Civil Beat Categories

Education

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal Cory Lum/Civil Beat

School Funds, Special Education Programs Face Cuts In DOE Budget Proposal

Hawaii State Teachers Association warns that proposed cuts could mean a loss of 1,000 teacher positions.

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Public Schools Keep Losing Students Amid Coronavirus Concerns

Latest figures show Hawaii’s public schools lost 1,023 more students in the first quarter as overall enrollment plunged nearly 3% compared with last year.

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon Courtesy: Hawaii Department of Education

Denby Fawcett: Parents Fear This Hawaii School Is Bringing Kids Back To Classroom Too Soon

Should parents be forced to send their children back to school even when they feel it is unsafe? At least one Hawaii public school is saying yes.

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Principals Find Communal Space: ‘We Need Each Other’

Principals on the mainland have adopted their framework for a weekly online discussion stemming from the pandemic.

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Chief: $100M Budget Reduction Could Be ‘Decimating’

School leaders are preparing contingency plans due to huge funding shortfalls brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii DOE Optimistic Students Will Return To Class In January

In a briefing with legislators, school leaders said they were also encouraged by the low rate of teacher vacancies during the pandemic.

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat

Hawaii Teachers React To How Biden Presidency Might Reshape Education Policy

Improved civil rights protections for students, a renewed national focus on schools and the next secretary of education are top of mind.

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies Cory Lum/Civil Beat

DOE Report: Acellus Online Curriculum Violated Religion, Discrimination Policies

The Hawaii Department of Education’s internal review of the remote learning tool found the inappropriate content in lessons to be “severe, pervasive and persistent.”

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

The Kids Are Alright: 2020 Through The Eyes Of Hawaii’s Teenagers

Audio diaries from nine Oahu teenagers reveal how Generation Z was uniquely prepared to weather disruptions from the pandemic.

December 2018

Friday, December 28

‘Top Secret’ Clearance Expected For UH Lab Doing Navy Research

Wednesday, December 19

Senators Put UH Finances Under A Microscope

State Education Board Plans To Lobby Legislature Directly

Tuesday, December 11

The Fight Against Flight At Hawaii’s Public Middle Schools

Monday, December 10

More Burglaries, Fewer Rapes Reported At UH Manoa

Thursday, December 6

Hawaii Public Schools Sued Over Unequal Treatment Of Female Athletes

Monday, December 3

Want To Teach In Hawaii? The Job Often Comes With A Big Pay Cut

November 2018

Friday, November 30

Lawsuit Claims State Denies Critical Therapy For Kids With Autism

Wednesday, November 28

Hawaii Aims To Quicken The Pace Of School Repairs

Thursday, November 15

UH Regents Approve New Leadership Organization

Hawaii’s Teacher Shortage Is Getting Worse

Tuesday, November 13

Protections For Transgender Kids Still Spotty Inside Schools

Thursday, November 8

For Four Generations, Teaching Has Been ‘The Family Business’

