Civil Beat Categories

Column

Neal Milner: TV Networks Are Going To Need A New Election Night Game Plan This Year Getty Images

Neal Milner: TV Networks Are Going To Need A New Election Night Game Plan This Year

Picking a winner on election night will be tough to do. And get rid of those exit polls.

Lee Cataluna: Protection For Renters Can Be A Nightmare for Landlords

Lee Cataluna: Protection For Renters Can Be A Nightmare for Landlords

Hawaii’s strict eviction moratorium leaves homeowners with little protection against bad tenants.

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii Tourism Needs To Become Smarter Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii Tourism Needs To Become Smarter

Tourists to Hawaii today expect clear information and better technology to feel safe.
Danny De Gracia: Be Yourself And Vote For the Person You Like, Not The Party Getty Images

Danny De Gracia: Be Yourself And Vote For the Person You Like, Not The Party

This election is your chance to think different and be different. Vote your conscience.

Lee Cataluna: The Honolulu Mayoral Race Has Devolved Into Ugly Tactics

Lee Cataluna: The Honolulu Mayoral Race Has Devolved Into Ugly Tactics

In casting Blangiardi as a Trump-surrogate, it’s Amemiya who takes a page from the Trump handbook.

Eric Stinton: Here’s Why We Should All Mourn The Loss Of SURFER Magazine Screenshot

Eric Stinton: Here’s Why We Should All Mourn The Loss Of SURFER Magazine

The magazine never shied away from tough subjects, and brought surfing culture to a much wider audience.

Lee Cataluna: Hang On For Hawaii’s Iffy Reopening Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Lee Cataluna: Hang On For Hawaii’s Iffy Reopening

From the beginning, the state’s response to the pandemic has been marked by half-measures and hopeful thinking.

Denby Fawcett: The Joy Of Voting For A Trump-Free Future Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Denby Fawcett: The Joy Of Voting For A Trump-Free Future

In this time of uncertainty, my personal hope is for a president with a steady hand to steer the canoe through tumultuous waters.

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Forget The City Charter Questions Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Forget The City Charter Questions

You can change the course of city government by voting on the ballot measures.

October 2020

Thursday, October 22

Neal Milner: TV Networks Are Going To Need A New Election Night Game Plan This Year

Wednesday, October 21

Lee Cataluna: Protection For Renters Can Be A Nightmare for Landlords

Tuesday, October 20

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii Tourism Needs To Become Smarter

Monday, October 19

Danny De Gracia: Be Yourself And Vote For the Person You Like, Not The Party

Sunday, October 18

Lee Cataluna: The Honolulu Mayoral Race Has Devolved Into Ugly Tactics

Friday, October 16

Eric Stinton: Here’s Why We Should All Mourn The Loss Of SURFER Magazine

Wednesday, October 14

Lee Cataluna: Hang On For Hawaii’s Iffy Reopening

Tuesday, October 13

Denby Fawcett: The Joy Of Voting For A Trump-Free Future

Monday, October 12

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Forget The City Charter Questions

Sunday, October 11

Lee Cataluna: Remembering The Hilo Teacher Who Inspired A Nobel Prize Winner

Friday, October 9

Neal Milner: Here’s Why You Should Consider Leaving Hawaii

Wednesday, October 7

Lee Cataluna: Neighbor Islands Chafe At Oahu-Centric Tourism Plan

Tuesday, October 6

Denby Fawcett: Can Shave Ice And Surfboards Help Keep Young People Safe?

Sunday, October 4

Lee Cataluna: HPD’s Shameful Crime-Solving Record Shouldn’t Be Tolerated

Friday, October 2

Eric Stinton: It’s Time For Some Kids To Start Learning In Person Again

Thursday, October 1

Neal Milner: Optimism Is What America Needs Right Now

September 2020

Wednesday, September 30

Lee Cataluna: Hunger And Need Winds Through An Affluent Neighborhood

Tuesday, September 29

Denby Fawcett: 3 Nurses Describe What It’s Like To Care For COVID-19 Patients

Sunday, September 27

Lee Cataluna: Don’t Blame Politics For Management’s Failure At The Hilo Veterans Home

Chad Blair: Why Politics In Hawaii May Never Be The Same Again

Friday, September 25

Eric Stinton: COVID-19 Gives Us A Chance To Change How We Teach. Let’s Not Waste It

Thursday, September 24

What Does Hawaii’s Primary Turnout Mean For Future Elections?

