Civil Beat Tags

Mauna Kea

Neal Milner: Don’t Depersonalize The TMT Protests Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Neal Milner: Don’t Depersonalize The TMT Protests

A law enforcement approach to resolving the Mauna Kea standoff would be misguided.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Communities Need A Real Voice On Big Projects Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Communities Need A Real Voice On Big Projects

Projects may check all the required boxes and still fall short of addressing community concerns.

We Can’t Let Civil Disobedience Continue To Obstruct Our Legal Process Kuʻu Kauanoe/Civil Beat

We Can’t Let Civil Disobedience Continue To Obstruct Our Legal Process

The protesters of TMT, Sherwoods and Kahuku have made their points. But it’s time to move forward.

UH Regents Urge Nonviolent Solutions To Mauna Kea Standoff Cory Lum/Civil Beat

UH Regents Urge Nonviolent Solutions To Mauna Kea Standoff

The directive from the board offers little new in the way of resolving issues regarding Thirty Meter Telescope.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Turn Marching Into Voting Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Turn Marching Into Voting

A strong election turnout would make Hawaiians, some of whom now abstain from voting, a more powerful political force than they have been in decades.

Where Hawaii Legislators Stand On The Thirty Meter Telescope Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Where Hawaii Legislators Stand On The Thirty Meter Telescope

A majority of lawmakers surveyed by Civil Beat support construction of the telescope — but with a lot of caveats and uncertainty about how to proceed.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii’s ‘No Make Waves’ Culture Is Fading Ronit Fahl/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii’s ‘No Make Waves’ Culture Is Fading

Simmering below the surface in what’s sometimes called the “happiest state in America” is a feeling that government no longer listens to the people.

Big Island Mayor Calls For Restructuring Management On Mauna Kea Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Big Island Mayor Calls For Restructuring Management On Mauna Kea

Harry Kim’s plan for resolving the TMT standoff makes few new promises, but offers Native Hawaiians a larger voice in determining the future of the mountain.

Office Of Hawaiian Affairs Has Spent $39K To Support Activists On Mauna Kea ronitphoto

Office Of Hawaiian Affairs Has Spent $39K To Support Activists On Mauna Kea

The state Attorney General’s office has subpoenaed the information on OHA’s support for demonstrators against the Thirty Meter Telescope.

Neal Milner: ‘Conventional Politics’ Offers No Solution On Mauna Kea Blaze Lovell/Civil Beat

Neal Milner: ‘Conventional Politics’ Offers No Solution On Mauna Kea

It’s likely too late for compromise. We now face two stark choices: force the protesters off the mountain or abandon building the telescope in Hawaii.

Denby Fawcett: Moving Forward As The Debate Over TMT Continues Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Denby Fawcett: Moving Forward As The Debate Over TMT Continues

UH President David Lassner tries to keep the university community from coming apart over Mauna Kea.

AG Probes Office of Hawaiian Affairs Support of Mauna Kea Protest Cory Lum/Civil Beat

AG Probes Office of Hawaiian Affairs Support of Mauna Kea Protest

The state attorney general sent the Office of Hawaiian Affairs a subpoena Thursday, but is unlikely to get any information that won’t already become public next week.

November 2019

Thursday, November 21

Neal Milner: Don’t Depersonalize The TMT Protests

October 2019

Thursday, October 24

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Communities Need A Real Voice On Big Projects

Tuesday, October 22

We Can’t Let Civil Disobedience Continue To Obstruct Our Legal Process

Wednesday, October 16

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Turn Marching Into Voting

Monday, October 7

Where Hawaii Legislators Stand On The Thirty Meter Telescope

Wednesday, October 2

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii’s ‘No Make Waves’ Culture Is Fading

September 2019

Monday, September 30

Big Island Mayor Calls For Restructuring Management On Mauna Kea

Thursday, September 26

Office Of Hawaiian Affairs Has Spent $39K To Support Activists On Mauna Kea

Neal Milner: ‘Conventional Politics’ Offers No Solution On Mauna Kea

Tuesday, September 24

Denby Fawcett: Moving Forward As The Debate Over TMT Continues

Friday, September 20

AG Probes Office of Hawaiian Affairs Support of Mauna Kea Protest

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News

Friday, September 13

State Puts Pressure On TMT Protesters Over Environment, Threats To Officials

Thursday, September 12

‘This Is Our Mauna Kea’: Oahu Wind Farm Opponents Say They’re Inspired By Big Island Protests

