Civil Beat Categories

Education

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal Cory Lum/Civil Beat

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal

Hawaii State Teachers Association warns that proposed cuts could mean a loss of 1,000 teacher positions.

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns

Latest figures show Hawaii’s public schools lost 1,023 more students in the first quarter as overall enrollment plunged nearly 3% compared with last year.

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon Courtesy: Hawaii Department of Education

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon

Should parents be forced to send their children back to school even when they feel it is unsafe? At least one Hawaii public school is saying yes.

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’

Principals on the mainland have adopted their framework for a weekly online discussion stemming from the pandemic.

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’

School leaders are preparing contingency plans due to huge funding shortfalls brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January

In a briefing with legislators, school leaders said they were also encouraged by the low rate of teacher vacancies during the pandemic.

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy

Improved civil rights protections for students, a renewed national focus on schools and the next secretary of education are top of mind.

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies

The Hawaii Department of Education’s internal review of the remote learning tool found the inappropriate content in lessons to be “severe, pervasive and persistent.”

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

Audio diaries from nine Oahu teenagers reveal how Generation Z was uniquely prepared to weather disruptions from the pandemic.

December 2014

Tuesday, December 30

Audit Faults University of Hawaii’s Use of Certain Funding Sources

Monday, December 29

Kim Coco: DOE Must Expand Local Control; Athletics Good Place to Start

Monday, December 22

Former Adversaries Unite in One of Two Upcoming Education Civil Cafes

Thursday, December 18

University of Hawaii Makes Its Case for More State Support

Lava Flow Illuminates What is Most Important in Classroom Instruction

Wednesday, December 10

Kim Coco: Reform Fatigue? Ige & Co. Have a Chance to Effect Real Change

November 2014

Tuesday, November 25

Carbone Speaks Out About His Resignation From UH Cancer Center

Kim Coco: Hawaii’s 4-Year-Olds Adrift in Election’s Aftermath

Friday, November 21

Michele Carbone Steps Down as Head of UH Cancer Center

UH Officials Talk Budget Woes at Civil Cafe

Wednesday, November 19

Meet the University of Hawaii’s Newest Lobbyists

Monday, November 17

UH Commits to Keeping Teaching Assistants Amid Student Protest

October 2014

Thursday, October 30

Preschool Measure: Big Spending by Just a Few Groups

Wednesday, October 29

Teachers Blast TIME Mag for Cover Portraying Them as ‘Rotten Apples’

Tuesday, October 21

Schatz Endorses Preschool Ballot Campaign

Thursday, October 16

New Report Finds “Testing Overload in America’s Schools”

Universal Preschool for Hawaii’s Keiki Is a Yes-Brainer

Parents to DOE: Why Aren’t We Being Told Sooner About Possible Child Abductions?

Wednesday, October 15

Big Bucks Going Into Preschool Ballot Initiative

An Investment in Education Is an Investment in the Future

Monday, October 13

UH Manoa Conducts First Massive Open Online Course

Common Core Isn’t Right for Students With Severe Intellectual Disabilities

Saturday, October 11

Watch: Civil Cafe Education Talks in Manoa, Ewa Beach

Wednesday, October 8

Pahoa Charter School’s Fate Uncertain as Kilauea Lava Advances Toward Campus

Tuesday, October 7

Teachers Union Axed Preschool Ballot Campaign to Avoid Breaking Hawaii Law

Monday, October 6

Former Judge Among New Picks for UH Board of Regents

Thursday, October 2

What Happened to the Hawaii Teachers Union Preschool Ballot Campaign?

Wednesday, October 1

Common Core Criticisms Miss the Mark

September 2014

Tuesday, September 30

Aiona, Ige Largely Like-Minded on Needed Education Reform

Monday, September 29

Study: Hawaii the 5th Worst State for Teachers

Friday, September 26

New Disclosure Law No Problem For These UH Regents Applicants

Thursday, September 25

Lava Flow Threatens Pahoa Schools

Tuesday, September 23

New Education Think Tank: Let’s Overcome Hawaii’s DOE Bureaucracy

Friday, September 19

National Campaign to End Campus Assaults Doesn’t Involve Hawaii Students

Thursday, September 18

UH Manoa Faculty Senate Censures President Lassner

Chemical Odor Sends 50 Honokaa Students, Staff to Hospital

The Children Left Behind: Kindergarten Age Cutoff Has Families Scrambling

Wednesday, September 17

Record Number of Hawaii Public School Students Get AP Honors

Tuesday, September 16

Classes Off to a Hot Start in Schools Without Air Conditioning

Monday, September 15

Should Public Money Be Used for Private Preschools?