Wednesday, September 23

Lee Cataluna: ‘Temptation Island’ Is Playing It Safe On Maui

Tuesday, September 22

Denby Fawcett: When And How Does The Pandemic End?

Monday, September 21

Danny De Gracia: Sen. Mazie Hirono Will Tar And Feather Any Trump Court Nominee

Sunday, September 20

Lee Cataluna: Saying Aloha To Hawaiian Airlines

Thursday, September 17

Neal Milner: Pacific Islanders Are Mentors Not Victims

Wednesday, September 16

Lee Cataluna: Behold Honolulu’s Flip-Flopping Mayor

Tuesday, September 15

Denby Fawcett: Relieve The Pandemic Blues By Counting Pacific Plovers

Monday, September 14

Danny De Gracia: Ask The Candidates How They’re Going To Deal With COVID-19

Chad Blair: How One Maui Resident Is Working To Help Ballots Arrive In Time

Sunday, September 13

Lee Cataluna: Why Laid-Back Kauai Got Fired Up Over A Cult

Friday, September 11

Eric Stinton: Making Sense Of Hawaii’s Lockdowns

Thursday, September 10

Neal Milner: The Pandemic Is Teaching Us A Lesson About Trust That We Shouldn’t Ignore

Wednesday, September 9

Lee Cataluna: Here’s One COVID-19 Effort That Worked

Tuesday, September 8

Denby Fawcett: 3 Survivors Talk About How They Fought COVID-19

Sunday, September 6

Lee Cataluna: Scapegoats And Fall Guys For A Leader Who Cannot Lead

Thursday, September 3

Chad Blair: Can David Ige Be Impeached?

Neal Milner: Lawmakers Are Calling Out The State’s Toxic Culture. But Will Anything Change?

Tuesday, September 1

Denby Fawcett: The State’s Stranglehold On Important Data During the Pandemic is Unforgivable

August 2020

Monday, August 31

Danny De Gracia: The Growing Disconnect In The War Against COVID-19

Chad Blair: Guess Who In Hawaii Is Donating To Trump And Biden?

Sunday, August 30

Eric Stinton: This Troubling Distance Learning Program Tells Us A Lot About The DOE

Tuesday, August 25

Denby Fawcett: The Faces Of Hawaii’s COVID-19 Dead

Monday, August 24

Danny De Gracia: Kai Kahele Should Not Get A Free Ride To Congress

Sunday, August 23

Eric Stinton: Getting The Hang Of Distance Learning

Thursday, August 20

Neal Milner: The Legislature’s Virus Committee Needs To Raise A Stink

Tuesday, August 18

Neal Milner: We’re All To Blame For Trusting The Department Of Health

Monday, August 17

Danny De Gracia: Hawaii Governor Is Failing To Lead Just When We Need Him Most

Chad Blair: TV Anchor Joe Moore Stuns Viewers With Dubious Report On COVID-19

Friday, August 14

Eric Stinton: School Leaders Have Tough Decisions To Make. It’s Time To Quit Waffling

Monday, August 10

Denby Fawcett: Iolani Palace Is Getting Rid Of Thousands Of Bees

Chad Blair: The Primary That Upset Hawaii’s Mango Cart

Friday, August 7

Eric Stinton: These Social Media Accounts Are Sharing A Dangerous Message

Thursday, August 6

Neal Milner: How A Pony Guy (Or A Bat Or A Seal) Could Help Gov. Ige

Tuesday, August 4

Denby Fawcett: Why Are People Trashing State Parks?

