A Great Idea

A charter amendment question this November asks whether the position should be capped at two four-year terms. We think they should.

Solo Activity Order Yet Another Senseless Move From Caldwell Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Solo Activity Order Yet Another Senseless Move From Caldwell

The stay-at-home, work-at-home requirement is extended for two more weeks, but forget about taking your ohana to the beach during that time.

The Legislature Needs To Force Ige’s Hand On The Public Disclosure Of COVID-19 Data Cory Lum/Civil Beat

The Legislature Needs To Force Ige’s Hand On The Public Disclosure Of COVID-19 Data

Hiding behind overblown privacy concerns, the governor’s health department won’t even let the auditor, city officials or lawmakers know what’s going on.

November 2020

Friday, November 20

Only Lawmakers Can Fix Hawaii’s Mask Mandate. What Are They Waiting For?

Friday, November 6

More Voter Service Centers Essential For Timely Election Results

October 2020

Friday, October 30

Honolulu Police Must Implement A Conflict Of Interest Policy

Friday, October 23

Legislature Must Give The Police Standards Board The Money It Needs To Do Its Job

Friday, October 9

4 Reasons You Must Vote — And Soon

September 2020

Tuesday, September 22

Mayor Kirk Caldwell’s Foolish Plan To Fatten HPD With CARES Money

Thursday, September 17

Term Limits For Honolulu Prosecutor Are A Great Idea

Thursday, September 10

Solo Activity Order Yet Another Senseless Move From Caldwell

August 2020

Monday, August 31

The Legislature Needs To Force Ige’s Hand On The Public Disclosure Of COVID-19 Data

Wednesday, August 26

Don’t Blow This Chance To Get Oahu’s Virus Under Control

Thursday, August 20

The House COVID-19 Panel Has A Good Plan. Let’s Do It — Now

Thursday, August 13

Top Honolulu Official Needs To Step Down During Criminal Probe

Monday, August 3

Hawaii Needs A Better COVID-19 Communications Strategy

July 2020

Monday, July 13

Ige Should Block Union Pay Raises

June 2020

Thursday, June 18

It’s Time For Lawmakers To Stand With The Public Against Police Misconduct

May 2020

Monday, May 11

The Hawaii Legislature Should Not Delay Tough Calls

April 2020

Wednesday, April 29

Hawaii’s Legislature Must Find A Way To Get Back To Work

Saturday, April 25

Time For Hawaii To Ramp Up Contact Tracing

Tuesday, April 7

Release Nonviolent Inmates. It’s The Humane Thing To Do

Wednesday, April 1

Ige Needs To Bring The Public’s Business Back Into The Open — Now

March 2020

Monday, March 16

Don’t Keep The Public From Participating In Public Policy During A Crisis

Tuesday, March 10

Fear Of Fluoridation Ignores Science And Common Sense

February 2020

Monday, February 24

Make Lead Poisoning Testing Mandatory For Hawaii’s Kids

Tuesday, February 18

Why Is The Hawaii Legislature Still Protecting Bad Cops?

Monday, February 10

The Ongoing TMT Crisis Cries Out For Collective Hawaii Leadership

January 2020

Thursday, January 2

Want To Really Diversify Hawaii Ag? Cultivate Hemp