Civil Beat Tags

Mauna Kea

We Can’t Let Civil Disobedience Continue To Obstruct Our Legal Process Kuʻu Kauanoe/Civil Beat

We Can’t Let Civil Disobedience Continue To Obstruct Our Legal Process

The protesters of TMT, Sherwoods and Kahuku have made their points. But it’s time to move forward.

UH Regents Urge Nonviolent Solutions To Mauna Kea Standoff Cory Lum/Civil Beat

UH Regents Urge Nonviolent Solutions To Mauna Kea Standoff

The directive from the board offers little new in the way of resolving issues regarding Thirty Meter Telescope.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Turn Marching Into Voting Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Time To Turn Marching Into Voting

A strong election turnout would make Hawaiians, some of whom now abstain from voting, a more powerful political force than they have been in decades.

Where Hawaii Legislators Stand On The Thirty Meter Telescope Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Where Hawaii Legislators Stand On The Thirty Meter Telescope

A majority of lawmakers surveyed by Civil Beat support construction of the telescope — but with a lot of caveats and uncertainty about how to proceed.

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii’s ‘No Make Waves’ Culture Is Fading Ronit Fahl/Civil Beat

Trisha Kehaulani Watson: Hawaii’s ‘No Make Waves’ Culture Is Fading

Simmering below the surface in what’s sometimes called the “happiest state in America” is a feeling that government no longer listens to the people.

Big Island Mayor Calls For Restructuring Management On Mauna Kea Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Big Island Mayor Calls For Restructuring Management On Mauna Kea

Harry Kim’s plan for resolving the TMT standoff makes few new promises, but offers Native Hawaiians a larger voice in determining the future of the mountain.

Office Of Hawaiian Affairs Has Spent $39K To Support Activists On Mauna Kea ronitphoto

Office Of Hawaiian Affairs Has Spent $39K To Support Activists On Mauna Kea

The state Attorney General’s office has subpoenaed the information on OHA’s support for demonstrators against the Thirty Meter Telescope.

Neal Milner: ‘Conventional Politics’ Offers No Solution On Mauna Kea Blaze Lovell/Civil Beat

Neal Milner: ‘Conventional Politics’ Offers No Solution On Mauna Kea

It’s likely too late for compromise. We now face two stark choices: force the protesters off the mountain or abandon building the telescope in Hawaii.

Denby Fawcett: Moving Forward As The Debate Over TMT Continues Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Denby Fawcett: Moving Forward As The Debate Over TMT Continues

UH President David Lassner tries to keep the university community from coming apart over Mauna Kea.

AG Probes Office of Hawaiian Affairs Support of Mauna Kea Protest Cory Lum/Civil Beat

AG Probes Office of Hawaiian Affairs Support of Mauna Kea Protest

The state attorney general sent the Office of Hawaiian Affairs a subpoena Thursday, but is unlikely to get any information that won’t already become public next week.

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

Fit To Print? State’s Mauna Kea Press Conferences Raise The Question Of What’s News

Government institutions have the inside scoop, but that doesn’t mean the media should always bite.

Big Island Prosecutor Won’t Handle TMT Arrests Because Of Son’s Job

Big Island Prosecutor Won’t Handle TMT Arrests Because Of Son’s Job

Mitch Roth, whose son works at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, has sent the cases to the Hawaii attorney general’s office to avoid a conflict of interest.

December 2015

Thursday, December 17

Peter Apo: Let There Be Light On The TMT

Friday, December 11

TMT’s Place In History Of Telescope Battles

Wednesday, December 2

Hawaii Supreme Court Invalidates Thirty Meter Telescope Permit

November 2015

Tuesday, November 17

Hawaii Supreme Court Suspends TMT Permit Until Dec. 2

Friday, November 13

State Issues New Guidelines On Media’s Mauna Kea Access

Tuesday, November 10

Poll: Half Of Native Hawaiians Still Oppose Building The TMT

October 2015

Wednesday, October 21

UH to Remove Third Mauna Kea Observatory

Friday, October 9

Judge Invalidates Mauna Kea Restrictions

September 2015

Monday, September 21

State Takes Tent Atop Mauna Kea

August 2015

Thursday, August 27

Hawaii Supreme Court Grills State on Approval of Thirty Meter Telescope

Sunday, August 9

Thousands Turn Out for Aloha Aina Unity March

Friday, August 7

Mauna Kea Hashtags Around the Globe

Thursday, August 6

TMT Protesters Hope to Reach Visiting Astronomers Through Waikiki March

July 2015

Thursday, July 30

Peter Apo: The TMT Honors Mauna Kea Through Universal Exploration

Thursday, July 23

Keck Observatory Plays Key Role in Discovery of ‘Another Earth’

