Civil Beat Tags

Police Accountability

Big Island Police Kill Knife-Wielding Man Jason Armstrong/Civil Beat/2019

Big Island Police Kill Knife-Wielding Man

UPDATED: This is the second fatal shooting involving the Hawaii Police Department in the same week.

Honolulu Officers Face Murder Charges In Sykap Case Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Honolulu Officers Face Murder Charges In Sykap Case

If convicted, the officers will each serve mandatory minimum prison terms of 20 years, the prosecutor’s office said.

Video Reveals Details Of Events Leading To HPD’s Killing Of Lindani Myeni Provided: Bickerton Law Group

Video Reveals Details Of Events Leading To HPD’s Killing Of Lindani Myeni

The Ring video obtained in a wrongful death lawsuit shows Myeni repeatedly apologizing to the occupants of a house he walked into.

Hilo Man Shot To Death By Police Jason Armstrong/Civil Beat/2019

Hilo Man Shot To Death By Police

UPDATED: Officers were shot at while responding to a domestic violence incident, according to police. A 91-year-old relative of the shooting suspect also died.

Federal Investigation Into Keith Kaneshiro Picks Up As Pandemic Winds Down Cory Lum/Civil Beat/2017

Federal Investigation Into Keith Kaneshiro Picks Up As Pandemic Winds Down

Donors to the former elected Honolulu prosecutor have come under increased scrutiny as the U.S. Justice Department tries to build its case.

Blangiardi Has Chosen A Third Police Commission Nominee But He’s Not Revealing Who It Is Cory Lum/Civil Beat/2021

Blangiardi Has Chosen A Third Police Commission Nominee But He’s Not Revealing Who It Is

The mayor said he’s not interested in the kind of police reform activists have been demanding.

Family Of Man Killed By HPD Wants Officer To Face Criminal Charges Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Family Of Man Killed By HPD Wants Officer To Face Criminal Charges

The decision will be up to Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney Steve Alm, but his office has yet to review the case even though it happened in 2019.

Honolulu Mayor Must Select Police Commissioner With Broad Support Cory Lum/Civil Beat/2021

Honolulu Mayor Must Select Police Commissioner With Broad Support

Blangiardi’s first two nominees were an embarrassment for Honolulu residents whose police department is under intense inspection.

Honolulu Joins A National Debate: When Should Police Bodycam Footage Be Released? Anthony Quintano/Civil Beat

Honolulu Joins A National Debate: When Should Police Bodycam Footage Be Released?

The city prosecutor is asking the public to be patient. But some feel body camera footage should be released right away. 

June 2021

Friday, June 18

Big Island Police Kill Knife-Wielding Man

Tuesday, June 15

Honolulu Officers Face Murder Charges In Sykap Case

Video Reveals Details Of Events Leading To HPD’s Killing Of Lindani Myeni

Monday, June 14

Hilo Man Shot To Death By Police

Federal Investigation Into Keith Kaneshiro Picks Up As Pandemic Winds Down

Friday, June 11

Blangiardi Has Chosen A Third Police Commission Nominee But He’s Not Revealing Who It Is

Wednesday, June 9

Family Of Man Killed By HPD Wants Officer To Face Criminal Charges

Tuesday, June 8

Honolulu Mayor Must Select Police Commissioner With Broad Support

Monday, June 7

Honolulu Joins A National Debate: When Should Police Bodycam Footage Be Released?

