Civil Beat Tags

Military

White House: Coast Guard Will Up Presence In Pacific To Fight Overfishing Sherri Eng/USCG

White House: Coast Guard Will Up Presence In Pacific To Fight Overfishing

A mysterious Chinese “fishing militia” has been blamed for contributing to overfishing.

Soldiers Will Be Tested Before Returning To Hawaii But Will Still Quarantine Ezra Camarena/U.S. Army

Soldiers Will Be Tested Before Returning To Hawaii But Will Still Quarantine

The 25th Infantry Division troops re-certified in Louisiana for combat deployment.

Tulsi Gabbard Is Refocusing Her Military Career In California Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Tulsi Gabbard Is Refocusing Her Military Career In California

After 17 years, U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard is leaving the Hawaii Army National Guard for a new unit on the mainland.

Marauder Samurai: Hawaii Soldiers Played Key Role In WWII Unit Honored By Congress U.S. Army

Marauder Samurai: Hawaii Soldiers Played Key Role In WWII Unit Honored By Congress

A handpicked team of Japanese American troops were the “eyes and ears” of an elite military unit as they fought in the jungles of South Asia.

Americans Don’t Realize The Extent Of White Nationalism In The Military Wikimedia Commons/Adam Moss from Tonawanda, New York

Americans Don’t Realize The Extent Of White Nationalism In The Military

Increased public concern could create an incentive for policymakers to try to combat white nationalist groups, in the military and in society at large.

New VA Pacific Island Director: ‘Telemedicine Is The Way To Go’ U.S. Navy

New VA Pacific Island Director: ‘Telemedicine Is The Way To Go’

A former Navy surgeon general takes on the care of veterans in Hawaii and across the Pacific.

Navy Expects Reforms To Follow Pearl Harbor Shooting Investigation Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Navy Expects Reforms To Follow Pearl Harbor Shooting Investigation

The report will help inform a larger military review of mental health and safety policies.

Family Sues Okutsu Veterans Homes Over COVID-19 Death Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Family Sues Okutsu Veterans Homes Over COVID-19 Death

A lawsuit on behalf of the sons of Chris Drayer alleges substandard care and “non-existent” safety practices.

Hawaii Is Seeing A Boom In Military-Backed Mortgages

Hawaii Is Seeing A Boom In Military-Backed Mortgages

Changes to borrowing limits and a drop in housing prices are driving a big increase in home loans.

October 2020

Friday, October 23

White House: Coast Guard Will Up Presence In Pacific To Fight Overfishing

Tuesday, October 20

Tulsi Gabbard Is Refocusing Her Military Career In California

Sunday, October 18

Marauder Samurai: Hawaii Soldiers Played Key Role In WWII Unit Honored By Congress

Americans Don’t Realize The Extent Of White Nationalism In The Military

Friday, October 9

New VA Pacific Island Director: ‘Telemedicine Is The Way To Go’

Friday, October 2

Navy Expects Reforms To Follow Pearl Harbor Shooting Investigation

Thursday, October 1

Hawaii Is Seeing A Boom In Military-Backed Mortgages

September 2020

Wednesday, September 30

Army Wants To Retain Access To Big Island Training Area

Tuesday, September 29

Pearl Harbor Shooting Investigation Finds Deeper Mental Health Concerns Among Submarine Crew

Wednesday, September 16

Military Plan To Move Munitions To West Loch Worries Public

Tuesday, September 15

Can Military Spending Prop Up Hawaii’s Faltering Economy?

Sunday, September 6

Hawaii Marines Are Now Guarding The Nests Of Endangered Species

August 2020

Monday, August 31

Will Hawaii’s $1.9 Billion Missile Radar System Get Built?

Friday, August 28

A Historic Flyby Takes To The Skies Around Oahu

Monday, August 24

Military COVID-19 Rates Are Public in Guam, Japan And Korea. Why Not In Hawaii?

July 2020

Thursday, July 30

Tripler Hospital Parking Could Finally Be Getting Some Help

Sunday, July 19

Army Holds First Large-Scale Training In Hawaii Since Start Of Pandemic

June 2020

Friday, June 26

Proposed Detonation of World War II-Era Bombs at Molokini Angers Activists

Military In Hawaii Copes With Pandemic Challenges

Tuesday, June 9

Hawaii-Based General Confirmed As First Black Air Force Chief Of Staff

May 2020

Sunday, May 24

Memorial Day: Why Veterans Are Particularly Vulnerable To The Coronavirus

Wednesday, May 20

The Navy Replaced Its Leaky Fuel Tanks In California. Why Not Oahu? 

April 2020

Friday, April 3

Hawaii National Guard Called Out To Help With Coronavirus Response

March 2020

Thursday, March 5

Microsoft Preps Vets For Careers In Tech

February 2020

Friday, February 21

A Military Perspective On Climate Change

January 2020

Wednesday, January 15

3 Detained With Live Mortar Round At Pearl Harbor Gate

Monday, January 6

Why Are Soldier Suicides On The Rise?