Friday, November 2

Report: DOE Has Mostly Fixed Flaws In Its Bus Transportation System

October 2018

Monday, October 29

Why The Effort To Curb School Bullying In Hawaii Isn’t Working

A Maui Mother Recounts Her Daughter’s Struggle With Bullying

Monday, October 22

With ConAm Invalidated, Supporters And Opponents Ponder Next Moves

Friday, October 19

Court Strikes Down Education Tax Ballot Measure

Thursday, October 18

UH Students And Staff Will Pay For $35 Million In Parking Garage Repairs

Supreme Court Hears Challenge To ConAm Ballot Measure But Defers Ruling

Monday, October 8

Danny De Gracia: Want To Pay Teachers More? Let Private Donors Pitch In

Sunday, October 7

Ex-Kamehameha Schools Teacher Convicted Of Filming Students In Showers

Thursday, October 4

Supreme Court Agrees To Consider Challenge Of Constitutional Amendment

VIDEO: #HawaiiStorytellers Why I Teach

Hawaii DOE Wants To Classify Bullying At Highest Offense Level

Monday, October 1

Chamber Of Commerce Pours $600K Into Fighting School-Funding Measure

September 2018

Thursday, September 27

‘Chaos At Kamalani’: Why It’s So Hard To Run A Charter School

Wednesday, September 26

Counties Ask Supreme Court To Invalidate Ballot Measure For School Funds

In Hawaii, People Like Trump Better Than They Like The Legislature

Monday, September 24

‘Tragic’ Findings For Hawaii’s Transgender Youth In New State Report

This Ballot Measure Is Sparking Intense Debate Over Hawaii’s Schools

Tuesday, September 18

DOE Proposes Increases For Executive-Level Salaries

Monday, September 17

UH Wants $600 Million In 2019 To Modernize Its Crumbling Campuses

Friday, September 14

St. Francis Medical Center Tries To Stop $80M Settlement For Abuse Victims

Department Of Education Settles Bullying Lawsuit for $10,000

Wednesday, September 12

Federal Money Is Running Out For Charter Schools’ Pre-K Programs

Friday, September 7

Judge: Property Tax Measure For Schools Can Stay On Ballot

Thursday, September 6

Board of Education To Wait On Approving New Student Discipline Code

Hawaii DOE Looks To Strengthen Its Student Discipline Code

August 2018

Friday, August 31

Hawaii Turns To Military In Search For More Teachers

Lawsuit Slams DOE For ‘Grossly Inadequate’ Anti-Bullying Policies

Rape Reports Spike On The UH Manoa Campus

Wednesday, August 29

Hawaii Counties Ask Court To Block School Property Tax Measure

Monday, August 27

Honolulu Lawsuit Aims To Stop Proposed Ballot Measure On Education Funding

Friday, August 17

UH Projects A $28 Million Deficit In A Billion-Dollar Budget

Tuesday, August 14

Crossing America In The Hunt For New Teachers

Monday, August 6

Why College Now Starts In High School For So Many Hawaii Kids

Friday, August 3

A Tough First Year Comes To An End For This Innovative Oahu Charter School

July 2018

Tuesday, July 31

Hawaii Teacher: Hey Parents — It’s A New School Year For You, Too

Thursday, July 19

The Painful Demise Of A Big Island Charter School

Tuesday, July 10

Teachers Channel Frustrations Into Political Campaigns

Monday, July 9

State Revokes Charter Of Big Island School

Thursday, July 5

How Hawaii Is Trying To ‘Grow Our Own’ Pipeline of New Teachers

Tuesday, July 3

Charter School Principal Calls It Quits After A Year

June 2018

Wednesday, June 27

On Campus: Here’s What Happens When Kids Do The Podcast

Thursday, June 14

Hawaii Will Pay $10.25 Million To Settle Special Education Lawsuit

Wednesday, June 13

The Crusade To Keep Hawaii Kids Fed This Summer

Tuesday, June 12

Vog From Kilauea Increases The Need For Classroom Air Conditioning

Thursday, June 7

Eruption Threatens Future Of Some Big Island Charter Schools

Tuesday, June 5

A Gathering Of Exceptional Students Where Grades Take A Back Seat

Monday, June 4

Innovation Pays Off For These Hawaii Schools

May 2018

Thursday, May 31

Hawaii Teacher: From Yoga To Drama, Community Partners Enrich Schools

Tuesday, May 29