Monday, August 3

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Miss This Opportunity To Fix Honolulu

July 2020

Wednesday, July 29

Eric Stinton: Turning Your Home Into A Classroom Is Not A Bad Thing

Tuesday, July 28

Denby Fawcett: Her Son Survived COVID-19. His Struggles Are Far From Over

Monday, July 27

Danny De Gracia: Mercenary Economics Are Fueling A Rush To Reopen Schools

Friday, July 24

Denby Fawcett: MidWeek’s Troubling Pay-To-Play Journalism

Thursday, July 23

Neal Milner: COVID-19 Is Making Me Rethink My Past And My Future

Wednesday, July 22

Eric Stinton: Why I’m Going Back To Teaching

Tuesday, July 21

Chad Blair: There’s A High Bar For Legislative Candidates Without A Party

Denby Fawcett: What’s The Pandemic Been Like For You? Historians Want To Know

Monday, July 20

Danny De Gracia: There’s No Excuse This Year For Not Voting

Wednesday, July 15

Denby Fawcett: HPD Deals With Sex Abuse Within Its Own Ranks

Thursday, July 9

Neal Milner: This Presidential Election Is Going To Come Down To White Politics

Monday, July 6

Danny De Gracia: Why A Visitor Fee Isn’t A Bad Thing

Wednesday, July 1

Denby Fawcett: 6 Women Return To Fernhurst Halfway House

June 2020

Tuesday, June 30

Denby Fawcett: Lawmakers Poised To Save A Successful Program For Women Inmates

Monday, June 29

Danny De Gracia: Should We Trust The Governor With Health Decisions?

Thursday, June 25

Neal Milner: 4 Ways This Honolulu Mayor’s Race Is Like None Before It

Tuesday, June 23

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii’s Royal Palace Is In Danger

Monday, June 22

Danny De Gracia: It’s Not Just Tourists We Need To Be Concerned About

Friday, June 19

Chad Blair: Did You Hear About The White Supremacists In Aloha Shirts?

Thursday, June 18

Neal Milner: Hawaii Has Lost Its Emotional Connection To Voting

Tuesday, June 16

Denby Fawcett: Sad To Watch The Turmoil At The Star-Advertiser

Monday, June 15

Danny De Gracia: 2020 Election Is A Vote On Hawaii’s Post-Pandemic Future

Sunday, June 14

John Pritchett: Here We Go Again

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Struggling To Make Sense Of Calls To ‘Defund The Police’

Thursday, June 11

Neal Milner: Global Protests Are Just One Step Toward Ending Racism

Tuesday, June 9

Denby Fawcett: The Shared Trauma Of 1968 And 2020

Monday, June 8

Danny De Gracia: Let’s Use The COVID-19 Crisis To Improve Hawaii’s Schools

Sunday, June 7

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: George Floyd’s Death Brings Pain To Blacks And Hawaiians

Tuesday, June 2

Denby Fawcett: Entering A World Of Uncertainty As Hawaii Reopens

Monday, June 1

Danny De Gracia: Go Ahead And Shop, You’ll Be Fine

May 2020

Thursday, May 28

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Ige Needs To Come Up With A Real Recovery Plan

Neal Milner: We’ll Get By With A Little Help From Our Friends

Tuesday, May 26

Denby Fawcett: I’m Still Too Wary Of COVID-19 To Rush Out To Eat

Tuesday, May 19

Chad Blair: David Ige, The Governor Who Cannot Govern

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii’s Homeless Have Avoided COVID-19 — So Far

Monday, May 18

Danny De Gracia: Maximize Federal Aid Before We Chop Up The State Budget

Thursday, May 14

Neal Milner: Public Disdain For Ige Goes Far Deeper Than His Pandemic Job

Wednesday, May 13

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Marketing Hawaii As ‘The Safest Place’ Could Backfire

Tuesday, May 12

Denby Fawcett: When Tourism Returns To Hawaii, It Should Be Smarter

Monday, May 11

Danny De Gracia: Let’s Keep The Pandemic’s Positive Changes

Saturday, May 9

Sterling Higa: Some Will Be Left Behind In Revamped Hawaii Economy

Friday, May 8

Chad Blair: How I Survived 10 Years At Civil Beat

Tuesday, May 5

Denby Fawcett: We’re Going To Have To Get Over Our Anger Toward Tourists

Monday, May 4

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Let COVID-19 Destroy The Upcoming Election