Friday, September 12

USDOE Grants $20M for Native Hawaiian Education

Tuesday, September 9

Hawaii Colleges Get So-So Scores in Newest U.S. News Rankings

August 2014

Monday, August 25

Hawaii Schools: Better Attendance Rates But Worse Test Scores

Gov. Abercrombie Releases $39M for UH Facilities Upgrades

Money 101: The State of Fiscal Affairs at the University of Hawaii at Manoa

Tuesday, August 19

Hawaii DOE Proposes Cutting $9.2M from Special Education

Hawaii School Board Members Unhappy With Changes to Teacher Evaluations

DOE Spent $26M on New Common Core Materials

Friday, August 15

DOE Outsources Teacher Mentoring for $3.5 Million

Wednesday, August 13

Teaching Force Becoming Less Stable, More Female, National Study Finds

Thursday, August 7

UH Closes All Campuses in Anticipation of Storm

Friday, August 1

Fired UH Chancellor Says Cancer Center Politics Sparked His Termination

July 2014

Thursday, July 31

Water Complications Close 4 Kauai Schools on First Day of Classes

Students, Faculty Slam UH President for Firing Apple

Four UH Regents File New Financial Disclosure Reports

Wednesday, July 30

It’s Official: Tom Apple Is Out as UH Manoa Chancellor

Monday, July 28

Tom Apple’s Ouster: Rumor or Retaliation?

What’s the Story Behind Tom Apple’s Ouster as UH Chancellor?

Friday, July 25

Disclosures: Googling Hawaii’s Former Board Members

Tuesday, July 22

Education Improving, Poverty Worsening Among Hawaii Children

Thursday, July 10

UH Still Hard-Pressed to Address Repair and Maintenance Backlog

Monday, July 7

Is UH Doing Its Part to Combat Sexual Assaults on Campus?

Wednesday, July 2

DOE Looks to Strengthen Civics Education in Hawaii Classrooms

Tuesday, July 1

We Need to Change Directions and Make Education More Democratic

June 2014

Monday, June 30

Hawaii’s School Librarians: No Longer at a Campus Near You?

