Civil Beat Categories

Politics

The Two-Party System Is Here To Stay Getty Images/iStockphoto

The Two-Party System Is Here To Stay

Despite the fact that only 38% of Americans say they think the Democratic and Republican parties are doing an adequate job, they’re unlikely to disappear.

Biden Gets Backing Of Dozens Of Well-Known Hawaii Democrats Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Biden Gets Backing Of Dozens Of Well-Known Hawaii Democrats

They include the House speaker and Senate president as deadlines for the party-run presidential primary near.

Ige, Green Smooth Over Differences On COVID-19 Response Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Ige, Green Smooth Over Differences On COVID-19 Response

Hawaii’s lieutenant governor said he and the governor talked about working more closely together on the coronavirus crisis.

A $2 Trillion Coronavirus Deal Will Pump Billions Into Hawaii Economy Nick Grube/Civil Beat

A $2 Trillion Coronavirus Deal Will Pump Billions Into Hawaii Economy

Expanded unemployment benefits, direct payments and business loans meant to incentivize companies to keep workers employed are all part of the largest stimulus in U.S. history.

Mazie Hirono Has Some Virus Advice For Cancer Survivors Like Herself Nick Grube/Civil Beat

Mazie Hirono Has Some Virus Advice For Cancer Survivors Like Herself

The 72-year-old U.S. senator says she’s changed her own habits to protect herself and the community during the coronavirus pandemic.

Hawaii Lt. Gov. Josh Green Banned From State’s Virus Response Effort Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Lt. Gov. Josh Green Banned From State’s Virus Response Effort

Updated: After recently naming him as the state’s liaison, Gov. David Ige has now essentially fired Green, a medical doctor, from participating in the coronavirus effort.

Tulsi Gabbard Ends Presidential Campaign, Endorses Biden Nick Grube/Civil Beat

Tulsi Gabbard Ends Presidential Campaign, Endorses Biden

The Hawaii congresswoman made the announcement in a video posted to social media after she was mathematically eliminated from earning the nomination.

This Hawaii Defense Contractor Has Emerged As A Major Political Player Cory Lum/Civil Beat

This Hawaii Defense Contractor Has Emerged As A Major Political Player

Navatek’s strategy has paid off. It’s received millions of dollars in federal contracts with the help of members of Congress throughout the country.

Gabbard Barely Registers In Latest Round Of Primaries Nick Grube/Civil Beat

Gabbard Barely Registers In Latest Round Of Primaries

The presidential candidate from Hawaii even trailed candidates no longer in the race.

Hawaii Democrats Still Figuring Out What To Do About The Primary Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Hawaii Democrats Still Figuring Out What To Do About The Primary

The coronavirus may upend plans for the April 4 election, which has already received 20,000 mail-in ballots.

Schatz Backs Kahele For Congress At Washington Fundraiser Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Schatz Backs Kahele For Congress At Washington Fundraiser

Hawaii’s senior senator was the “special guest” at an event to boost the state senator’s campaign to replace U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: We Should Elect Leaders Who Can Actually Lead Us PF Bentley/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: We Should Elect Leaders Who Can Actually Lead Us

Hawaii sorely misses the type of leadership, political wisdom and courage that former Gov. John Burns exhibited.

March 2020

Sunday, March 29

The Two-Party System Is Here To Stay

Wednesday, March 25

Ige, Green Smooth Over Differences On COVID-19 Response

A $2 Trillion Coronavirus Deal Will Pump Billions Into Hawaii Economy

Mazie Hirono Has Some Virus Advice For Cancer Survivors Like Herself

Tuesday, March 24

Hawaii Lt. Gov. Josh Green Banned From State’s Virus Response Effort

Thursday, March 19

Tulsi Gabbard Ends Presidential Campaign, Endorses Biden

Wednesday, March 18

This Hawaii Defense Contractor Has Emerged As A Major Political Player

Tuesday, March 17

Hawaii Democrats Still Figuring Out What To Do About The Primary

Wednesday, March 11

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: We Should Elect Leaders Who Can Actually Lead Us

Tuesday, March 10

Another Presidential Primary, Another Last Place Finish For Tulsi Gabbard

Thursday, March 5

Senate Passes Ban On Side Gigs For Mayors And Governor

Tuesday, March 3

Still No Political Love For Tulsi Gabbard On Super Tuesday

Ad Watch: Amemiya Leans On Sports Record In New TV Spots

February 2020

Saturday, February 29

Tulsi Gabbard Falls Far Short Again In South Carolina

Thursday, February 27

Neal Milner: How ‘Offloading’ Landed Ige, Caldwell In The Political Dumps

Tuesday, February 25

Former House Speaker Eyes Open Honolulu City Council Seat

Monday, February 24

Danny De Gracia: Give 16-Year-Olds The Right To Vote

Saturday, February 22

Gabbard Continues To Struggle As Nevadans Vote For Sanders

Wednesday, February 19

Tulsi Gabbard Continues To Spend Heavily On Long-Shot Presidential Bid

Tuesday, February 18

Four Ex-Hawaii Governors Say They Fear For Our Future

Friday, February 14

Chad Blair: 10 Reasons Why Hawaii Should Hold The First Presidential Primary

Tuesday, February 11

Gabbard Staying In The Race Despite Finishing Far Behind In New Hampshire

Sunday, February 9

Tulsi Gabbard Bets Her Presidential Campaign On New Hampshire

Friday, February 7

Tangled Web Of Campaign Cash Connects Hawaii To Maine

Wednesday, February 5

Impeachment: Hawaii Senators Cast Their Votes Against The President

Tuesday, February 4

No Aloha For Tulsi Gabbard In Iowa Presidential Caucus

Monday, February 3

TMT Hot Potato: Hawaii Leaders Are Ducking Responsibility On Mauna Kea

January 2020

Friday, January 31

Caldwell Raises Nearly $300K For 2022 Governor’s Race

Meet The Former Hawaii Lawyer Who’s Defending President Donald Trump

Wednesday, January 29

Judge: Attorney General Can Get Bank Records Of Mauna Kea Protest Group

Monday, January 27

Maui Mayor Wants Federal Help With Island Sustainability

Thursday, January 23

Caldwell Talks Homelessness, HUD and Honolulu Rail In Washington DC

Neal Milner: White Political Identity Is An Emerging And Dangerous Force

Tuesday, January 21

How Hawaii’s Senators Are Approaching Impeachment

Denby Fawcett: Winning Political Power The Pelosi Way

Thursday, January 16

Kai Kahele: ‘We Have A Moral Obligation To Humanity’

Wednesday, January 15

Can Hawaii’s Elected Leaders Save The State From ‘Drowning?’

Tuesday, January 14

Hawaii Leaders Back Ambitious Plan To Rapidly Expand Preschool

Minimum Wage, Preschool, Housing Top Rare Legislative Platform

Thursday, January 9

Hawaii Lawmakers Pushing For A Crackdown On Vaping

Wednesday, January 8

Hawaii Delegation Questions Trump’s Decision On Iran Drone Strike

Tuesday, January 7

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Friday, January 3

Hawaii Delegation Condemns Trump’s Targeted Killing Of Top Iranian Commander