Sunday, May 3

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Data, Not Dates, Should Drive Reopening Of Hawaii

Saturday, May 2

Chad Blair: Nothing Screams ‘Aloha’ Like An Ankle Monitor

Friday, May 1

Sterling Higa: Hawaii Millennials Buck Stereotype To Pitch In Against Pandemic

April 2020

Thursday, April 30

Neal Milner: Yiddish ‘Fiddler’ Is A Balm For Our Troubled Times

Tuesday, April 28

Denby Fawcett: The Pandemic Is Transforming Hawaii’s Food Culture

Monday, April 27

Danny De Gracia: Viral Misinformation Aids The Spread Of COVID-19

Thursday, April 23

Neal Milner: Even COVID-19 Is Unlikely To Sever Trump’s Bond With Voters

Tuesday, April 21

Denby Fawcett: The Pandemic Has Robbed Us Of Everyday Adventures

Chad Blair: How Long Can Our Civil Liberties Be Suspended?

Monday, April 20

Sterling Higa: Who Will Bear The Burden Of Our Virus Response Effort?

Sunday, April 19

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Gov. David Ige Is The Wrong Man For This Job

Tuesday, April 14

Denby Fawcett: A Community Sounds Out

Monday, April 13

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Last Thing We Need Right Now Is Conflict

Danny De Gracia: Long-Term Economic Health Demands Waiting Out COVID-19

Sunday, April 12

Chad Blair: Pandemic Is Scrambling State Budget Priorities

Saturday, April 11

Sterling Higa: Life In The Time Of Coronavirus

Thursday, April 9

Neal Milner: Overcoming The Walking Blues

Tuesday, April 7

Denby Fawcett: When Will This Be Over?

Monday, April 6

Danny De Gracia: It’s Time To Envision Hawaii’s Future

Friday, April 3

Chad Blair: Hawaii Democrats On ‘Leading Edge’ In Picking POTUS

Sterling Higa: Pandemic Lays Bare A Fragile Supply Chain

Thursday, April 2

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Can The Virus Offer A Chance To Rebuild A Better Hawaii?

How We’re Covering The Coronavirus Crisis

March 2020

Tuesday, March 31

Denby Fawcett: Hawaii Writers Suggest Books Of Solace For Isolated Times

Friday, March 27

Sterling Higa: Gov. Ige, Time To Show You’re In Charge

Thursday, March 26

Neal Milner: The Dual Dangers Of Intimacy And Isolation In A Pandemic

Tuesday, March 24

Denby Fawcett: Even The Duke Was No Match For The Spanish Flu

Monday, March 23

Health Beat: Your Actions Now Are Crucial To Slowing The Pandemic

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: As Always, Aloha Will See Us Through

Danny De Gracia: Say Good-Bye To Chili And Rice Campaign Events

Sunday, March 22

Sterling Higa: Gov. Ige’s Quarantine Mandate Is Not Enough

Thursday, March 19

Neal Milner: Tulsi Gabbard Has Become Irrelevant To Hawaii

Tuesday, March 17

Denby Fawcett: Hoarding Or Helping? How Will Hawaii Get Through The Virus Crisis?