Friday, June 27

Disclosure Bill Sparks Resignation of Two UH Regents

UH Faculty Union, State Agree to New Contract

Teacher Morale Emerges as an Issue in the Governor’s Race

Thursday, June 26

U.S. Students Surpass Their Peers — in Sleepiness

Wednesday, June 25

Still No Relief for Hawaii’s Most Overheated Classrooms

Thursday, June 19

Commission Requires Leadership Overhaul at Indebted Charter School

Tuesday, June 17

State Finds Some Good News in Latest Teen Behavior Report

Thursday, June 12

DOE Announces Big Changes to Teacher Evaluation System

Student Loan Default Rampant at Some Hawaii College Campuses

Wednesday, June 11

DOE Forms Roundtable Amid Outcry from Retired Principals

Rep. Bob McDermott Says ‘Pono Choices’ Is Dead

Monday, June 9

Legislature Cancels Bonuses for Top Teachers in Struggling Schools

Friday, June 6

Major Changes Are Slated for Pono Choices Sex-Ed Program

Wednesday, June 4

School Superintendent Gets New Contract Despite Criticism

Tuesday, June 3

Regents Select Lassner as University of Hawaii President

Monday, June 2

Principals: Hawaii DOE Needs New Leaders

Improving Teacher Quality and the Definition of Insanity

May 2014

Friday, May 30

The General Is the Wrong Man for This Moment at UH

Why I Support Frank Wiercinski for UH President

Saturday, May 17

Denby Fawcett: Governor’s Preschool Effort Struggles to Get off the Ground

Thursday, May 15

Hawaii Legislature Blocks Funding for Family-Interaction Preschools

Wednesday, May 14

The Right Stuff? Retired General Vies for University of Hawaii Presidency

Lt. Gen. Wiercinski Is Not Qualified to Serve as President of UH

Saturday, May 10

Retired General Gets Better Feedback in Second Forum on Bid for UH Prez

The Projector: The Week in Pictures — May 5-11

Friday, May 9

A Blunt Student Tells BOE: Too Much Testing, Too Little Learning

Why We Took Action Against a Candidate for the Presidency of UH

Commission Rejects Most Hawaii Charter School Applicants

Thursday, May 1

Living Hawaii: Where Child Care Can Cost More Than College

April 2014

Tuesday, April 29

Contractor Suing University of Hawaii Over Campus Center Delays

Saturday, April 26

Hawaii Legislature: Procedural Mixup Dooms Key Education Measures

Friday, April 25

Why Hawaii’s Community Colleges Aren’t Broken

Wednesday, April 23

Why Do Hawaii’s Private Schools Pay Teachers Less Than Public Schools?

Saturday, April 19

Escaping Hawaii’s Community College Trap

Wednesday, April 16

Hawaii’s Top-Rated Autism Program Brings A-Game to Castle-Kahuku Schools

Saturday, April 12

Instructors Ask if Hawaii’s New Teacher Evaluation System Fails Students

Thursday, April 10

Hawaii Board of Education Chairman: ‘My Goal Is the Children’

Tuesday, April 8

Is This What a Race to the Top Feels Like?

Activists Urge Senators to Block Pastor From Another Term on Hawaii BOE

Hawaii State Salaries 2013: University Spends More on Fewer Employees

Thursday, April 3

McDermott: Gay-Friendly Tolerance Program Breaks Hawaii Ethics Code

Wednesday, April 2

Hawaii Lawmakers Mull Tempering Sharp Increase in Teaching Hours

Tuesday, April 1

Catholic Church Is Trying to Control the Conscience of a Teacher

March 2014

Friday, March 28

Senators Snip Millions More Off State Budget, Deficit Spending Looms

New Hawaii Catholic Schools Contract: Gay Teachers Can Be Fired

Wednesday, March 26

Hawaii Monitor: Charitable Impulse Won’t Make Good Law

Saturday, March 22

Hawaii’s Homeless: Kids, Parents Learn Together in Preschool Programs

Monday, March 17

Living Hawaii: Many Families Sacrifice to Put Kids in Private Schools

Wednesday, March 12

Energy Drain: Is HECO a Drag on Hawaii Schools’ Renewable Power Plan?

February 2014

Friday, February 28

Keiki Care: Revolutionary Pilot Program’s Campus Health Care Targets Teens

Tuesday, February 25

Food for Thought: Many Oahu Schools Miss Basic Food Safety Checks

Thursday, February 20

Hawaii Lawmakers Mull Clearer Rules for Schools With Uncontrollable Kids

Wednesday, February 19

School Board Approves Long-Awaited Overhaul to Hawaiian Education

Tuesday, February 18

Campaign Corner: A/C, Preschool, or Sports?

Moving the Ball: Hawaii Senator Wants Millions More for School Sports

Friday, February 14

What Will the Hawaii DOE Do With the $775K New Hope Settlement?

Thursday, February 13

What Does it Take to Run a School District?

Monday, February 10

Human-Manned Subs Are Being Phased Out — But at What Cost for Hawaii?

Thursday, February 6

Quiz Time: Will Hawaii Lawmakers Pass the Charter Schools Test?

January 2014

Friday, January 31

Life Lessons Abound in Kapunahala Elementary’s Garden

Thursday, January 30

Educators: Thousands of Hawaii Children Left Behind in Preschool Talks

Wednesday, January 29

Hawaii Monitor: Apple Takes Another Bite of Cancer Center Controversy

Friday, January 24

Problems at College-Prep in Kapolei Reveal Lack of Private School Oversight

Saturday, January 11

Not Pono: Hawaii Republicans Bash Transgender Teacher

Friday, January 10

Faculty Doesn’t Buy Into Plan to Resolve UH Cancer Center Crisis

Thursday, January 9

UH Manoa Construction Surge Expected to Cause Significant Disruption

Monday, January 6

Here Are Some Parenting Resolutions for 2014

Saturday, January 4

What Hawaii’s Legislature Has in Store for Education

Lawmakers to Look at Construction, Budget Transparency at UH

Wednesday, January 1

Hawaii: New For-Profit High School Equivalency Exam Hopes to Pass