Civil Beat Categories

Environment

PODCAST: Lessons from Hawaii’s Successful Battle With The Avocado Lace Bug Kuʻu Kauanoe/Civil Beat/2021

PODCAST: Lessons from Hawaii’s Successful Battle With The Avocado Lace Bug

When the invasive avocado pest was first spotted in Hawaii, farmers were worried. But collaboration provided a path forward, and can help combat other threats.

Navy Investigating Fuel Leak At Red Hill Courtesy U.S. Navy

Navy Investigating Fuel Leak At Red Hill

This comes as the Navy has been working to get approval from the Environmental Protection Agency and Hawaii Department of Health to upgrade the facility’s World War II-era tanks.

Will Hawaii’s Spinner Dolphins Finally Get A Rest From The Crowds? Courtesy: NOAA

Will Hawaii’s Spinner Dolphins Finally Get A Rest From The Crowds?

NOAA officials said they hope to finally issue a new rule this summer that bars anyone from approaching within 50 yards of the dolphins.

NOAA Keeps Deploying Fishery Observers But With Limits Amid Pandemic

NOAA Keeps Deploying Fishery Observers But With Limits Amid Pandemic

The NOAA Fisheries Pacific Islands Regional Office maintained full observer coverage of swordfish but had to temporarily cease observer coverage in American Samoa.

Maui Is No Longer Safe For Hawaii’s Endangered Birds, Biologists Say Courtesy: Bret Nainoa Mossman/MFBRP

Maui Is No Longer Safe For Hawaii’s Endangered Birds, Biologists Say

New refuges are sought as scientists battle disease-carrying mosquitoes in the face of a changing climate.

With Its New Climate Plan, The City Aims To Curb Oahu’s Growing Carbon Pollution Marcel Honore/Civil Beat

With Its New Climate Plan, The City Aims To Curb Oahu’s Growing Carbon Pollution

UPDATED: Transportation sources are the main culprit driving more greenhouse gas emissions on Oahu in recent years, the new plan states.

Lehua Island Is Finally Free Of Rats, Scoring A Big Win For Native Seabirds Island Conservation

Lehua Island Is Finally Free Of Rats, Scoring A Big Win For Native Seabirds

Officials continue to monitor closely for any sign of the rats, as just one pregnant female could swiftly repopulate the island.

How Scientists Are Pivoting In Their Quest To Save Hawaii’s Crows Courtesy: San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance

How Scientists Are Pivoting In Their Quest To Save Hawaii’s Crows

Conservationists are looking to Maui as a possible short-term solution for reestablishing alala in the wild.

Coast Guard Cutter Returns To Honolulu After 82-Day Fishery Patrol U.S. Coast Guard

Coast Guard Cutter Returns To Honolulu After 82-Day Fishery Patrol

The deployment was part of a push for more aggressive fisheries enforcement as tensions rise between the U.S. and China.

June 2021

Monday, June 21

Power Struggle: A Major Source Of Air Pollution On Oahu Is Also Keeping The Lights On

Monday, June 14

Why The Pandemic Made It Harder To Protect Birds From Hawaii’s Feral Cats

Thursday, June 10

Experts Forecast A Destructive Wildfire Season In Hawaii This Year

Wednesday, June 9

Scientists Are Running Out Of Time To Save This Critically Endangered Kauai Bird

Tuesday, June 8

Hawaii Marks World Oceans Day With 9 New Laws To Protect Sharks And Marine Life

Wednesday, June 2

An Explosion Of Green Parakeets Is Causing Big Problems On Kauai

May 2021

Tuesday, May 18

‘The Situation Is Critical’: Saving This Maui Beach Won’t Be Easy Or Cheap

Monday, May 17

Big Island Aquaculture Gets Boost With Big Grant

Friday, May 14

PODCAST: Lessons from Hawaii’s Successful Battle With The Avocado Lace Bug

Friday, May 7

Navy Investigating Fuel Leak At Red Hill

Monday, May 3

Will Hawaii’s Spinner Dolphins Finally Get A Rest From The Crowds?

April 2021

Tuesday, April 27

NOAA Keeps Deploying Fishery Observers But With Limits Amid Pandemic

Maui Is No Longer Safe For Hawaii’s Endangered Birds, Biologists Say

Friday, April 23

With Its New Climate Plan, The City Aims To Curb Oahu’s Growing Carbon Pollution

Wednesday, April 21

Lehua Island Is Finally Free Of Rats, Scoring A Big Win For Native Seabirds

Friday, April 16

How Scientists Are Pivoting In Their Quest To Save Hawaii’s Crows

Sunday, April 4

Want To Combat Climate Change? Feed Seaweed To Cows

Thursday, April 1

Kahuku Wind Farm Case Goes Before Hawaii Supreme Court

Leonardo DiCaprio Lends Support To Hawaii Bill Protecting Sharks

Biden Plan To Conserve More Ocean Habitat Worries Hawaii Fishing Interests

March 2021

Friday, March 19

Big Island Scales Back Plans For Recycled Water

Wednesday, March 10

Brian Schatz: ‘Native Wisdom’ Needs To Be Part Of US Climate Policy

Monday, March 1

The Fish We Eat Are Eating Plastic. That’s Not A Good Thing

February 2021

Friday, February 19

Could Hawaii’s Fossil Fuel-Powered Cars Soon Be A Relic Of The Past?

Thursday, February 18

Proposal To Protect Pacific Corals Exempts Military Training Areas

Monday, February 15

Condo Complex’s Plan To Uproot Trees Has Residents Worried About Kaneohe Bay

Tuesday, February 9

Feds Consider Paintballs And Sponge Grenades To Thwart Endangered Monk Seals

January 2021

Friday, January 29

This UH Researcher Is Studying An Unusual Invasive Species — Figs

Thursday, January 28

Kauai Is Moving Forward On One Of The Nation’s Most Advanced Energy Projects

Monday, January 25

Molokai’s Fabled Axis Deer Are Starving To Death In Droves

Monday, January 18

EPA: Hawaii’s Military Bases Dumped 630,000 Pounds Of Toxic Nitrate Into The Ocean

Thursday, January 14

New Boulder Barriers Aim To Protect Monk Seals From Illegal Off-Roading

Thursday, January 7

Monk Seal Killings On Kauai Highlight Human Threat To Endangered Species

Monday, January 4

How Hawaii Scientists Are Keeping Their Research Alive During The Pandemic