Members of the East-West Center’s Board of Governors elected board member and former Punahou School President James Scott to serve as the board’s new chairman.

James Scott. 

At a meeting Monday the board named Scott to succeed attorney Richard Turbin, who had served his maximum term as chairman but remains on the board.

Board member Peter Ho — the chairman, president and CEO of the Bank of Hawaii — was selected to succeed Scott as the board’s Hawaii vice chair, according to a press release.

Ho joins Vice Chair Kurt Campbell, chairman and CEO of The Asia Group and a former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs.

Scott was appointed to the East-West Center Board of Governors by Gov. David Ige in May 2017.

The board has 18 members: five appointed by the governor, five by the U.S. secretary of state, five members from Asia and the Pacific islands who are elected by the full board, and three ex-officio members who include the governor, the assistant secretary of state for educational and cultural affairs, and the president of the University of Hawaii, or their designees.

Help power our public service journalism

As a local newsroom, Civil Beat has a unique public service role in times of crisis.

That’s why we’re committed to a paywall-free website and subscription-free content, so we can get vital information out to everyone, from all communities.

We are deploying a significant amount of our resources to covering the Maui fires, and your support ensures that we can pivot when these types of emergencies arise.

Make a gift to Civil Beat today and help power our nonprofit newsroom.

About the Author