Civil Beat Categories

Column

Sterling Higa: We Have Enough Parking Lots If We Could Just Find Them Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Sterling Higa: We Have Enough Parking Lots If We Could Just Find Them

The real problem is there’s no easily accessible, publicly maintained resource directing drivers to available parking.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Mauna Kea Is Our Modern-Day Kahoolawe Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Mauna Kea Is Our Modern-Day Kahoolawe

Today, no one questions the wisdom of the effort to end the use of the island as a bombing range. In the future, we’ll feel the same about the TMT protesters.

Health Beat: Would Knowing The True Cost Of Drugs Make A Difference? Be.Futureproof/Flickr

Health Beat: Would Knowing The True Cost Of Drugs Make A Difference?

Not only do patients have no idea about the actual prices of their prescriptions, but their doctors don’t either.

Danny De Gracia: Welcome To Honolulu, Where There’s No Place To Park Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Danny De Gracia: Welcome To Honolulu, Where There’s No Place To Park

Some say that’s a good thing because it encourages alternative transportation. But that kind of thinking can go too far.

Sterling Higa: Why Living With My Mom Is Not Such A Bad Thing Courtesy of Sterling Higa

Sterling Higa: Why Living With My Mom Is Not Such A Bad Thing

We aren’t rushing into marriage or home ownership. We may even still live with our mothers. But we might come out ahead in the end.

Chad Blair: City Prosecutor Job May Draw Crowded Field Of Candidates Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Chad Blair: City Prosecutor Job May Draw Crowded Field Of Candidates

In the wake of the Kealoha corruption imbroglio, the issue of integrity will dominate the 2020 campaign.

Neal Milner: Reach An Accord In The TMT Dispute? Forget About It Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Neal Milner: Reach An Accord In The TMT Dispute? Forget About It

Like many Native Hawaiian controversies of the past, this is a problem that must be managed but cannot be resolved.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Radical Acts of Aloha Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Radical Acts of Aloha

We can’t lose track of the true meaning of this concept even as it’s co-opted by others. To receive aloha, you must first give it.

Chad Blair: Where Did All The Beards And ‘Staches Go On Hawaii Politicians? Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Chad Blair: Where Did All The Beards And ‘Staches Go On Hawaii Politicians?

Gov. Ige sports a moustache, but most of our elected officials prefer the clean shave.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Force Some Homeless People Into Treatment Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Force Some Homeless People Into Treatment

It’s not humane to make the mentally ill and drug addicts suffer on the streets, and it’s not fair to allow their presence to endanger the rest of us.

Neal Milner: What Would Happen If The Homeless Showed Up In Hawaii Kai? Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Neal Milner: What Would Happen If The Homeless Showed Up In Hawaii Kai?

Too often the stories we tell ourselves about the homeless — even sympathetic stories — serve to separate “Them” from “Us.”

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Disrespecting Cultural Issues On Mauna Kea Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Disrespecting Cultural Issues On Mauna Kea

The state’s removal of two structures on the mountain ignored traditional and customary rights laws.

July 2019

Friday, July 19

Sterling Higa: We Have Enough Parking Lots If We Could Just Find Them

Wednesday, July 17

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Mauna Kea Is Our Modern-Day Kahoolawe

Tuesday, July 16

Health Beat: Would Knowing The True Cost Of Drugs Make A Difference?

Monday, July 15

Danny De Gracia: Welcome To Honolulu, Where There’s No Place To Park

Friday, July 12

Sterling Higa: Why Living With My Mom Is Not Such A Bad Thing

Thursday, July 11

Chad Blair: City Prosecutor Job May Draw Crowded Field Of Candidates

Neal Milner: Reach An Accord In The TMT Dispute? Forget About It

Wednesday, July 10

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Radical Acts of Aloha

Friday, July 5

Chad Blair: Where Did All The Beards And ‘Staches Go On Hawaii Politicians?

Wednesday, July 3

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Force Some Homeless People Into Treatment

June 2019

Friday, June 28

Neal Milner: What Would Happen If The Homeless Showed Up In Hawaii Kai?

Wednesday, June 26

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Disrespecting Cultural Issues On Mauna Kea

Tuesday, June 25

Denby Fawcett: Ala Moana Not The Best Place For A ‘World-Class’ Playground

Monday, June 24

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Scapegoat Airbnbs For Honolulu’s Housing Crisis

Friday, June 21

Sterling Higa: The Things I Only See When I Bike Honolulu At Midnight

Thursday, June 20

Chad Blair: Today Is Not The Day For Tulsi Gabbard’s Political Memoir

Wednesday, June 19

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Saving The Last Hawaiian Salt Ponds

Tuesday, June 18

Denby Fawcett: The Kealohas’ Trial Strategy — Dressing For Success In The Courtroom

