Civil Beat Categories

Education

Hitting The Road To Stem Summer Hunger Kuʻu Kauanoe/Civil Beat

Hitting The Road To Stem Summer Hunger

On the Waianae coast, the state DOE deploys a food truck to distribute free, freshly packaged meals to kids in need.

The DOE’s Chief Financial Officer Is Leaving For UH Cory Lum/Civil Beat

The DOE’s Chief Financial Officer Is Leaving For UH

Amy Kunz’s appointment to the University of Hawaii system was tucked in a recent meeting agenda item from the UH Board of Regents.

New Pre-K Locations Announced After Expansion Bill Becomes Law Cory Lum/Civil Beat

New Pre-K Locations Announced After Expansion Bill Becomes Law

The developments come after the question of who would be in charge of pre-kindergarten expansion was a hot topic during the legislative session.

Hawaii Provided ‘Inaccurate’ Data On Student Restraint And Seclusion Civil Beat

Hawaii Provided ‘Inaccurate’ Data On Student Restraint And Seclusion

The state erroneously reported there were no such cases in 2015-16, the latest school year studied nationwide. Last school year, 66 Hawaii schools reported at least one restraint case.

Hawaii Teachers Pose Questions At NEA Presidential Forum Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Teachers Pose Questions At NEA Presidential Forum

Two local teachers saw their questions selected from among about 1,800 submitted in advance for some of the top contenders for the Democratic presidential nomination.

DOE Assistant Superintendent For Facilities Stepping Down Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Assistant Superintendent For Facilities Stepping Down

Dann Carlson is leaving the Education Department to become 154th Wing Commander with the Hawaii Air National Guard.

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree Stewart Yerton/Civil Beat

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree

A newly updated website produced by the University of Hawaii Community Colleges helps students figure out what type of work provides the best long-term employment prospects.

DOE Required To Collect More Teacher Data Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Required To Collect More Teacher Data

A recently signed law includes more specifics on what the Hawaii DOE must report in order in order to help narrow the teacher retention gap.

These Teachers Want To Make School ‘Cool To Talk About’ Courtesy Lia-Lucine Cary via Maestro Vibes

These Teachers Want To Make School ‘Cool To Talk About’

Three Big Island teachers are producing a podcast, “Maestros Vibe,” that covers a range of topics from teacher shortages to the school-to-prison pipeline.

New Law Will Cover All Teachers’ License Fees Cory Lum/Civil Beat

New Law Will Cover All Teachers’ License Fees

Act 116 provides $1.3 million in annual funding to the Hawaii Teacher Standards Board, the licensing entity for Hawaii educators.

Here’s Why Student Absenteeism Is Plummeting At Waipahu Elementary Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Here’s Why Student Absenteeism Is Plummeting At Waipahu Elementary

The school pursues some simple strategies for getting kids to school: home visits, phones calls to parents, emergency supplies of clean clothes and rewards like extra recess.

Fewer Bus Rides For Low-Income Kids? Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Fewer Bus Rides For Low-Income Kids?

DOE officials said the departments needs to cut eligibility because the expansion of a federal free meal service to low-income students “inadvertently” made made free bus rides more widely available.

July 2019

Wednesday, July 17

Hitting The Road To Stem Summer Hunger

Friday, July 12

New Pre-K Locations Announced After Expansion Bill Becomes Law

Monday, July 8

Hawaii Provided ‘Inaccurate’ Data On Student Restraint And Seclusion

Tuesday, July 2

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree

June 2019

Friday, June 28

These Teachers Want To Make School ‘Cool To Talk About’

Friday, June 21

Here’s Why Student Absenteeism Is Plummeting At Waipahu Elementary

Friday, June 14

ACLU Says Hawaii Schools Are Suspending Too Many Students

Tuesday, June 11

Push To Increase College Financial Aid Applications May Be Paying Off

May 2019

Friday, May 31

The Challenges Of Finding Hawaii’s Next Generation Of Teachers

Thursday, May 30

Teachers Who Stay In Hawaii Find Ways To Close The Culture Gap

Wednesday, May 29

Housing Costs Put A Crimp On Keeping Teachers In Hawaii

Tuesday, May 28

Homegrown Teachers Are The Norm At Molokai High

Where Hawaii’s Chronic Teacher Shortage Hits Hardest

Friday, May 24

Hawaii School Superintendent Gets High Marks In Year 2

Wednesday, May 15

UH Wants To Cut Tuition For Some Grad Students — Especially Out-Of-Staters

Tuesday, May 14

Nonprofit Group Says DOE Is Withholding Key Financial Data

Thursday, May 2

Bill To Expand Public Preschool Teed Up For Full Senate Vote

More Fiscal Transparency Appears On The Way For Charter Schools

Wednesday, May 1

Partnership Aims To Help Hawaii Teachers Buy Homes

Bill To Expand Public Preschool Teed Up For Full Senate Vote

April 2019

Tuesday, April 23

Multilingual Report Cards May Be Coming Soon To Hawaii Schools

Monday, April 22

Charter Schools Have By Far The Highest Rates Of Unvaccinated Kids

Wednesday, April 17

DOE Lays Out A 10-year ‘Road Map’ For Fixing Old Schools, Building New Ones

Tuesday, April 9

State Initiates Audit Of School Impact Fees On Developers

Monday, April 8

Stop Anti-Vaxxers From Putting Hawaii Kids At Risk

Friday, April 5

Ige Appoints Kamehameha Schools Official To Board of Education

Following Lawsuit, DOE Revives Its Gender Equity Committee

UH Loses Bid To Expand Scholarship Program To 4-Year Campuses

Monday, April 1

Charter School Clampdown Has Educators Worried About Their Independence

March 2019

Thursday, March 28

Push To Increase Spending On Schools Loses Momentum

Thursday, March 21

Sterling Higa: When Everyone Has College Degrees, They’ll Be Worthless

Tuesday, March 19

The Battle Over Preschool Puts Hawaii Governor On The Hot Seat

Wednesday, March 13

School Chief Chooses Some Of The People Helping To Evaluate Her

Wednesday, March 6

Who Should Run Hawaii’s Pre-K Program?

February 2019

Thursday, February 28

‘It’s More Than Pay’: The Plight Of UH Grad Assistants

How Many Kids In Hawaii Have Been Vaccinated? The State Doesn’t Know

Tuesday, February 26

Rural Schools Take A Big Hit In Hawaii’s Funding Formula

Friday, February 15

Overdue Report Holds Up Hawaii Plan To Prevent Gender Discrimination

Wednesday, February 6

These Waipahu Students Got A Head Start On Health Care Job Training

Tuesday, February 5

Civil Beat Sues To Get Teacher Misconduct Records

January 2019

Thursday, January 31

Here’s How Public Preschools Could Rapidly Expand In Hawaii

Tuesday, January 29

Why Hawaii Student Journalists Feel The Need To Censor Themselves

Monday, January 28

University Of Hawaii Proposes Tuition Reduction, Freeze

Friday, January 25

Hawaii’s Never-Ending Teacher Shortage Leaves Many Lawmakers Frustrated

Thursday, January 17

Hawaii School Superintendent’s Contract Extended For One Year

Wednesday, January 16

Education Officials Are Keeping Teacher Misconduct A Secret

Friday, January 11

School Board To Revote On Superintendent’s Contract — This Time Publicly

Tuesday, January 8

Hawaii’s Schools Chief Could Get One-Year Contract Extension