Civil Beat Categories

Community Voice

John Pritchett: Police Test Scores Doctored? John Pritchett

John Pritchett: Police Test Scores Doctored?

Longtime Honolulu political cartoonist has this view on the recent settlement between the city and a former police officer who said she was fired for reporting altered test scores.

What We Must Talk About When We Talk About Housing Cory Lum/Civil Beat

What We Must Talk About When We Talk About Housing

Like child labor laws, the minimum wage and workplace safety regulations, housing is a basic right.

Tom Yamachika: Hedging The Cost And Effective Date Of Bills Is Common

Tom Yamachika: Hedging The Cost And Effective Date Of Bills Is Common

Why Hawaii lawmakers often write incomplete bills and fill in key information later.

Youth Leadership Needed In Time Of Climate Uncertainty Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

Youth Leadership Needed In Time Of Climate Uncertainty

School’s out for many this Friday to demand meaningful action on global warming.

Speeding Toward Irrevocable Climate Chaos Flickr: Rubén Moreno Montolíu

Speeding Toward Irrevocable Climate Chaos

Global carbon emissions must be cut by 50 percent per decade beginning now — repeat, now.

Stopping Hawaii’s Millennial Brain Drain Is Complicated Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Stopping Hawaii’s Millennial Brain Drain Is Complicated

It’s not just housing inventory that is a determining factor. It’s much, much more.

Sexual Harassment: One More Reason Grad Students Need To Unionize Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Sexual Harassment: One More Reason Grad Students Need To Unionize

Graduate students are especially prone to being harassed on University of Hawaii campuses, statistics show.

End The Trafficking Of Hawaii’s Reef Wildlife Alana Eagle/Civil Beat

End The Trafficking Of Hawaii’s Reef Wildlife

Aquarium pet trade proponents are not telling the truth about industry practices.

Tom Yamachika: GET Increase Not the Answer For Public Education Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Tom Yamachika: GET Increase Not the Answer For Public Education

We need to fix the rampant inefficiencies in our school system rather than approving a hike in this regressive tax.

Investigation Of Sexual Abuse In Catholic Church Could Drive Out Darkness Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Investigation Of Sexual Abuse In Catholic Church Could Drive Out Darkness

Hawaii lawmakers are considering asking the attorney general to investigate clergy of the Diocese of Honolulu.

Building More Suburbs Could Help Millennials Stay In Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Building More Suburbs Could Help Millennials Stay In Hawaii

Construction on previously undeveloped land is typically less expensive than building in urban cores.

Let’s Get Real About Responsible Gun Owners Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Let’s Get Real About Responsible Gun Owners

Stop depicting those who are knowledgeable about firearms and gun safety as being evil people who are out to harm children.

