Civil Beat Categories

Education

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal Cory Lum/Civil Beat

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal

Hawaii State Teachers Association warns that proposed cuts could mean a loss of 1,000 teacher positions.

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns

Latest figures show Hawaii’s public schools lost 1,023 more students in the first quarter as overall enrollment plunged nearly 3% compared with last year.

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon Courtesy: Hawaii Department of Education

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon

Should parents be forced to send their children back to school even when they feel it is unsafe? At least one Hawaii public school is saying yes.

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’

Principals on the mainland have adopted their framework for a weekly online discussion stemming from the pandemic.

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’

School leaders are preparing contingency plans due to huge funding shortfalls brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January

In a briefing with legislators, school leaders said they were also encouraged by the low rate of teacher vacancies during the pandemic.

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy

Improved civil rights protections for students, a renewed national focus on schools and the next secretary of education are top of mind.

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies

The Hawaii Department of Education’s internal review of the remote learning tool found the inappropriate content in lessons to be “severe, pervasive and persistent.”

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

Audio diaries from nine Oahu teenagers reveal how Generation Z was uniquely prepared to weather disruptions from the pandemic.

December 2015

Monday, December 28

University Of Hawaii Seeks A Speedier Path To Graduation

Friday, December 18

Hawaii Cited As ‘Model’ For Efforts To Apply Science To Community Issues

Tuesday, December 15

Will Ambitious Teachers Union Plan Fly? Unlikely, But It Starts The Conversation

Friday, December 11

Here’s How ‘Screen Time’ Is Changing The Way Kids Tell Stories

Thursday, December 10

U.S. Bids A Not-So-Fond Farewell To ‘No Child Left Behind’

Tuesday, December 8

Lawmakers Criticize University of Hawaii Budget, Maintenance

Tuesday, December 1

Auditor Spotlights Financial And Oversight Problems At Charter Schools

November 2015

Monday, November 30

Disagreements Over Charter School Oversight Coming To A Head

September 2015

Tuesday, September 29

Bringing Back Waianae’s Floating Classroom

Thursday, September 10

Should McKinley High Go Back To Being Called Honolulu High?

Tuesday, September 1

Hawaii Board of Education Passes Student Discipline Policy

August 2015

Monday, August 31

BOE to Consider Milder Student Discipline Policy Tuesday

Wednesday, August 26

ACT Scores Improved in Hawaii in 2015, But Are Lowest in Nation

Monday, August 24

First-Ever Head of Hawaiian Education Foresees ‘Revolutionary’ Changes

Wednesday, August 19

Hawaii Looks to Shorten School Employee Misconduct Investigations

Tuesday, August 18

Living Hawaii: Can We Un-corner Markets in Our Over-Priced State?

Thursday, August 13

Special Education Is Backsliding in Hawaii, Teachers and Advocates Say

Wednesday, August 5

Hawaii Schools Begin the Year Short on Teachers — Again

Monday, August 3

Scientists Ready for Year in Isolation Atop Mauna Loa

July 2015

Tuesday, July 28

Hawaii Has 37th-Best School System in US, Report Says

Monday, July 27

Count On It: Hawaii Schools Missing Out on Aid They’re Due for Serving Military Families

Thursday, July 23

Finding New Ways to Define Native Hawaiian Student Success

Hawaii’s Student Travel Still Up in the Air as Free Trips Debated

Wednesday, July 22

Classroom Strategy: Let Children Move Around in Class

Monday, July 20

She Fought Hawaii’s New Way of Evaluating Teachers — and Won

Wednesday, July 15

Tongan, Micronesian, Hawaiian Students Most Likely to Be Suspended

Tuesday, July 14

Hawaii Board of Education’s Push for More Transparency Inches Forward

Monday, July 13

Lance Mizumoto to Head Board of Education

Tuesday, July 7

Don Horner Stepping Down as Chair of Board of Education

June 2015

Monday, June 29

Is School Prayer Crossing a Line at Some Hawaii Charter Schools?

