More than four months ago we reported that 15 nations had reported no cases of the coronavirus.

A news report from the BBC this week said that 10 of those countries remain COVID-free: Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Kiribati, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Samoa, Vanuatu and Tonga — all of them islands in the Pacific.

Laura Beach on Majuro, where life is still COVID-19 free. Chad Blair/Civil Beat

A report from Business Insider earlier this month identified 14 countries not experiencing the pandemic, including the same 10 listed above.

The report also included the Cook Islands and Niue as well as Turkmenistan and North Korea, the latter two being countries where the case numbers cannot be confirmed because of their repressive governments.

Tajikistan, another country that previously had no cases, now does. Same goes for Lesotho and Comoros.

Business Insider reports that the coronavirus has reached 188 countries and territories in total, according to Johns Hopkins University’s tracker.

Something to consider...

Civil Beat is a small, independent newsroom that provides free content with no paywall. That means readership growth alone can’t sustain our journalism.

The truth is that less than 2% of our monthly readers are financial supporters. To remain a viable business model for local news, we need a higher percentage of readers-turned-donors.

Will you consider making a tax-deductible gift today?

About the Author