Tuesday, September 10

Kim Proposes Giving Native Hawaiians A Say In Managing Mauna Kea

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: A Hawaiian Revolution Emerges

TMT Protesters Who Flocked To Mauna Kea For A Showdown Are Still Waiting

Friday, September 6

2 Arrested As State Demolishes Structure Built By TMT Opponents On Mauna Kea

How Music Fuels The Mauna Kea Protests

August 2019

Friday, August 30

Mauna Kea Is The Latest In Long History Of Native Hawaiian Protests

Three Young Protesters, Three Different Paths To Mauna Kea

Thursday, August 29

TMT Protest Movement Spurs Enrollment In Immersion Schools

Wednesday, August 28

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Seeking Long-Delayed Justice On Mauna Kea

Sunday, August 25

Hawaii Or Spain? Telescope Experts Say It May Not Matter

Tuesday, August 20

Mauna Kea Protest Has Cost Hawaii County Police $3 Million In OT

Thursday, August 15

This Is What Scientists Would Be Missing If The TMT Doesn’t Go On Mauna Kea

Tuesday, August 13

Danny De Gracia: Has Gov. Ige Completely Lost Control?

Monday, August 12

Neal Milner: How State Leaders Hung TMT Supporters Out To Dry

Friday, August 9

Mauna Kea Telescopes Are Getting Back To Work But It May Take Weeks

Thursday, August 8

Sterling Higa: The Social Media Movement Behind The Mauna Kea Protests

Wednesday, August 7

Civil Beat Poll: Strong Support For TMT But Little Love For Ige

Monday, August 5

TMT Backers Seek Permit For Alternative Canary Islands Site

Neal Milner: The Doomsday Scenario On Mauna Kea Won’t Ever Happen

Thursday, August 1

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: It Took A Crisis To Bring Hawaiians Back Together

July 2019

Wednesday, July 31

Do Negotiations Offer A Way Forward On Mauna Kea?

Tuesday, July 30

Ige Calls Off Mauna Kea Emergency Proclamation

Mauna Kea Protests Leave Observatory Workers Trapped In The Middle

Monday, July 29

SLIDESHOW: The Routines Of Life At Mauna Kea Base Camp

Thursday, July 25

Thirty Meter Telescope Supporters: ‘Build It’

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: ‘Kapu Aloha Is Holding Everyone Together’

Wednesday, July 24

Dozens Of Astronomy Projects Are On Hold At Empty Observatories

Chad Blair: Putting Harry Kim In Charge May Be Ige’s Best Move In TMT Standoff

Tuesday, July 23

Ige Asks Hawaii County Mayor To Take Over TMT Talks

Monday, July 22

Can The Thirty Meter Telescope Survive Growing Opposition?

Judges Ponder Whether To Halt Ige’s Mauna Kea Emergency Proclamation

Friday, July 19

Politicians Weigh In On TMT Protests As Standoff Continues

A Look At The Science Of The Thirty Meter Telescope

Mauna Kea Tour Companies Are Out Of Luck For Now

Thursday, July 18

Ige: No Additional National Guard Troops Coming To Mauna Kea

Another Day Of Waiting For Protesters, Authorities At Mauna Kea

Wednesday, July 17

Another ‘Truce’ After A Day Of Arrests On Mauna Kea

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Mauna Kea Is Our Modern-Day Kahoolawe

Tuesday, July 16

All Observatory Staffers Evacuated As TMT Protest Continues

Monday, July 15

Late Standoff Shows How Tenuous A 1st-Day ‘Truce’ Was On Mauna Kea

No Arrests And No Construction Convoy After A Day Of Protests

Sunday, July 14

Anxiety, Rumors And Prayers Before TMT Construction Begins On Mauna Kea

Thursday, July 11

Neal Milner: Reach An Accord In The TMT Dispute? Forget About It

Wednesday, July 10

Ige: Thirty Meter Telescope Construction Will Start Next Week

Tuesday, July 9

Thirty Meter Telescope Opponents File New Lawsuit To Stop Project

June 2019

Wednesday, June 26

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Disrespecting Cultural Issues On Mauna Kea

March 2019

Wednesday, March 20

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: It’s Time For UH To Walk Away From TMT

January 2019

Tuesday, January 29

Thirty Meter Telescope Opponents Appeal To Key Project Funder