Friday, July 17

The Projector: From Maunalua to Ala Moana to Mauna Kea, People Are Talking

Saturday, July 11

Land Board Approves Restrictions on Mauna Kea Access

Thursday, July 9

Hawaii AG to Provide More Info on Emergency Rule for Mauna Kea

Tuesday, July 7

UH to Decommission Oldest Observatory on Mauna Kea

Thursday, July 2

Honolulu to Host World’s Biggest Astronomy Conference in August

June 2015

Monday, June 29

Ige: No Plans to Use National Guard to Reopen Mauna Kea Road

Friday, June 26

Ige: ‘We Will Do Whatever Is Necessary to Ensure Lawful Access’

Thursday, June 25

The Projector: ‘Mutual Respect and Aloha’ on the Mountain, But No Meeting of the Minds

Rocks Removed, But Road Up Mauna Kea Remains Closed

Wednesday, June 24

Mauna Kea Protesters Arrested as TMT Tries to Resume Construction

Monday, June 1

UH Ready to Move Quickly on Ige’s Mauna Kea Proposals

Pod Squad: What’s Next for Mauna Kea?

May 2015

Tuesday, May 26

Ige Supports Construction of TMT, Asks UH to Better Manage Mauna Kea

Thursday, May 14

Peter Apo: The Last Telescope

Thursday, May 7

In With The New: Harnessing The Power Of Hashtags

April 2015

Thursday, April 30

OHA Board Rescinds Support for Thirty Meter Telescope

Wednesday, April 29

Thirty Meter Telescope Protesters Hold Third Rally in Pasadena

Ian Lind: Dangerous Intersection of Social Policy and ‘Sacred’

Monday, April 27

Does the Thirty Meter Telescope Pose Environmental Risks?

Sunday, April 26

Cyberattack Hits TMT and State Government Websites

Wednesday, April 22

Ian Lind: The Legal Challenge to the Thirty Meter Telescope

Pod Squad: The Mood on the Mountain and Telescope Finances

Tuesday, April 21

UH Regents to Hold Mauna Kea Meeting in Hilo on Sunday

Residents Opposing Mauna Kea Telescope March on the Capitol

Monday, April 20

Mauna Kea Telescopes: The Business of Astronomy Is Not an Easy One

Friday, April 17

The Projector: TMT Protests on the Mountaintop and on Oahu

Thirty Meter Telescope Construction Postponed Again

Thursday, April 16

Hashtag Heard ‘Round the World: Social Media Fuels TMT Protests

Wednesday, April 15

As Mauna Kea Protests Grow, Some Hawaii Island Residents Worry About Jobs

Monday, April 13

UH Student Protests Against TMT Continue

TMT Launches Online Campaign in Support of Mauna Kea Telescope

Peter Apo: ‘We Are Hawaii and We Will Find a Way’

Sunday, April 12

Jason Momoa’s Revolt Against Hawaii’s Thirty Meter Telescope

Saturday, April 11

Moratorium on Mauna Kea Telescope Construction Extended

Friday, April 10

Telescope Protesters Prepare for Another Police Showdown

The Projector: Voyage Recalled, Rail Debated, New DLNR Pick and the Mountaintop Scene

Thursday, April 9

Protesters Ask ‘Voice of the Hawaiian People’ to Stop Mauna Kea Telescope

Tuesday, April 7

Hawaii Governor Calls ‘Timeout’ on Mauna Kea Telescope Construction

Saturday, April 4

OHA Trustee Calls for Moratorium on Mauna Kea Telescope

Thursday, April 2

Mauna Kea Telescope Protesters Arrested

Peter Apo: Mauna Kea Under Siege

March 2015

Tuesday, March 31

Mauna Kea Protesters Block Telescope Construction

February 2015

Friday, February 13

Big Island Student Covers Telescope Controversy