Thursday, June 3

HPD Officer At The Center Of A $1 Million Wrongful Death Settlement Has A History Of Complaints

Tuesday, June 1

HPD’s Use Of Lethal Force Is Near The US Average. But There’s Far More To The Story

May 2021

Friday, May 28

Honolulu Police Need A Bodycam Policy That Instills Trust

Tuesday, May 25

Maui Police Commission Won’t Discipline Former Police Chief For Hit-And-Run

Monday, May 24

Honolulu Police Don’t Always Turn On Their Body Cams. That Needs To Change, Commissioners Say

Friday, May 21

Maui Police Commission: Former Chief Had ‘Room For Improvement’

Wednesday, May 19

ACLU Accuses HPD Officer Of Bias In Favor Of Business Partner

Monday, May 17

The Investigation Into The Ex-Maui Police Chief’s Hit And Run Is In

Tuesday, May 11

Hawaii Police Shootings Board Says It Will Step Up Its Work

Monday, May 10

Hawaii Police Shootings Review Board Has At Least A Dozen Cases

April 2021

Friday, April 30

911 Call: ‘He’s In The House,’ Tearful Woman Tells Police

Make Hawaii’s Law Enforcement Review Board Permanent

Thursday, April 29

Honolulu Prosecutor Promises Independent Investigations Into Police Shootings

Neal Milner: Looking For A Model Of Accountability? Try The Honolulu Police Commission

Wednesday, April 28

Honolulu Prosecutors Have Long Been Stymied When Investigating Police Killings. That’s About To Change

Wednesday, April 21

Commissioners: Why Isn’t HPD Releasing Body Cam Video Of Teen Shooting?

Tuesday, April 20

HPD Says It Won’t Release Video Of Officers Fatally Shooting 16-Year-Old

Friday, April 16

Kauai Police Chief Suspended For Mocking Asians

Police Body Cam Footage Shows Officers Struggle With, Shoot Man In Nuuanu

Thursday, April 15

Kauai Police Chief’s Rising Star Began To Fall Last Year, Job Reviews Show

Monday, April 12

Police Shootings Board Is Still Doing Nothing As Cases Pile Up

Friday, April 9

Embattled Honolulu Police Chief Announces Retirement

New SHOPO TV Spots Aim For A Positive Police Image

Wednesday, April 7

New Honolulu Police Policy On Using Force Aims To Defuse Tense Situations

Monday, April 5

HPD Chief Susan Ballard Is Up For Review This Week. Is She Still Up To The Job?

March 2021

Wednesday, March 24

Why The Public Needs To Know More About Police Contract Talks

Wednesday, March 17

Lee Cataluna: Kauai Police Chief’s Racial Stereotyping Was Accepted In the Past, But Never OK

Tuesday, March 16

HPD Lawsuit Settlement: Teen Arrested By Classmate’s Father To Receive $150,000 

Monday, March 15

Funding Fight Slows Action On Police, Prison Reform

Thursday, March 11

Maui Police Chief Retiring While Under Commission Scrutiny For Hit-And-Run

Sunday, March 7

The Civil Beat Editorial Board Interview: The ACLU Of Hawaii

Thursday, March 4

Police Commissioners: Redirect HPD Funds To Social Services And Cut Overtime

Wednesday, March 3

Judge Upholds New State Law Requiring Police Misconduct Disclosure

Most Police Reform Measures Fail To Gain Traction At Legislature

February 2021

Thursday, February 25

Honolulu Council Chair Calls For Audit Of HPD Overtime

Monday, February 22

Police Accountability An ‘Essential Element’ In Rebuilding Trust, Garland Says

Friday, February 19

Family Sues Over Fatal State Capitol Shooting By Deputy Sheriff

Wednesday, February 10

Will This Watchdog Bite? The Honolulu Police Commission Is At A Crossroads

Wednesday, February 3

‘Significant’ Disparity In Use Of Force Questioned By Honolulu Police Commission

Judge Sends Former Cop Who Flipped On The Kealohas To Prison

Monday, February 1

New Police Disciplinary Reports Reveal Serious Misconduct By Dozens Of Officers

January 2021

Friday, January 29

Civil Beat Sues Honolulu Police To Make Officer Overtime Data Public

Thursday, January 28

HPD Chief Shakes Up Covert Intelligence Unit After Years Of Scandal

Wednesday, January 6

HPD Deputy Says ‘We Did Nothing Wrong’ In Surveillance Of Cabinet Official

Monday, January 4

Conspiracy Charge Dismissed Against Katherine Kealoha Victim