Civil Beat Tags

Maui

The Maui Charter Commission Is Weighing 85 Changes To County Government Ludwig Laab/Civil Beat/2021

The Maui Charter Commission Is Weighing 85 Changes To County Government

Later this month members of the public can comment on the proposed amendments, which if approved by voters would reform county elections, policing, zoning and more.

Report: Solar Panels Might Endanger Hawaii’s Birds Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

Report: Solar Panels Might Endanger Hawaii’s Birds

Reducing the attractiveness of solar panels to birds by tilting them upright overnight is among the proposed deterrents.

Maui Council Calls On Navy To Remove Red Hill Fuel Storage Tanks Courtesy: U.S. Navy

Maui Council Calls On Navy To Remove Red Hill Fuel Storage Tanks

The largely symbolic resolution lends the county’s support to the state Department of Health’s directive to suspend operations.

Maui County: Covid Booster Will Be Required For Indoor Dining, Bars And Gyms Ludwig Laab/Civil Beat/2021

Maui County: Covid Booster Will Be Required For Indoor Dining, Bars And Gyms

As omicron spreads, Maui County will require people eligible for booster shots to get them to be considered fully vaccinated.

Endangered Monk Seal Died Of Gunshot Wound To The Head, Authorities Say Courtesy: Todd Yamashita/2021

Endangered Monk Seal Died Of Gunshot Wound To The Head, Authorities Say

It was at least the third monk seal to be intentionally killed by humans this year on Molokai, government officials said.

Maui Conservationists Sound Alarm Over Sightings Of Invasive Bird Courtesy: Maui Invasive Species Committee/2021

Maui Conservationists Sound Alarm Over Sightings Of Invasive Bird

The bird is already established on Oahu, where it gorges on tropical fruit and orchid buds, causing hundreds of thousands of dollars in agricultural losses.

Maui To Stop Processing Immigration Applications Ludwig Laab/Civil Beat/2021

Maui To Stop Processing Immigration Applications

The county said it will no longer prepare and review immigration applications and other documents for Maui residents following the retirements of federally accredited staff.

Maui Job Posting Seeking Mainlanders Over Locals Prompts Twitter Outcry Csilla Jaray-Benn/Flickr.com

Maui Job Posting Seeking Mainlanders Over Locals Prompts Twitter Outcry

Where you’re born and raised isn’t a protected class in Hawaii’s fair employment law, but some say it’s unfair for employers to prefer mainland applicants.

Maui County Mulls An Agreement Between Police And US Immigration Agency Ludwig Laab/Civil Beat/2021

Maui County Mulls An Agreement Between Police And US Immigration Agency

The Maui Police Department said the proposal is about resources for fighting crime, and they’re not involved in enforcing immigration laws.

December 2017

Thursday, December 21

Chad Blair: A Maui Publisher Notches A First Amendment Win

November 2017

Friday, November 17

Hokulea’s Voyage To Hana Is A Homecoming For Young Captain

October 2017

Monday, October 9

Honolulu Rail Deal Fallout: Neighbor Islands Want A More Open Legislature

Sunday, October 1

4 Dead In Maui Head-On Collision

September 2017

Wednesday, September 27

Ian Lind: Condo War Breaks Out On Maui When Homes Become Hotels

Tuesday, September 5

DOE: Maui’s Suspended School Bus Routes Are Being Restored

August 2017

Friday, August 11

Tad Bartimus: Why Breadfruit Belongs On Our Tables

Friday, August 4

Police Deny Excessive Force In Maui Solar Telescope Arrests

Tad Bartimus: Abandoned Pets Find Aloha In Northwest

Thursday, August 3

Hundreds Of Maui Students Affected By Bus Driver Shortage

Wednesday, August 2

Six People Arrested During Maui Solar Telescope Protest

July 2017

Thursday, July 27

Tad Bartimus: Building A ‘Farewell Place’ For Maui Pet Owners

Wednesday, July 26

Hawaii AG Takes A Break From Trump Suits To Handle Dog Leash Case

Wednesday, July 12

Tad Bartimus: Can Rat Contraception Be A Weapon In War On Lungworm?

Friday, July 7

Tad Bartimus: Rare Glimpses Of The Creatures Of Papahanaumokuakea

June 2017

Thursday, June 22

Tad Bartimus: Life-Saving Rescue Tubes Date Back 100 Years

Wednesday, June 21

Tad Bartimus: Maui Hopes New Rescue Tubes Will Reduce Drownings

Thursday, June 15

Park Service Analyzes Reservations For Haleakala Sunrise Visits

Wednesday, June 7

Maui Ban On Foam Food Containers Will Take Effect In 2018

Thursday, June 1

Tad Bartimus: Erin Lindbergh Shares Famous Grandparents’ Passion For Maui

May 2017

Friday, May 26

Hundreds Of Low-Income Maui Residents May Face Eviction

Wednesday, May 17

Tad Bartimus: Maui Grads Bring Passion To Problem Solving

Monday, May 1

Tad Bartimus: In The Shadow Of Rat Lungworm, Hana Celebrates Itself

April 2017

Monday, April 24

Tad Bartimus: Hana’s Do-It-Yourself Battle Against Rat Lungworm

Thursday, April 20

Tad Bartimus: Museum Exhibit Honors Renowned Maui Poet And Gardener

Monday, April 10

Tad Bartimus: Rat Lungworm Disease Threatens Tiny Hana

Tuesday, April 4

Tad Bartimus: What You Need To Know About Rat Lungworm Disease

Monday, April 3

Tad Bartimus: Living With The Horrors Of Rat Lungworm Disease

March 2017

Friday, March 24

Tad Bartimus: The Hana Highway Has Become A Vehicle Dumping Ground

Thursday, March 23

Tad Bartimus: The Road To Hana Is Sometimes Paved With Bad Intentions

Thursday, March 16

Low-Income Tenants Ask State To Keep Their Housing Affordable

Friday, March 3

Tad Bartimus: Maui, Me and Bobby McGee

February 2017

Friday, February 24

Tad Bartimus: A Piece of Maui History Gets A Million-Dollar Makeover

Wednesday, February 8

Tad Bartimus: From Beach Trash To Bikinis

January 2017

Thursday, January 12

Tad Bartimus: Woman Who Started March On DC Is A Real Trailblazer

Wednesday, January 11

Tad Bartimus: How A Maui Woman Launched A Global Movement