Readers of this space know that Civil Beat (OK, me) frequently reports which state legislators hold campaign fundraisers during the legislative session from mid January to early May.

But what about the lawmakers who did not ask for money even as they were considering legislation that might very well be important to some of those same folks who contribute (e.g., lobbyists, companies, special interests, lobbyists for companies and special interests et al.)?

an empty plate

Fourteen of Hawaii’s 25 state senators did not hold fundraisers during the 2016 session:

Sens. Suzanne Chun Oakland, Will Espero, Mike Gabbard, Brickwood Galuteria, Josh Green, Breene Harimoto, Les Ihara, Clarence Nishihara, Gil Riviere, Maile Shimabukuro, Sam Slom, Brian Taniguchi, Laura Thielen and Glenn Wakai.

Meanwhile, 14 of Hawaii’s 51 state representatives also decided not to pass the hat:

Reps. Romy Cachola, Beth Fukumoto Chang, Derek Kawakami, Sam Kong, Lauren Matsumoto, Bob McDermott, Marcus Oshiro, Feki Pouha, Karl Rhoads, Cynthia Thielen, Clift Tsuji, Andria Tupola, Ryan Yamane and Kyle Yamashita.

Legislators must notify the state Campaign Spending Commission when they intend to ask for contributions of more than $25.

About the Author