Monday, June 17

Danny De Gracia: Splitting Oahu Into More Counties Might Not Be A Bad Idea

Thursday, June 13

Chad Blair: It Looks Like All-Mail Voting Is Finally On Its Way

Health Beat: The Trouble With Drug Coupons And Free Copay Cards

Neal Milner: Hawaii’s Scholars Ought To Be Making Sense Of Its Politics

Tuesday, June 11

Health Beat: If We Want The FDA To Do A Better Job, Let It Share The Profits

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: What Crabbe’s Departure Means For OHA

Monday, June 10

Danny De Gracia: Hawaii Should Look To Hawaii To Solve Hawaii Problems

Friday, June 7

Sterling Higa: Make Our Rail Stations Attractive And Useful Destinations

Thursday, June 6

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Welcome To Hawaii — Now Show Some Respect

Tuesday, June 4

Chad Blair: What I Learned Renewing My License At The DMV

Denby Fawcett: Getting Lost In The Woods Can Happen To Anyone

Monday, June 3

Danny De Gracia: Some Ways To Stop The Exodus To The Mainland

May 2019

Thursday, May 30

Neal Milner: Why Is Every Legislative Session Shrouded In Political Mystery?

Wednesday, May 29

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Some Nations Get It — Happiness Matters

Tuesday, May 28

Danny De Gracia: Here’s How Local Government Can Stop Crashing And Burning

Friday, May 24

Sterling Higa: Viewing Hawaii’s Culture Through A Japanese Lens

Wednesday, May 22

Chad Blair: Why Bikini Islanders Bought Land On The Big Island

Tuesday, May 21

Denby Fawcett: Mailbox Crime Didn’t Begin With The Kealoha Case

Monday, May 20

Danny De Gracia: Oahu’s Public Spaces Are Embarrassing

Friday, May 17

Sterling Higa: A Marketing Whiz In A World That’s Moving Beyond TV

Thursday, May 16

Neal Milner: Confessions Of A Long-Distance Grandparent

Tuesday, May 14

Denby Fawcett: Yellow Bowls And The Ugly Wartime History They Symbolize

Monday, May 13

Danny De Gracia: Maybe Hirono Should Be A ‘Badass’ On Local Issues Too

Thursday, May 9

Sterling Higa: I Don’t Need A Car Anymore, And I’m Not The Only One

Wednesday, May 8

Health Beat: Opioid Makers Should Have To Pay For The Problems They’ve Created

Tuesday, May 7

Denby Fawcett: Kakaako Homeless Population Grows While City And State Dither Over Land Transfer

Monday, May 6

Chad Blair: This Is What It Sounds Like When Bills Die

Danny De Gracia: The Legislature Really Blew It This Year

Friday, May 3

Sterling Higa: A Promising Plan To Ease Honolulu’s Housing Crisis

Thursday, May 2

Neal Milner: We Are Caught In The Crossfire Surrounding The Mueller Report

April 2019

Monday, April 29

Danny De Gracia: Teen Suicide Is A Big Problem In Hawaii

Wednesday, April 24

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Glorious But Functional Art Of Indigenous Cultures

Tuesday, April 23

Denby Fawcett: Tulsi Gabbard Isn’t The First Hawaii Resident To Run For President

Monday, April 22

Danny De Gracia: Reining In The Untamed World Of Online Gaming

Wednesday, April 17

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Thinking Of Hawaii’s Treasures As Notre Dame Burned

Chad Blair: Why, Tulsi, Why?

Tuesday, April 16

Denby Fawcett: Why Hawaii Has Many Opioid Users But Few Overdose Deaths

Monday, April 15

Danny De Gracia: The Unintended Hazards Of Red-Light Cameras

Thursday, April 11

Neal Milner: All This Partisan Bickering May Get Bloody

Chad Blair: Inside The Legislature’s Backroom Brawl Over A Water Rights Bill

Wednesday, April 10

Sterling Higa: The Man Behind The Promises Made To Public Retirees

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Pursuing Hawaiian Sovereignty In The Time of Trump

Tuesday, April 9

Health Beat: We Can Have Medicare-For-All And Private Insurance

Masagatani Is A Scapegoat For DHHL Dysfunction

Denby Fawcett: Fighting Back Against Robocalls And Other Phone Scams

Chad Blair: Possible Resurrection Of Water Bill Has Capitol Abuzz

Wednesday, April 3

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Look To The Past To Meet Our Future Food Goals

Tuesday, April 2

Denby Fawcett: Feeding The Homeless When The City Says Not To

Monday, April 1

Sterling Higa: Why My Generation Is Lowering Its Expectations

March 2019

Friday, March 29

Denby Fawcett: This Trevor Ozawa Campaign Call Is Actually A Blast From The Past

Thursday, March 28

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Struggle Over Kauai’s Kuleana Lands

Chad Blair: How To Pick A President

Wednesday, March 27

Neal Milner: Time To Get Real About Why Young People Leave Hawaii

Tuesday, March 26

Denby Fawcett: Don’t Destroy State Capitol’s Openness With Security Barriers

Monday, March 25

Health Beat: Dodging The High Cost Of Prescription Drugs

Danny De Gracia: Lawmakers Must Stop New Tax Increases

Thursday, March 21

Chad Blair: Are Hawaii Legislators Paid Too Much?

