Special Report

Hawaii's Changing Economy

September 2020

Tuesday, September 15

Can Military Spending Prop Up Hawaii’s Faltering Economy?

Monday, September 14

Economist: Hawaii’s Economic Fall Will Be Worse Than Predicted

Wednesday, September 2

The Cost Of Failure To Contain The Virus? Massive Layoffs

August 2020

Monday, August 31

Kauai Businesses Are ‘Hanging On By A Thread’ Without Tourists

Friday, August 28

Women Were Already Struggling At Work. The Pandemic Is Making It Worse

Thursday, August 27

Grief And Desperate Hope As Small Businesses Brace For Second Shutdown

Sunday, August 23

The Tremendous Cost Of Feeding The Hungry In Hawaii

Wednesday, August 19

Is COVID-19 Spreading Because People Have Gotten Tired Of Restrictions?

Thursday, August 13

People In Hawaii Are Struggling. The Nonprofits That Help Them Are Too

Monday, August 10

The State Has A Plan For When To Reopen Or Reclose. Why Aren’t We Following It?

July 2020

Wednesday, July 29

Our Struggling Economy: The First ‘Cliff’ Is Almost Here And A Second One Is Looming

Wednesday, July 15

How This Special Legislative Committee Has Worked To Keep Hawaii’s Economy Afloat

Monday, July 13

Shuttered Churches, Temples Got Millions From Feds

June 2020

Thursday, June 25

Hawaii Economic Chief: Tourism Is ‘Who We Are’ And Must Be Rebuilt

Monday, June 15

Hawaii Economy Faces ‘A Long Slow Road Back’

Sunday, June 14

Big Island Officials Are Frustrated That Opportunity Zones Haven’t Drawn New Investment

Saturday, June 6

Hawaii’s Wedding Business Has Been ‘Completely Demolished’

May 2020

Wednesday, May 13

The Pandemic Ignites A Bike Boom In Honolulu

Tuesday, May 12

Hawaii’s Struggling Farms Want The State To Become A Bigger Customer

April 2020

Wednesday, April 8

Hawaii Businesses Affected By COVID-19 Could Face Tough Fights With Insurers

Monday, April 6

Hawaii Banks Start Rolling Out Relief To Small Firms

March 2020

Sunday, March 29

Will Feds’ Relief Package Be Enough To Keep Hawaii’s Small Businesses Afloat?

Wednesday, March 11

Jobs In Hawaii: The Future Looks A Lot Like The Past

Tuesday, March 10

Lawmakers Want To Subsidize Big Rate Increases By Hawaii’s Only Interisland Shipper

Wednesday, March 4

Hawaii’s Largest Private College Is Fighting For Its Future

February 2020

Tuesday, February 11

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee

January 2020

Tuesday, January 28

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially

Tuesday, January 7

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Monday, January 6

Cyber Spies Are Quietly Boosting Hawaii’s High Tech Economy

December 2019

Friday, December 20

Economists: High Living Costs Continue Driving Hawaii Residents Away

November 2019

Tuesday, November 19

Energy Giant AES Has A Big — And Growing — Footprint In Hawaii

Friday, November 15

Report: Hawaii’s Economic Growth Is The Lowest In The Nation

Tuesday, November 5

Hawaii Gas Faces Uncertain Future In State’s Renewable Energy Push

October 2019

Wednesday, October 23

Conflicts, Antitrust Questions Raised Regarding Maui Solar Farm

Thursday, October 17

Hawaii’s Green Energy Projects Search For Ways To Navigate Community Opposition

Wednesday, October 16

Why Hawaii Still Has So Few Electric Cars

Thursday, October 3

How ‘Green Fees’ Might Offset The Hidden Costs Of Tourism In Hawaii

September 2019

Monday, September 23

Why No One Knows How Many Green Energy Jobs Exist In Hawaii

Tuesday, September 10

Will Hawaii Electric Customers Ever Save Money With Renewable Energy?

August 2019

Tuesday, August 27

Air Travel’s Carbon Footprint Takes A Big Environmental Toll In Hawaii

Thursday, August 22

Can This New Hawaii Venture Become The Stock Fund For Millennials?

