Civil Beat Categories

Community Voice

Our Keiki Also Need A $17 Minimum Wage Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Our Keiki Also Need A $17 Minimum Wage

It’s no surprise why so many high school seniors elect to leave Hawaii after school.

It’s Time To Close The Gender Pay Gap In The Workplace PF Bentley/Civil Beat

It’s Time To Close The Gender Pay Gap In The Workplace

Being paid and treated as equals is good for the bottom line in Hawaii but also for all people in America.

Tom Yamachika: Do You Buy Fuel? Then Be Very Afraid! Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Tom Yamachika: Do You Buy Fuel? Then Be Very Afraid!

Hawaii lawmakers are proposing a carbon tax to replace the barrel tax.

Keeping Sustainable Seafood On Hawaii’s Tables Courtesy: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Keeping Sustainable Seafood On Hawaii’s Tables

Elected officials and managers need to respect and maintain fisheries management and ocean conservation.

The Haiku Stairs Are Worth Saving Flickr

The Haiku Stairs Are Worth Saving

It is a historical treasure that is famous around the world.

Why Are Hawaii’s Lawmakers So Scared Of Hemp? Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Why Are Hawaii’s Lawmakers So Scared Of Hemp?

As other states establish flourishing industrial hemp programs, we continue to lag far behind.

We Need Better Renewable Energy Siting Guidelines Cory Lum/Civil Beat

We Need Better Renewable Energy Siting Guidelines

Poorly planned green energy projects can tear Hawaii communities apart.

Tom Yamachika: The ‘Flipping Surcharge’ And Other Housing Solutions Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Tom Yamachika: The ‘Flipping Surcharge’ And Other Housing Solutions

When the Hawaii Legislature is in session it’s always best to brace oneself for more tax proposals.

A Simple Proposal To Help Cyclists In Honolulu Joey Katzen

A Simple Proposal To Help Cyclists In Honolulu

Let’s fix the short link “death trap” between Waikiki and Ala Moana.

A Call For More Visionaries In Hawaii Flickr: Steven Tom

A Call For More Visionaries In Hawaii

An invitation to all members of society, especially military veterans.

Here’s An Even Better Vision For Food Sustainability Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Here’s An Even Better Vision For Food Sustainability

What are the real barriers to increasing local food production, self-sufficiency and agricultural vitality?

The Case For Dissolving HART Cory Lum/Civil Beat

The Case For Dissolving HART

Let’s cut to the chase — the current setup does not allow for proper oversight of the rail project.

February 2020

Tuesday, February 25

Our Keiki Also Need A $17 Minimum Wage

Monday, February 24

It’s Time To Close The Gender Pay Gap In The Workplace

Sunday, February 23

Tom Yamachika: Do You Buy Fuel? Then Be Very Afraid!

Friday, February 21

Keeping Sustainable Seafood On Hawaii’s Tables

Thursday, February 20

The Haiku Stairs Are Worth Saving

Wednesday, February 19

Why Are Hawaii’s Lawmakers So Scared Of Hemp?

Tuesday, February 18

We Need Better Renewable Energy Siting Guidelines

Sunday, February 16

Tom Yamachika: The ‘Flipping Surcharge’ And Other Housing Solutions

Friday, February 14

A Simple Proposal To Help Cyclists In Honolulu

Thursday, February 13

A Call For More Visionaries In Hawaii

Wednesday, February 12

Here’s An Even Better Vision For Food Sustainability

Tuesday, February 11

The Case For Dissolving HART

Monday, February 10

It Is Simply Impossible To Survive On $21,000 A Year

Sunday, February 9

Tom Yamachika: The ConAm Returns

Friday, February 7

Valley Isle Leads The Way In Combating Elder Abuse

Thursday, February 6

A Proposal To Clear Up Traffic And Clean The Air

Wednesday, February 5

State Leaders: There Is Hope For Hawaii’s Housing Crisis

Tuesday, February 4

How To Challenge The School-To-Prison Pipeline

Monday, February 3

How Worried Should We Be About The Coronavirus?

Sunday, February 2

Tom Yamachika: Why Do Lawmakers Want More Special Funds?

January 2020

Friday, January 31

‘Zero Tolerance’ Essential For Keeping Hawaii’s Roads Safe

Thursday, January 30

We Need A Better Vision For Food Sustainability

Wednesday, January 29

18 Tips To Prepare For A Possible Pandemic

Tuesday, January 28

Hawaii AG Wrong To Subpoena Protest Group’s Records

Monday, January 27

Introducing The Civic Virtue And Sunshine Grade Book!

Sunday, January 26

Tom Yamachika: Why Is OHA Resisting The State Auditor?

Friday, January 24

Hawaii Road Usage Charge Penalizes Fuel Efficiency

Thursday, January 23

Patsy Mink’s Legacy Lives On, But There’s More To Be Done

Wednesday, January 22

Shady Tactics Of Gut And Replace Mar Legislative Process

Tuesday, January 21

The Severe Doctor Shortage On The Big Island

Sunday, January 19

Tom Yamachika: Don’t Be Duped Into Paying Double Taxes

Friday, January 17

Reforming Inefficiencies Begins With Government Employees

Thursday, January 16

Hawaii County Leading The Way On Climate Change

Wednesday, January 15

Helping Protect Wildlife At The Honolulu Zoo Helps Everyone

Tuesday, January 14

20 Reasons To Be Hopeful At The 2020 Legislature

Monday, January 13

Noise Pollution Is Making Our Communities Unlivable

Sunday, January 12

Tom Yamachika: What Really Is A Minimum Wage?

Friday, January 10

Low-Lying Islands At The Forefront Of Climate Change

Thursday, January 9

Why Is The City Wasting Public Money On Unwanted Projects?

Wednesday, January 8

How About A Tax Credit To Support Energy Storage?

Tuesday, January 7

Is Hawaii Prepared For China’s Rise?

Monday, January 6

Rebuilding Trust And Community In Hawaii Starts With You

Sunday, January 5

Tom Yamachika: The Reality Of Cooling Our Schools

Friday, January 3

Will New Year Bring New Tax To Online Purchases?

Thursday, January 2

The Fight For Paid Family Leave Insurance