Civil Beat Categories

Education

Incoming Hawaii Teachers Union Chief Offers Changes In Style Not Substance Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Incoming Hawaii Teachers Union Chief Offers Changes In Style Not Substance

HSTA Vice President Osa Tui Jr., registrar at McKinley High, will take the helm of the union in July.

How One Hawaii Foundation Is Helping Build A Local Tutor Pipeline For Schools Cory Lum/Civil Beat

How One Hawaii Foundation Is Helping Build A Local Tutor Pipeline For Schools

A disrupted academic year has caused many high school students to fall behind. A new partnership will connect them to local college students to help them catch up.

University Of Hawaii Officials Push Back Against Proposed Budget Cuts Cory Lum/Civil Beat

University Of Hawaii Officials Push Back Against Proposed Budget Cuts

The system could still see about $90 million in federal relief funds, half of which must be distributed as grants to students.

Hawaii To Launch School-Based COVID-19 Vaccination Clinics Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii To Launch School-Based COVID-19 Vaccination Clinics

The clinics, which are seen as a key step toward fully reopening campuses, will begin Thursday at Waipahu High School.

Many Hawaii High Schools Plan In-Person Graduation Ceremonies Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Many Hawaii High Schools Plan In-Person Graduation Ceremonies

Schools’ graduation plans this month reflect an easing of in-person restrictions compared with last May during the onset of the pandemic.

Kamehameha Schools Is Struggling To Replace An Outgoing Trustee Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Kamehameha Schools Is Struggling To Replace An Outgoing Trustee

The process for selecting a replacement for Micah Kane, who serves on the board of one of the wealthiest and most powerful organizations in Hawaii, is raising questions.

Head Of Hawaii’s Teachers’ Union Is Vying To Be Interim Superintendent Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Head Of Hawaii’s Teachers’ Union Is Vying To Be Interim Superintendent

The application window for an interim deputy superintendent role officially closes Friday at 11:59 pm.

Hawaii Legislators Dole Out COVID-19 Relief Funds To Improve Public Schools Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Legislators Dole Out COVID-19 Relief Funds To Improve Public Schools

The infusion of roughly $557 million in federal relief funds helped the state avert furloughs and try to offset the impacts of the pandemic on students’ academic progress.

Who Should Lead Hawaii Schools? State Lawmakers Have Some Ideas Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Who Should Lead Hawaii Schools? State Lawmakers Have Some Ideas

A bill passed this week would establish new minimum qualifications for the school superintendent, drawing criticism of legislative overreach.

May 2021

Wednesday, May 12

Incoming Hawaii Teachers Union Chief Offers Changes In Style Not Substance

Monday, May 10

How One Hawaii Foundation Is Helping Build A Local Tutor Pipeline For Schools

Thursday, May 6

University Of Hawaii Officials Push Back Against Proposed Budget Cuts

Sunday, May 2

Kamehameha Schools Is Struggling To Replace An Outgoing Trustee

April 2021

Friday, April 30

Head Of Hawaii’s Teachers’ Union Is Vying To Be Interim Superintendent

Thursday, April 29

Hawaii Legislators Dole Out COVID-19 Relief Funds To Improve Public Schools

Who Should Lead Hawaii Schools? State Lawmakers Have Some Ideas

Sunday, April 18

‘We Keep Trying’: Hawaii Sees Spike In School Absenteeism Due To The Pandemic

Thursday, April 15

Hawaii Board of Education Approves Pay Boosts For Complex Area Leaders

Wednesday, April 14

Hawaii’s Search For A New School Superintendent Could Take Nearly A Year

Monday, April 12

Summer Program Will Give Kindergarteners A Crash Course In Attending School

Monday, April 5

Hawaii Parents Say ‘So Far, So Good’ As Schools Push Toward Full Reopening

March 2021

Tuesday, March 30

Hawaii’s Private Schools See Enrollment Drop More Than 20% For Preschoolers

Wednesday, March 24

University Of Hawaii Report Finds ‘Discriminatory Policing’ In Honolulu Schools

Tuesday, March 23

Did Unions’ Lack of Support Spell Trouble for School Superintendent?

Monday, March 15

DOE Doesn’t Expect Schools To Fully Reopen Until Next Year

How One Private School Is Trying To Help Public Schools Catch Up

Wednesday, March 10

From The Philippines To Lanai: State Hopes New Teaching Recruits Will Fill A Gap

Tuesday, March 9

Hawaii Schools Superintendent To Step Down After Her Contract Expires In July

Wednesday, March 3

Hawaii Aims To Reopen Elementary Schools After Spring Break

Monday, March 1

Hawaii Preschools See Declines In Enrollment And Available Seats

February 2021

Thursday, February 25

Hawaii Gives Green Light To Limited In-Person Graduation Ceremonies

Tuesday, February 23

This Private School Will Soon Begin Doing COVID-19 Tests On Campus

Monday, February 22

Hawaii Always Had A Hard Time Recruiting Teachers. The Pandemic Made It Harder

Sunday, February 21

The Civil Beat Editorial Board Interview: DOE Superintendent Christina Kishimoto

Wednesday, February 17

DOE Superintendent Says Better Spacing Guidance Is Needed For School Reopenings

A DOE Bid To End Teacher Salary Incentives Is Getting Pushback

Friday, February 12

Teacher Vaccinations, New CDC Guidance Boost Hopes For Reopening Schools

How Hawaii Schools Are Teaching Kindness And Empathy In A Volatile World

Sunday, February 7

COVID-19 Was ‘The Last Straw’ For Hawaii’s Oldest Catholic School

Tuesday, February 2

First Semester DOE Data Shows Graduation Rate On Downward Slope

Monday, February 1

Hawaii Public Schools To Get $56M in Title I Funds This Year

January 2021

Tuesday, January 26

CDC Supports Reopening Schools. Hawaii Officials Say Not Yet

Thursday, January 21

Hawaii DOE Welcomes Smaller Budget Cuts But Uncertainty Remains

Wednesday, January 20

DOE To Present Grim Staffing Plan But Says Teacher Layoffs Are A ‘Last Resort’

Thursday, January 14

Teacher Training Initiative Takes Shape Under COVID-19 Federal Grant

Wednesday, January 13

Lee Cataluna: How One Company Is Going The Extra Mile To Help Its Working Parents

The DOE Plans To Use Private Tutors To Help Struggling Students Catch Up

Tuesday, January 12

Teachers Shift Lessons to Focus on US Capitol Attack