March 2019

Sunday, March 17

Tom Yamachika: Hedging The Cost And Effective Date Of Bills Is Common

Friday, March 15

Youth Leadership Needed In Time Of Climate Uncertainty

Thursday, March 14

Speeding Toward Irrevocable Climate Chaos

Wednesday, March 13

Stopping Hawaii’s Millennial Brain Drain Is Complicated

Tuesday, March 12

Sexual Harassment: One More Reason Grad Students Need To Unionize

Monday, March 11

End The Trafficking Of Hawaii’s Reef Wildlife

Sunday, March 10

Tom Yamachika: GET Increase Not the Answer For Public Education

Friday, March 8

Investigation Of Sexual Abuse In Catholic Church Could Drive Out Darkness

Thursday, March 7

Building More Suburbs Could Help Millennials Stay In Hawaii

Wednesday, March 6

Let’s Get Real About Responsible Gun Owners

Tuesday, March 5

A ‘Forensic Audit’ Of Rail Likely Won’t Uncover Fraud

Monday, March 4

The Drug-Addicted Lawyer

Sunday, March 3

Tom Yamachika: Here’s Some Tips At Tax Time

Friday, March 1

When Traffic Safety Gets Really Personal

February 2019

Thursday, February 28

Pause Honolulu Rail Now Rather Than Later

Wednesday, February 27

How To Make College Meaningful To High School Students

Tuesday, February 26

Just Because Vaping Is Legal Doesn’t Mean It’s Safe

Monday, February 25

A Living Wage Will Help Native Hawaiians

Sunday, February 24

Tom Yamachika: Lawmakers Again Considering Individual Development Accounts

Friday, February 22

Legislature Has A Chance To Encourage Retirement Savings

Thursday, February 21

E-Cigs Can Help Wean Smokers Off Tobacco

Wednesday, February 20

New Military Base Increases Calls For Okinawa’s Independence

Tuesday, February 19

Failure To Enact A Living Wage Will Hurt Businesses

Sunday, February 17

Tom Yamachika: Squirreling Away Money At The DOT

Friday, February 15

Kakaako Crash Shifts The Dialogue On Vehicle Collisions

Bring Hawaiian Airlines Call Center Back To The Islands

Thursday, February 14

Is Hawaii Prepared For What Southwest Airlines Might Bring?

Future Of Pali Lanes Remains Uncertain

Wednesday, February 13

What? I Can’t Use Pot To Relieve My Pain?

Don’t Panic Over Rapid Ohia Death

Tuesday, February 12

Sex-Trafficking: Stop Victimizing The Victims

Today’s Politicians Are Showing No Mercy

Monday, February 11

Setting The Minimum Wage Debate Straight

Sunday, February 10

Tom Yamachika: More Creative Tax Bills At The Legislature

Friday, February 8

Time To Retire Red Hill Jet Fuel Tanks

WWJD? Enacting A Living Wage Is The Christian Thing To Do

Thursday, February 7

An Open Letter To Hawaii Condo Owners About Proxies

Wednesday, February 6

Hawaii Doesn’t Need An Aerospace Development Corporation

It Shouldn’t Take Audits And Lawsuits For Government To Be Transparent

Tuesday, February 5

I Didn’t Give Hawaii Energy Permission To Use My Data — Did You?

Disabled Workers Often Paid Far Below Minimum Wage

Monday, February 4

What I Learned From My Wife’s Death Snorkeling On The Big Island

Sunday, February 3

Tom Yamachika: Creativity Abounds At Our Legislature

Friday, February 1

There’s Nothing Courageous About Hawaiians Attacking Hawaiians

January 2019

Thursday, January 31

Lawmakers Must Put Living Wage Over Corporate Profits

Wednesday, January 30

Honolulu Police Are Using Lethal Force Far Too Often

Tuesday, January 29

How To Encourage Healthy Diets And Support Local Agriculture

Monday, January 28

Hawaii’s Minimum Wage: How High? For How Long? Is It Enough?

Sunday, January 27

Tom Yamachika: Could Toll Booths Work On Oahu?

Friday, January 25

Short-Term Rentals Are Ruining Neighborhoods Like Waikiki

Thursday, January 24

Trump’s ‘Contribution’ To Global Ecology

Wednesday, January 23

Let’s Keep Hawaii Film-Friendly

Tuesday, January 22

Mainland Critics Overreact To Ed Case’s Goofy Comment

Sunday, January 20

Tom Yamachika: DOE’s Repair Backlog Is How Much Again?

Friday, January 18

Legislators Must Bypass State Agency With Hemp Plan

Thursday, January 17

6 Ways To Reform Hawaii’s Government

Wednesday, January 16

Condo Owners May Not Know They Have New Power

Tuesday, January 15

A New Plan To Help Our Keiki And Hawaii’s Future

Monday, January 14

Why Is Tulsi Gabbard Attacking Mazie Hirono?

Sunday, January 13

Tom Yamachika: We Can’t Afford Not To Try Zero-Based Budgeting

Friday, January 11

Hawaii Must Sustain Its Technology Momentum

Thursday, January 10

Our Small State Has Big Ambitions When It Comes To Climate Change

Thirty Meter Telescope Will Help Prepare Hawaii’s Students

Wednesday, January 9

A Blueprint For Fixing Public Education

Tuesday, January 8

Why I Left Hawaii For Texas

Monday, January 7

How To Drive With Aloha

Sunday, January 6

Tom Yamachika: Did State Agencies Meet Their Goals This Year?

Friday, January 4

Don’t Mess With Renewable Energy Tax Credits

Thursday, January 3

Reducing The Carbon Footprint Of Producing Medical Cannabis

Chad Blair: Tulsi Gabbard’s Unlikely Path To The Presidency

Wednesday, January 2

Hawaii’s Growing Latino Population