Civil Beat Categories

Education

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal Cory Lum/Civil Beat

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal

Hawaii State Teachers Association warns that proposed cuts could mean a loss of 1,000 teacher positions.

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns

Latest figures show Hawaii’s public schools lost 1,023 more students in the first quarter as overall enrollment plunged nearly 3% compared with last year.

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon Courtesy: Hawaii Department of Education

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon

Should parents be forced to send their children back to school even when they feel it is unsafe? At least one Hawaii public school is saying yes.

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’

Principals on the mainland have adopted their framework for a weekly online discussion stemming from the pandemic.

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’

School leaders are preparing contingency plans due to huge funding shortfalls brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January

In a briefing with legislators, school leaders said they were also encouraged by the low rate of teacher vacancies during the pandemic.

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy

Improved civil rights protections for students, a renewed national focus on schools and the next secretary of education are top of mind.

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies

The Hawaii Department of Education’s internal review of the remote learning tool found the inappropriate content in lessons to be “severe, pervasive and persistent.”

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

Audio diaries from nine Oahu teenagers reveal how Generation Z was uniquely prepared to weather disruptions from the pandemic.

December 2016

Wednesday, December 28

Why Stories Matter For Children’s Learning

Tuesday, December 20

School Board Adopts Timeline In Search For Superintendent

Blueprint For Education Still Being Refined, School Board Told

Monday, December 12

Union Joins Effort To Let More People See School Board Meetings

Friday, December 9

Dole Street Called ‘A Big Slap In The Face’ For Hawaiian Students

Tuesday, December 6

Board Of Education OKs A Strategic Plan That Leaves Details To Schools

Board Of Education Discusses How To Find New Superintendent

Principals Push For A Louder Voice In Public Education Reform Efforts

November 2016

Wednesday, November 16

Hawaii Teacher: Election Shocked Them In The Classroom, Too

Tuesday, November 8

Fee Plan Along Rail Line Pits Schools Against Affordable Housing

October 2016

Monday, October 31

Hawaii Teacher: Why Teachers Won’t Miss Kathryn Matayoshi

Wednesday, October 26

Hawaii Teacher: We Can Fix Schools Without Gazing Beyond The Islands

September 2016

Friday, September 30

Hawaii Teacher: New Moms In Our Schools Deserve Maternity Leave

Thursday, September 29

BOE Member Quits; Raps Ige

Monday, September 26

Hawaii ‘Worst’ State For Teachers

Wednesday, September 21

Another Special Ed Aide Says Reporting Abuse Got Her Banned

August 2016

Tuesday, August 30

Hawaii School Aide Said He Saw Abuse, Then He Got Fired

Wednesday, August 24

Bullying Of Asian-Americans, Pacific Islanders ‘On The Rise’

Tuesday, August 16

Hawaii Charter School Commission Is Under The Microscope

July 2016

Tuesday, July 5

Rebidding Classroom AC Work

June 2016

Tuesday, June 21

Another Hot School Year Looms As Air Conditioning Initiative Delayed

Friday, June 17

State, Teachers Union Air Concerns About Charter School On Big Island

Tuesday, June 7

School Year To Bring New Policies For Hawaii’s Transgender Students

May 2016

Friday, May 27

New Director For UH Cancer Center

Thursday, May 26

How Can We Improve Hawaii Schools?

Tuesday, May 24

Hawaii’s Teachers Union Makes Early Legislative Endorsements

Thursday, May 5

Lack Of School Facilities ‘Crippling’ Many Charters

Tuesday, May 3

Advocates Ask State For Clear Policies On Transgender Students

April 2016

Thursday, April 28

Nominees To Charter School Commission Named

Tuesday, April 26

Living Hawaii: The Pipe Dream Of Teaching In Paradise Goes Global

Wednesday, April 20

1 In 8 Hawaii Middle Schoolers Say They’ve Attempted Suicide

Tuesday, April 19

Honolulu Rail Project Expected To Cost The DOE Millions For New Schools

‘A Witches’ Brew Of God Knows What’ In UH Lab’s Vent System

Friday, April 8

The Changing Face Of Sex Education In Hawaii’s Public Schools

Tuesday, April 5

Special Education Inclusion In Classrooms Called ‘Ethical Issue’

March 2016

Thursday, March 31

Senate Panel Passes Bills To Cool Classrooms, Create Sports Authority

Wednesday, March 30

Educational Assistants Play Crucial Role, But You Wouldn’t Know It By Their Paychecks

Monday, March 28

Will Hawaii’s Teacher Evaluation System Get Scrapped?

Tuesday, March 8

Hawaii’s Public Charter School Movement At A Crossroads

February 2016

Monday, February 29

Tax Increases For Education, Elderly Rejected In Hawaii Senate

Friday, February 26

Is Higher Education Less Valuable In Hawaii?

Tuesday, February 23

$100,000 Salaries Mushroom At DOE In The Last 4 Years

Thursday, February 18

UH Manoa Has Failed To Cut Energy Use. So Now What?

Wednesday, February 17

UH’s Top 25: Deans, Researchers, Professors And The Football Coach

DOE Struggles To Fill Positions That Serve Special Ed Students

Tuesday, February 16

House Higher Ed Leader Takes Aim At UH

Thursday, February 11

Hawaii’s Charter School Overseers Are Feeling ‘Under Assault’

Wednesday, February 10

Embattled Leader of Charter School Oversight Agency To Resign

Friday, February 5

Hawaii Teachers Kick Off ‘Do-Or-Die’ Campaign For Education Reform

Faculty Members Take On UH Over Claims Of Broken Promises, Retribution

Tuesday, February 2

Committee OKs Bill To Shield UH Regents From Revealing Financial Info

Living Hawaii: Can You Afford To Be A Teacher In The Islands?

January 2016

Thursday, January 28

The Heat Is On State Lawmakers To Cool Off School Classrooms

Monday, January 25

Do Parents And Teachers Really Have A Say In How Schools Run?

Falling Apart: Politics At Play With UH Maintenance Backlog?

Friday, January 22

Lucky We Live In Hawaii, Where College Can Be Affordable

Tuesday, January 19

BOE Forms Investigative Committee To Explore Charter School Oversight

Suit Alleges ‘Monstrous Sexual Abuse’ Of 26 Boys At Kamehameha Schools

Charter School Oversight Is An Increasingly Contentious Issue

Friday, January 15

CDC Secrecy Over UH Biolab Safety Failures Challenged In Court

Thursday, January 7

Are Charter Schools Funded Equitably? Lawmakers Want Clearer Numbers

Tuesday, January 5

Why Are Online Classes, Degrees Hard To Get At The University Of Hawaii?