Tuesday, June 23

Charter School Closure Could Leave Taxpayers on the Hook for Debts

Thursday, June 18

Hawaii School Suspensions: Are They Fair? Can They Be Reduced?

Tuesday, June 16

Hawaii Public Schools Must Offer Sex Education, Board Decides

What Does it Take to Get a Traffic Light in Pahoa?

Monday, June 15

BOE to Address Sexual Health, Student Discipline on Tuesday

Wednesday, June 10

New Union Leaders Face Challenge Uniting Teachers

Tuesday, June 9

Teacher Who Sued to Block Union Election Wins Presidency

Wednesday, June 3

Lack of School Nurses in Hawaii Contributes to High Absentee Rates

Monday, June 1

UH Ready to Move Quickly on Ige’s Mauna Kea Proposals

May 2015

Friday, May 29

Hawaii Teacher’s Bid to Halt New Union Election Fails in State Court

East-West Center President to Vacate Post Next Summer

Wednesday, May 27

Teachers Union Candidate Seeks Temporary Restraining Order

Thursday, May 21

Teachers Union Candidates Say They’ll Go To Court Over Election Results

Challenger Candidates Say They Won Union Election, May File Suit

Monday, May 18

Dates Set for Third Hawaii Teachers Union Election This Year

Sunday, May 17

Teachers Union Board Votes to Throw Out Election Results

Friday, May 15

Bill Still Alive: Bullying ‘Not Something That Is Going to Go Away’

Monday, May 11

Runoff Delays Release of Teachers Union Election Results

Wednesday, May 6

Kim Coco: In Heald Closure, Echoes of Madoff, Mortgage Meltdown

Monday, May 4

Hawaii’s Preschool Open Doors Funding May Continue

April 2015

Wednesday, April 29

In Hawaii, Sex Education Is Confusing — Even for Those in Charge

Monday, April 27

Heald College Ceases Operations With One Day’s Notice

Wednesday, April 22

Student Group Hopes to Cool Schools Down

Monday, April 20

Mauna Kea Telescopes: The Business of Astronomy Is Not an Easy One

Tuesday, April 14

Denby Fawcett: Doing it Right at Waikiki Elementary School

State Likely to Pay $30K After Student Forced to Run on Treadmill Collapses

Monday, April 13

UH Student Protests Against TMT Continue

Tuesday, April 7

Where Did HSTA Stand on Resolutions to Increase Teacher Pay?

March 2015

Friday, March 27

Cyberbullying: A Virtual Menace That Takes Its Toll on College Students

Wednesday, March 25

Lawmakers Take Another Step to Restore Preschool Money

Hawaii Monitor: Ethics Commission Ruling Draws Teachers’ Union Lawsuit

Friday, March 20

Pay Hawaii Teachers More? State Study Proposed

Friday, March 13

Hawaii Educators, Legislators Discuss Need for Universal Preschool

Monday, March 2

Early Education, After-School Bills Clear Senate Committee

February 2015

Friday, February 20

No More Free Trips for Hawaii Public School Teachers

Thursday, February 19

Lawmakers Look to Preserve Subsidies for Preschoolers

Friday, February 13

Statewide Preschool Bill Passes Senate Education Committee

Committee OKs Free Early-College Tuition for Eligible High-Schoolers

Wednesday, February 11

UH Releases Its New Policy on Campus Sexual Violence

Monday, February 9

School Community Councils Allow Students a Voice in Hawaii Education

Thursday, February 5

Bill to Cut UH Programs Deferred in Face of Opposition

Wednesday, February 4

Proposal to Enlarge State Board of Education Clears Senate Committee

Tuesday, February 3

Kim Coco: Pesticides and Schools — Who Should State Protect?

January 2015

Friday, January 23

21st Century Schools Require a 21st Century Board of Education

Thursday, January 15

Debate Is Crucial to Overcome the Private-Public School Divide

Tuesday, January 13

Top Hawaii Business Execs Tapped to Find New UH Athletics Director

Sunday, January 4

Better Standards Are the First Step Toward Better Schools in Hawaii