Civil Beat Categories

Civil Beat Editorial

Tourism’s Tipping Point Should Be A Turning Point For Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Tourism’s Tipping Point Should Be A Turning Point For Hawaii

We can’t stop tourists from flying here, but we can control where they stay and what they do.

Stop Holding Hawaii’s Primary Election On Saturday

Stop Holding Hawaii’s Primary Election On Saturday

And while we’re at it, general election day should no longer be a state holiday.

Honolulu Needs An Ethics Commission That Is Ethical Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Honolulu Needs An Ethics Commission That Is Ethical

The commission mishandled its role in the Kealoha corruption case, demonstrating the need for a higher level of integrity and accountability than political appointees are providing.

Atrocious Housing Conditions At Military Bases Must Be Fixed Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Atrocious Housing Conditions At Military Bases Must Be Fixed

President Donald Trump would be wise to use Defense Department money to clean up base housing before he spends it on a border wall.

Ige’s Veto Of Civil Asset Forfeiture Bill Makes No Sense Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Ige’s Veto Of Civil Asset Forfeiture Bill Makes No Sense

In thwarting the will of a unanimous Legislature, the governor ignored a state audit that found big problems with the way authorities confiscate property.

It’s Time For Term Limits For The Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney

It’s Time For Term Limits For The Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney

The recent conviction of a former deputy prosecutor underscores the need for new blood in the city office.

It’s Definitely Not Time To Move On From The Kealohas’ Corruption Case Cory Lum/Civil Beat

It’s Definitely Not Time To Move On From The Kealohas’ Corruption Case

The sordid chronicle of corruption and conspiracy at the highest levels of law enforcement demands greater vigilance from us all.

Gov. Ige Should Rethink Some Of His Veto Targets Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Gov. Ige Should Rethink Some Of His Veto Targets

Many good bills will become law. But a few measures on the chopping block deserve a second look.

Taxing Unoccupied Homes Is A Good Idea Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Taxing Unoccupied Homes Is A Good Idea

Developers and builders must be incentivized to construct more affordable housing — and not just as a percentage of units in condo towers.

Where’s The Money, DOE? Time To Turn Over Public Financial Records Meliha Gojak/iStock

Where’s The Money, DOE? Time To Turn Over Public Financial Records

A nonprofit organization with the willingness and the resources to produce a financial transparency model for education spending is being thwarted by the state.

Wespac: Fisheries Management Council Needs To Be Fully Investigated Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

Wespac: Fisheries Management Council Needs To Be Fully Investigated

It’s time for a deep look into how the council is operating, particularly how it has been spending millions of dollars in grants and contracts.

Paying For Trash Pickup: This Is One New Fee That Makes Sense Richard Wiens/Civil Beat

Paying For Trash Pickup: This Is One New Fee That Makes Sense

Honolulu can’t afford to keep bucking the national trend by both providing refuse and recycling containers and picking them up — all free of charge.

August 2019

Wednesday, August 14

Tourism’s Tipping Point Should Be A Turning Point For Hawaii

Monday, August 12

Stop Holding Hawaii’s Primary Election On Saturday

Thursday, August 1

Honolulu Needs An Ethics Commission That Is Ethical

July 2019

Wednesday, July 31

Atrocious Housing Conditions At Military Bases Must Be Fixed

Monday, July 22

Ige’s Veto Of Civil Asset Forfeiture Bill Makes No Sense

Wednesday, July 17

It’s Time For Term Limits For The Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney

Monday, July 1

It’s Definitely Not Time To Move On From The Kealohas’ Corruption Case

June 2019

Wednesday, June 26

Gov. Ige Should Rethink Some Of His Veto Targets

Wednesday, June 19

Taxing Unoccupied Homes Is A Good Idea

Wednesday, June 12

Where’s The Money, DOE? Time To Turn Over Public Financial Records

Monday, June 10

Wespac: Fisheries Management Council Needs To Be Fully Investigated

Monday, June 3

Paying For Trash Pickup: This Is One New Fee That Makes Sense

May 2019

Friday, May 10

The Governor And His Agencies Must Decide Where Public Water Will Flow

Wednesday, May 8

Election Reform: A Step Forward But Still Much To Be Done

April 2019

Wednesday, April 24

Police Misconduct Bill Is Not Just About Naming Bad Cops

Thursday, April 18

Don’t Let Petty Politics Block A Project To Prevent Ala Wai Canal Flooding

Monday, April 15

Governor Ige, It’s Time For A New Public Safety Director

Monday, April 8

Stop Anti-Vaxxers From Putting Hawaii Kids At Risk

March 2019

Monday, March 25

Feed Hawaii’s Hungry

Tuesday, March 19

An Inmate Riot In An Overcrowded Jail Shows Legislators Should Not Bail On Bail Reform

Monday, March 11

Finish The Job: Legislators Making Progress On Elections, Government Ethics

February 2019

Tuesday, February 26

Don’t Let The Cop Misconduct Bill Die — Again

Monday, February 25

We Can Save On Electricity And Help The Environment

Friday, February 15

Legislature Should Stop Shooting Down Hawaii’s Most-Needed Reforms

Thursday, February 14

Stop This End Run Around Hawaii Public Records Law

Tuesday, February 12

Hawaii Should Be The Next State To Legalize Marijuana

Thursday, February 7

Raise The Minimum Wage To At Least $15 An Hour

Friday, February 1

Honolulu’s Mayor Must Own Up To Rail’s Failures

January 2019

Wednesday, January 30

Quit Stalling On The New Police Standards Board

Monday, January 14

Don’t Blow This Chance To Reform Hawaii’s Terrible Prison System

Wednesday, January 9

Reopen Government And Argue About The Wall Later

Wednesday, January 2

Lawmakers Must Resist Any Effort To Undercut Hawaii’s Public Records Law