Special Report

Behind The Story

June 2020

Wednesday, June 24

20 Years Of Honolulu Police Misconduct Summaries Document Serious Bad Behavior

May 2020

Monday, May 11

Sex Abuse Cases Pose Dilemma For Media: How Much To Disclose?

April 2020

Thursday, April 2

How We’re Covering The Coronavirus Crisis

November 2019

Tuesday, November 26

Why Civil Beat Fought For Teacher Discipline Records

Friday, November 15

My Slog To Find Rare Birds In A Remote Maui Rainforest

Friday, November 1

Why We Asked The Hawaii Supreme Court To Take Up The Case Of HPD Sgt. Darren Cachola

October 2019

Friday, October 25

Civil Beat Investigation Ripples Beyond Hawaii

Friday, October 4

What To Expect When You Submit A Community Voice

September 2019

Friday, September 27

You Think Your Job Is Stressful? At Least You’re Not Me

Friday, September 20

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News

Monday, September 16

Why We Sent A Reporter To The Washington Woods To Find Tulsi Gabbard’s Consultant

May 2019

Friday, May 17

Here’s Why We Think Trisha Watson’s Kealoha Column Was Worth Publishing

April 2019

Friday, April 12

Honolulu Police Corruption: This Is Why We Rarely Rely On Anonymous Sources

March 2019

Friday, March 22

Political Mailers: Shamelessly Exploiting The News Media

Tuesday, March 5

Stripping Away The Stereotypes About People With Mental Illness

December 2018

Thursday, December 13

The Story Behind Our New Transportation Column

October 2018

Friday, October 12

We May Finally Get To See Honolulu Police Salary Information

September 2018

Monday, September 24

Why Talking About Anti-Micronesian Hate Is Important

Monday, September 17

Why Civil Beat Is Taking A Deep Dive Into Hawaii’s Mental Health System

July 2018

Tuesday, July 31

Are Political Attack Ads A Waste Of Money This Year?

May 2018

Wednesday, May 16

What It’s Like Spending Three Days Watching A Volcano

April 2018

Tuesday, April 3

Why We Published New Sexual Harassment Claims About Dan Inouye

March 2018

Monday, March 12

We’re Changing Around Some Things In Our Newsroom

February 2018

Monday, February 26

We’re Killing Comments — Here’s Why

Wednesday, February 14

Why We Publish Provocative Community Voices

Thursday, February 8

Why We Didn’t Name Hawaii’s ‘Button Pusher’

Why Civil Beat Is Taking A Deep Dive Into Hawaii’s Mental Health System Getty Images/iStockphoto

Why Civil Beat Is Taking A Deep Dive Into Hawaii’s Mental Health System

Mental illness is an intensely personal issue that affects many families in Hawaii.

Are Political Attack Ads A Waste Of Money This Year? Getty Images/iStockphoto

Are Political Attack Ads A Waste Of Money This Year?

Voters contacted by Civil Beat say the recent barrage of negative ads are mostly annoying — and haven’t changed their minds.

What It’s Like Spending Three Days Watching A Volcano Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

What It’s Like Spending Three Days Watching A Volcano

Civil Beat’s Anthony Quintano talks about his experiences shooting the eruptions and lava flows on Kilauea.

Why We Published New Sexual Harassment Claims About Dan Inouye

Why We Published New Sexual Harassment Claims About Dan Inouye

Sexual harassment continues to be a problem in professional settings, enabled by a culture of silence in which colleagues look the other way.

We’re Changing Around Some Things In Our Newsroom Cory Lum/Civil Beat

We’re Changing Around Some Things In Our Newsroom

We have two new full-time reporters and Nick Grube has moved to Washington, D.C., to staff our full-time bureau there.

We’re Killing Comments — Here’s Why Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

We’re Killing Comments — Here’s Why

Civil Beat gets more than 200,000 unique visitors every month. Yet fewer than 100 participate regularly in the comments at the bottom of stories.

Why We Publish Provocative Community Voices Flickr: CGP Grey

Why We Publish Provocative Community Voices

It’s important to share different viewpoints on vital issues like pesticide use, even if many of you don’t agree with them.

Why We Didn’t Name Hawaii’s ‘Button Pusher’ Screen shot

Why We Didn’t Name Hawaii’s ‘Button Pusher’

Numerous media outlets agreed to publish interviews with the man who sent out the false alert without saying who he was.