The Maui News has this item on the large field of candidates vying to be appointed to a vacant seat in the Hawaii House of Representatives. Excerpt:

Thirteen 13 candidates will vie for the House seat vacated Feb. 1 by Mele Carroll, the Maui County Democratic Party announced Saturday afternoon.

The candidates for the 13th House District seat that covers East Maui, Lanai and Molokai include business people, an executive assistant with Mayor Alan Arakawa, officials with environmental nonprofit groups and a losing candidate for the seat in the last election.

The slate includes: Lori Buchanan, Shay Chan Hodges, Scott Crawford, Lynn DeCoite, Alberta De Jetley, Lucienne De Naie, David Fry, Barbara Haliniak, Susan “Netra” Halperin, Lance Holter, Rob Parsons, Kay Okamoto and Noelani Yamashita.

The deadline to submit candidacy for the seat vacated by Carroll due to illness was Friday night.

Three nominees will be selected Saturday during tele-interviews using the University of Hawaii’s Skybridge two-way interactive television, said Troy Hashimoto, Maui County Democratic Party chairman. …

Gov. David Ige will select one of the nominees to fill Carroll’s seat.

Maui County — Molokai, Lanai, Maui and Kahoolawe

Maui County — Molokai, Lanai, Maui and Kahoolawe.

About the Author