Friday, March 13

Sterling Higa: I’m Not Worried About Coronavirus

Thursday, March 12

Chad Blair: Voters Deserve To Know What Tulsi Gabbard’s Up To

Neal Milner: Young People’s Bernie Love Doesn’t Translate Into Votes

Wednesday, March 11

Health Beat: Don’t Repeat My Mistake By Going To Work Sick

Tuesday, March 10

Denby Fawcett: 8 Months To Pave A Parking Lot? Kaimuki Businesses Are Outraged

Monday, March 9

Danny De Gracia: Coronavirus Could Be Hawaii’s Final Straw

Tuesday, March 3

Denby Fawcett: Exhibit Challenges The Sense Of What It Is To Be Black In America

February 2020

Friday, February 28

Sterling Higa: Prevent Homelessness By Helping At-Risk Renters

Chad Blair: Lawmakers Take A Stand For The First Amendment

Thursday, February 27

Neal Milner: How ‘Offloading’ Landed Ige, Caldwell In The Political Dumps

Wednesday, February 26

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Rise Of #KanakaTwitter

Tuesday, February 25

Denby Fawcett: Clearing The Homeless Out Of Kuhio Beach Pavilions

Monday, February 24

Danny De Gracia: Give 16-Year-Olds The Right To Vote

Friday, February 21

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: The Stakes Are High For Hawaiians To Get Out The Vote

Thursday, February 20

Chad Blair: I’ll Give You My Membership Fee When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands

Neal Milner: I’m Happy Being An Outsider In Hawaii

Wednesday, February 19

Danny De Gracia: Forget The Blue-Ribbon Commission. Just Fix The Problems

Tuesday, February 18

Denby Fawcett: How Marketeers Turned The Diamond Head Shoreline Into The Gold Coast

Friday, February 14

Sterling Higa: How Whole Foods Lured Me In

Chad Blair: 10 Reasons Why Hawaii Should Hold The First Presidential Primary

Thursday, February 13

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Civic Consciousness Is A Grind

Tuesday, February 11

Denby Fawcett: City Removes 2nd Fence From Diamond Head Seawall

Monday, February 10

Danny De Gracia: Hawaii’s Struggling Teachers Deserve Some Tax Relief

Thursday, February 6

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: AG Steering Hawaii In Wrong Direction With TMT

Tuesday, February 4

Denby Fawcett: Can A White Person Ever Be ‘Local’ In Hawaii?

Monday, February 3

Danny De Gracia: Lawmakers Need To Tighten Controls On Asset Forfeiture

January 2020

Friday, January 31

Sterling Higa: It’s Time To Clean Up Chinatown

Thursday, January 30

Neal Milner: Beware The ‘Magic’ Of Public-Private Partnerships For Honolulu Rail

Wednesday, January 29

Kauai: Council Weighs Resolution To Fix DHHL Mortgage Programs

Tuesday, January 28

Denby Fawcett: Diamond Head Girls School Offers Comfort To First Responders, Neighbors

Monday, January 27

Danny De Gracia: ‘Congestion Pricing’ Is Another Of Honolulu’s Bad Ideas

Thursday, January 23

Neal Milner: White Political Identity Is An Emerging And Dangerous Force

Denby Fawcett: It Was Lois Cain’s Stubborn Loyalty That Likely Got Her Killed

Health Beat: Creating A Better Health Care System For Us All

Wednesday, January 22

Danny de Gracia: Hawaii Should Welcome New Defense Radar

Tuesday, January 21

Denby Fawcett: Winning Political Power The Pelosi Way

Friday, January 17

Sterling Higa: Is This Any Way To Run An Airport?

Thursday, January 16

Neal Milner: Why Oscar Mayer Won’t Let Me Drive Its Wienermobile

Wednesday, January 15

Denby Fawcett: How I Almost Fell For An Internet Scam

Tuesday, January 14

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaiians Ready To Descend On Capitol

Monday, January 13

Danny De Gracia: We Must Get Ready For The Climate Change ‘Storm’

Friday, January 10

Sterling Higa: Why Can’t I Find An Apartment To Rent In Honolulu?

Thursday, January 9

Denby Fawcett: Fence Blocking Diamond Head Seawall Will Be Removed

Neal Milner: Hawaii Needs To Rough Up Its Brain-Dead Politics

Tuesday, January 7

Denby Fawcett: My Bittersweet Return To Vietnam

Monday, January 6

Danny De Gracia: Don’t Settle For Mediocrity In Hawaii

Friday, January 3

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii Should Learn From Australia’s Wildfires

Thursday, January 2

Denby Fawcett: City Blocks Public Access Along Diamond Head Seawall

Neal Milner: Life Lessons From A New York City Coffee Shop