Special Report

Behind The Story

June 2020

Wednesday, June 24

20 Years Of Honolulu Police Misconduct Summaries Document Serious Bad Behavior

May 2020

Monday, May 11

Sex Abuse Cases Pose Dilemma For Media: How Much To Disclose?

April 2020

Thursday, April 2

How We’re Covering The Coronavirus Crisis

November 2019

Tuesday, November 26

Why Civil Beat Fought For Teacher Discipline Records

Friday, November 15

My Slog To Find Rare Birds In A Remote Maui Rainforest

Friday, November 1

Why We Asked The Hawaii Supreme Court To Take Up The Case Of HPD Sgt. Darren Cachola

October 2019

Friday, October 25

Civil Beat Investigation Ripples Beyond Hawaii

Friday, October 4

What To Expect When You Submit A Community Voice

September 2019

Friday, September 27

You Think Your Job Is Stressful? At Least You’re Not Me

Friday, September 20

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News

Monday, September 16

Why We Sent A Reporter To The Washington Woods To Find Tulsi Gabbard’s Consultant

May 2019

Friday, May 17

Here’s Why We Think Trisha Watson’s Kealoha Column Was Worth Publishing

April 2019

Friday, April 12

Honolulu Police Corruption: This Is Why We Rarely Rely On Anonymous Sources

March 2019

Friday, March 22

Political Mailers: Shamelessly Exploiting The News Media

Tuesday, March 5

Stripping Away The Stereotypes About People With Mental Illness

December 2018

Thursday, December 13

The Story Behind Our New Transportation Column

October 2018

Friday, October 12

We May Finally Get To See Honolulu Police Salary Information

September 2018

Monday, September 24

Why Talking About Anti-Micronesian Hate Is Important

Monday, September 17

Why Civil Beat Is Taking A Deep Dive Into Hawaii’s Mental Health System

July 2018

Tuesday, July 31

Are Political Attack Ads A Waste Of Money This Year?

May 2018

Wednesday, May 16

What It’s Like Spending Three Days Watching A Volcano

April 2018

Tuesday, April 3

Why We Published New Sexual Harassment Claims About Dan Inouye

March 2018

Monday, March 12

We’re Changing Around Some Things In Our Newsroom

February 2018

Monday, February 26

We’re Killing Comments — Here’s Why

Wednesday, February 14

Why We Publish Provocative Community Voices

Thursday, February 8

Why We Didn’t Name Hawaii’s ‘Button Pusher’

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News

Government institutions have the inside scoop, but that doesn’t mean the media should always bite.

Why We Sent A Reporter To The Washington Woods To Find Tulsi Gabbard’s Consultant Nick Grube/Civil Beat

Why We Sent A Reporter To The Washington Woods To Find Tulsi Gabbard’s Consultant

The story has nothing to do with religion. It’s all about what she’s doing with her supporters’ money.

Honolulu Police Corruption: This Is Why We Rarely Rely On Anonymous Sources Screenshot

Honolulu Police Corruption: This Is Why We Rarely Rely On Anonymous Sources

Readers should be able to know and trust where your information is coming from. But public officials also have a responsibility to speak up and correct erroneous reporting.

Political Mailers: Shamelessly Exploiting The News Media

Political Mailers: Shamelessly Exploiting The News Media

News organizations have no say over how their material is used. In fact, we often don’t even know it is being used.

Stripping Away The Stereotypes About People With Mental Illness Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Stripping Away The Stereotypes About People With Mental Illness

This kind of deeply personal storytelling, says Civil Beat reporter Brittany Lyte, can be “so intimate it’s like walking into someone’s bedroom.”

The Story Behind Our New Transportation Column Anthony Quintano/ Civil Beat

The Story Behind Our New Transportation Column

Traffic can dominate life — and dinner party conversation — on Oahu. “Wayfinding” offers readers a street-level look at the challenges of getting around the island.

 

We May Finally Get To See Honolulu Police Salary Information Cory Lum/Civil Beat

We May Finally Get To See Honolulu Police Salary Information

A judge’s rejection of a police union challenge clears the way for the release of names and pay levels for hundreds of officers.

Why Talking About Anti-Micronesian Hate Is Important Caesar Hadley via The Fourth Branch Micronesia

Why Talking About Anti-Micronesian Hate Is Important

Shining a light on racial prejudice makes us all think more carefully about what we say — and can’t help but make our community stronger.