July 2019

Thursday, July 18

How These Travel Hotspots Are Trying To Make Tourism Pay Its Own Way

Wednesday, July 17

Hawaii Struggles To Maintain Its Worn-Out Hiking Trails

Thursday, July 11

How Kailua Became A Tourist Town

Wednesday, July 10

9 Charts That Show How Hawaii Tourism Is Changing

10 Million Visitors: Can Hawaii Survive Its Own Popularity?

Tuesday, July 2

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree

June 2019

Thursday, June 20

Hawaii Has The Lowest Health Care Costs, Thanks To Strong State Laws

Friday, June 14

No One Knows How Many Homes Are Sitting Empty Despite Housing Shortage

Monday, June 10

Kakaako’s Empty Condos: ‘At Night, It’s A Ghost Town Down Here’

Monday, June 3

Hawaiian Electric’s Ambitious Plan To Quit Using Coal Is A ‘Moon Mission’

May 2019

Monday, May 20

Can These Unlikely Partners Help Diversify Hawaii’s Economy?

Monday, May 6

Wanted: People Who Can Make Useful Sense Of Vast Amounts Of Data

April 2019

Friday, April 26

Will One Of These Fledgling Companies Be Hawaii’s Next Big Brand?

Friday, April 19

Can A Sustainable Industry Be Built From An Invasive Species?

Tuesday, April 16

The High Price Of Luring The Movies To Hawaii

Thursday, April 4

Hawaii’s Population Decline Signals Future Economic Challenges

Tuesday, April 2

Beyond Hotels And Beaches: Can Hawaii Really Diversify Its Economy?

Civil Beat Wants To Find Out Where Hawaii’s Economy Is Headed

Why Hawaii Still Has So Few Electric Cars Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Why Hawaii Still Has So Few Electric Cars

Only about 1% of cars here are electric vehicles. Advocates say boosting that number requires mandating builders install charging stations at new developments.

How ‘Green Fees’ Might Offset The Hidden Costs Of Tourism In Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

How ‘Green Fees’ Might Offset The Hidden Costs Of Tourism In Hawaii

A growing number of tourism hot spots, ranging from Mallorca to Bhutan to New Zealand, are imposing new taxes and fees on visitors.

Why No One Knows How Many Green Energy Jobs Exist In Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Why No One Knows How Many Green Energy Jobs Exist In Hawaii

Hawaii’s shift to renewable energy was meant to trigger an explosion of new jobs, but officials aren’t closely tracking employment in the sector.

HECO Announces First Community Solar Project Cory Lum/Civil Beat

HECO Announces First Community Solar Project

The company says it’s the first of multiple projects that will let renters and condo residents buy electricity from remotely located solar farms.

Will Hawaii Electric Customers Ever Save Money With Renewable Energy? Courtesy: Eurus Energy America

Will Hawaii Electric Customers Ever Save Money With Renewable Energy?

A regulatory scheme designed to create savings for consumers is unfolding even as Hawaiian Electric proposes a rate increase for Oahu.

Air Travel’s Carbon Footprint Takes A Big Environmental Toll In Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Air Travel’s Carbon Footprint Takes A Big Environmental Toll In Hawaii

Carbon emissions from planes are only now starting to get some of the attention as other troubling side effects caused by soaring numbers of tourists.

Can This New Hawaii Venture Become The Stock Fund For Millennials? Stewart Yerton/Civil Beat

Can This New Hawaii Venture Become The Stock Fund For Millennials?

A Colorado portfolio manager has big plans for a $44 million S&P 500 index fund that he has brought to Hawaii.

How These Travel Hotspots Are Trying To Make Tourism Pay Its Own Way Chad Blair/Civil Beat

How These Travel Hotspots Are Trying To Make Tourism Pay Its Own Way

From California to the Galapagos, overwhelmed tourist destinations are experimenting with ways to control the overflow and pay for repairing the damage.

Hawaii Struggles To Maintain Its Worn-Out Hiking Trails Stewart Yerton/Civil Beat

Hawaii Struggles To Maintain Its Worn-Out Hiking Trails

“Honestly, we’re just trying to keep up with demand,” the state’s trails manager said.