Sterling Higa: When Everyone Has College Degrees, They’ll Be Worthless

Wednesday, March 20

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: It’s Time For UH To Walk Away From TMT

Tuesday, March 19

Denby Fawcett: The Enduring Appeal Of Hippies

Monday, March 18

Danny De Gracia: Hawaii Is Way Out There On Gun Control

Thursday, March 14

Neal Milner: This Business Genius Will Bomb As A Presidential Contender

Wednesday, March 13

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Beauty of Being Satisfied With ‘Enough’

Chad Blair: Why Is Keith Kaneshiro Still Getting A Paycheck?

Tuesday, March 12

Denby Fawcett: Honolulu Diocese Should Identify All Credibly Accused Priests

Monday, March 11

Danny De Gracia: When Reforming Primaries, Make Sure Voters Understand

Friday, March 8

Sterling Higa: Transforming One Of Honolulu’s Worst Eyesores

Thursday, March 7

Denby Fawcett: Council Member Wants Audit of Hawaiian Humane Society

Tuesday, March 5

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Protecting Farms Must Be A Climate Priority

Monday, March 4

Danny De Gracia: When Are City Leaders Going To Talk To Us About Corruption?

February 2019

Thursday, February 28

Neal Milner: HART’s ‘Bump In The Road’ Is Code For ‘We’re In Deep S#%* Here’

Wednesday, February 27

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: This Maui Fight Doesn’t Belong In The Supreme Court

Chad Blair: How Much Hate In The 808 These Days?

Health Beat: Regulate Food Supplements, And Send The Bill To The Companies

Monday, February 25

Danny De Gracia: Quit Scalping Hawaii Taxpayers — Legalize Gambling

Thursday, February 21

Neal Milner: Living In Hawaii Drives Me Nuts But You Can’t Beat The Neighbors

Chad Blair: Public Records Chief Is Still Trying To Make It Harder To Get Public Records

Denby Fawcett: A Death Trap At The Entrance To Diamond Head

Wednesday, February 20

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Do We Really Know Who We Are Anymore?

Tuesday, February 19

Kauai: Picking Up The Pieces After Big Disasters

Danny De Gracia: Not So Fast On Massive New Green Movement

Friday, February 15

Health Beat: There’s Something To Be Said For That Drugstore Pharmacist

Tuesday, February 12

Denby Fawcett: Hawaiian Princess Is Very Different Now Than In 2007

Monday, February 11

Danny De Gracia: Why A Social Conservative Like Me Wants To Legalize Pot

Friday, February 8

Chad Blair: Bestiality Is Still Legal In Hawaii

Thursday, February 7

Neal Milner: Gabbard Lost Her Political Acumen At Just The Wrong Time

Tuesday, February 5

Health Beat: I Have No Idea How Much Your Hospital Stay Will Cost

January 2019

Thursday, January 31

Chad Blair: Do We Really Need A Dan Inouye Day? Or An Obama Ice Cream Shop?

Wednesday, January 30

Health Beat: I Have To Be Ready For Patients Who Think They’re Ready To Die

Tuesday, January 29

Denby Fawcett: Homeless On Wheels In Honolulu

Monday, January 28

Danny De Gracia: Ige’s Affordable Housing Plan Could Easily Backfire

Wednesday, January 23

Denby Fawcett: Canned Food Is So ’50s But Spam Will Live Forever

Tuesday, January 22

Danny De Gracia: Confessions Of A Bill Hijacker

Thursday, January 17

Neal Milner: Why Is Hawaii Afraid To Recount Votes In Close Races?

Wednesday, January 16

Chad Blair: The Incredible Shrinking Tulsi Gabbard

Tuesday, January 15

Denby Fawcett: I Like Dogs But Not When They’re In My Face — Or My Food

Monday, January 14

Danny De Gracia: Raising Hawaii’s Minimum Wage Is No Quick Fix

Tuesday, January 8

Denby Fawcett: MADD’s New Target Is Drugged Driving

Friday, January 4

Health Beat: It’s Safe To Take Your Pills, But Those Medical Devices Might Kill You

Thursday, January 3

Chad Blair: Tulsi Gabbard’s Unlikely Path To The Presidency

Neal Milner: Why This Great Idea To Make Hawaii More Efficient Probably Won’t Work

Wednesday, January 2

Danny De Gracia: How You Can Make A Difference In 2019