This Unique Maui School Encourages ‘Wild Ideas’ Through The Arts

Monday, May 28

On Campus: A Culture of Collaboration

Friday, May 25

Study: Hawaii Lacks Sufficient High-Quality Child Care

Monday, May 14

School Board: Schools ‘Heading In The Right Direction’ Under New Leader

Thursday, May 10

On Campus: Redefining Success

This Marshallese Tutor Is A ‘Connection To Home’ For Students

An Arkansas School District Goes All-In Welcoming Marshallese Students

Wednesday, May 9

How Hawaii Schools Are Building Bridges To Micronesian Students

Thursday, May 3

Hawaii Teacher: Here’s Why Arts Education Is Worth Fighting For

Wednesday, May 2

Legislature Approves Bill To Protect Against Sex-Based Discrimination

April 2018

Monday, April 30

Students Create Visions Of Their Communities With Murals

Friday, April 27

Feds: Native Hawaiian, Pacific Islander Kids Suspended Far More Often

Monday, April 23

Voters Will Decide Whether To Hike Property Taxes To Fund Schools

Thursday, April 19

Study: Few Hawaii Students Have Access To After-School Meals

Wednesday, April 18

Are Hawaii Schools Doing Enough To Address Bullying?

Monday, April 16

Taro Patches Are Classrooms For These Nanakuli Students

Hawaii Teacher: How Jobs At Public And Private Schools Compare

Tuesday, April 10

Hawaii Teachers Think Your Kids Are Taking Way Too Many Tests

Monday, April 9

Ige’s Pick To Lead School Board Has An Unusual Background: Education

Wednesday, April 4

Bill Calls For Hawaii To Protect Students Who Allege Harassment

March 2018

Thursday, March 29

College Would Get A Lot More Affordable Under This New Schatz Proposal

Tuesday, March 27

On Campus: A Teacher’s Journey

Thursday, March 22

Hawaiian Sovereignty Protest Gets Hana Student Suspended

Wednesday, March 21

The NRA Is Giving Hawaii Schools A Lot Of Money

Tuesday, March 20

DOE Official Slapped With Ethics Fine Is Reassigned

Friday, March 16

Hawaii Teacher: The Walkout As A Teachable Moment

Thursday, March 15

Hawaii Teacher: When Students Go Home We Go To Our Second Jobs

Feds Say UH Manoa Overcharged Disabled Dorm Residents

Wednesday, March 14

Hawaii Students Join Walkouts In Wake Of School Shootings

Tuesday, March 13

ACLU Says State Has No Plan To Address Gender Equity Issues

Students Find Their Voice In Preparing For Wednesday Walkouts

Tuesday, March 6

Feds Say Hawaii Falls Short In Dealing With School Bullying

Friday, March 2

Feds: UH Manoa Violated Rules In Handling Sexual Harassment Cases

February 2018

Friday, February 23

Hawaii Schools Chief: Threats Against Schools ‘Aren’t Taken Lightly’

Hawaii Teacher: Can ‘Social Emotional Learning’ Help Deter Violence?

Thursday, February 22

‘We Are So Far Behind’: Hawaii Legislators Look To Make Schools Safer

Friday, February 16

Victims Say $80M Kamehameha Schools Settlement Not Just About Money

Lockdown Lifted At Kapolei Middle School After Threat

Wednesday, February 14

Hawaii Teacher: Union Might Want To Rethink Its Annual Pep Rally

Tuesday, February 13

ACLU Demands Equal Treatment For Female Athletes In Hawaii Schools

Friday, February 9

Hawaii Teacher: Long-Timers’ Surprising Reasons For Staying On The Job

Hawaii Schools Can’t Seem To Give Breakfast Away

Wednesday, February 7

Female Athletes Get The Short End Of The Stick At Some Hawaii High Schools

January 2018

Tuesday, January 30

Charter Schools And Special Ed Will Be In The Legislative Spotlight

Thursday, January 25

DOE Official Fined For Using State Resources On Her Doctoral Work

Tuesday, January 23

Hawaii Education Plan Gets A Green Light From The Feds

Friday, January 19

Hawaii Teacher: Reminding My Students South Korea Has It Much Worse

Thursday, January 18

What If A Missile Scare Happened On A School Day?

Friday, January 12

On Campus: Temperature Check

Monday, January 8

How Safe Do UH Students Feel? New Survey Gauges Their Views

Tuesday, January 2

An Inside Look At Ige’s Request For Millions More In Education Spending