The final printout of voting results for seats in the Hawaii Senate and House of Representatives showed that Democrats will maintain their solid control over both chambers.

But the minority party of Republicans picked up a seat in the Senate and kept their numbers steady in the House.

Most of the attention Tuesday night was on open seats, where no incumbents were running.

In a shift from earlier results, Democrat Matt LoPresti lost to Republican Kurt Fevella 48 percent to 47.1 percent in a race for an open state Senate seat.

LoPresti currently serves in the House.

Hawaiian flag flies in the air in the Capitol Rotunda on opening day of the 29th Legilslature.
Democrats will continue with a solid majority in the Legislature. Cory Lum/Civil Beat

District 19 represents Ewa Beach, Ocean Pointe, Ewa by Gentry, Iroquois Point and a portion of Ewa Villages. It was vacated by Will Espero, who unsuccessfully ran for Hawaii lieutenant governor.

Democrat Marilyn Lee, a former lawmaker who was unseated in 2012 by Republican Beth Fukumoto, was behind Republican Val Okimoto 51.3 percent to 42.4 percent in the District 36 seat covering Mililani Mauka and Mililani. Fukumoto later switched parties and left the seat to pursue unsuccessfully a congressional seat, which opened the seat this year.

In the 2018 Legislature, Democrats held all 25 Senate seats and 46 of the 51 House seats. Many of the races were settled in Aug. 11 the primary.

Based on the latest results Tuesday, Republicans are set to pick up one Senate seat with Fevella’s likely win. The party will probably keep five House seats; Republican Sai Timoteo, who wanted to succeed House Minority Leader Andria Tupola (who left her seat to run unsuccessfully for governor), was disqualified before the primary.

Here is how all other legislative races shaped up:

State Senate Races

District 1 (Hilo) — Democrat incumbent Kai Kahele led Libertarian Kimberly Arianoff 79.2 percent to 11.4 percent. The seat was formerly held by Kahele’s father, Gil Kahele, until the senator’s death in 2016.

District 3 (Kona, Kau) — Democrat Dru Kanuha was ahead of Libertarian Michael Last 71.8 percent to 18.7 percent. The race is to fill the seat vacated by Democratic state Sen. Josh Green, who is running for lieutenant governor.

District 6 (South and West Maui) — Veteran Democratic incumbent Roz Baker was in front of Green Mish Shishido, 60.9 percent to 29.6 percent.

District 12 (Waikiki, Ala Moana, Kakaako, McCully, Moiliili) — Democrat newcomer Sharon Moriwaki had 63.8 percent of the vote compared to 27 percent for Republican Lynn Mariano. Moriwaki unseated incumbent Brickwood Galuteria in the Aug. 11 primary.

District 17 (Waipahu, Crestview, Manana, Pearl City, Pacific Palisades) — Incumbent Democrat Clarence Nishihara was besting Republican Roger Clemente 64.1 percent to 29 percent.

District 18 (Mililani Town, portion of Waipio Gentry, Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia) — Democratic incumbent Michelle Kidani was prevailing over Republican Tony Solis 62.6 percent to 30.8 percent.

District 21 (Kalaeloa, Honokai Hale, Ko Olina, Nanakuli, Maili, Waianae, Makaha, Makua) — Democratic incumbent Maile Shimabukuro appeared on her way to an easy victory over Republican Diamond Garcia with 56 percent of the vote to 39 percent.

State House Races

District 2 (Keaukaha, parts of Hilo, Panaewa, Waiakea) — Democratic incumbent Chris Todd was keeping Republican Grace Manipol-Larsen at bay 76.4 percent to 15.3 percent.

District 3 (Hilo, Keaau, Kurtistown, Volcano) — Rep. Richard Onishi, a Democrat, held a commanding lead over Libertarian Fred Fogel 69.5 percent to 20.1 percent.

District 7 (North Kona, North Kohala, South Kohala) — Democrat David Tarnas, a former legislator, was fending off Republican Tom Belekanich 71.6 percent to 21.5 percent. Tarnas ousted incumbent Cindy Evans in the primary.

District 10 (West Maui, Maalaea, North Kihei) — Rep. Angus McKelvey, a Democrat, was holding off two challengers. He had 56.3 percent of the vote compared to 20.4 percent for Republican Chayne Martin and 20.2 percent for Green Jen Mather.

District 13 (Haiku, Hana, Kaupo, Kipahulu, Nahiku, Paia, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Molokini) — Democratic incumbent Lynn DeCoite topped Green Nick Nikhilananda 65.9 percent to 26.1 percent in early voting.

District 17 (Hawaii Kai, Kalama Valley) — Longtime GOP incumbent Gene Ward was dominating his race against Libertarian Alan Yim, 74.1 percent to 15.2 percent.

District 18 (Hahaione, Kuliouou, Niu Valley, Aina Haina, Waialae, Kahala) — Rep. Mark Hashem, a Democrat, was surpassing GOP candidate Ola Souza 61.7 percent to 28.7 percent.

District 20 (St. Louis Heights, Palolo, Maunalani Heights, Wilhelmina Rise, Kaimuki) — Calvin Say, a Democrat, former House speaker and one of the longest-serving lawmakers still in office, seemed assured of defeating Republican Julia Allen. Say led Allen, a perennial candidate in District 20, 66 percent to 24.6 percent.

District 22 (Waikiki, Ala Moana) — Rep. Tom Brower, a Democrat, led Republican Kathryn Henski-Stark 62.1 percent to 30.7 percent. The race was a rematch of 2016.

District 27 (Nuuanu, Liliha, Puunui, Alewa Heights) — Democratic incumbent Takashi Ohno appeared to be easily defeating back Republican Mela Kealoha-Lindsey, 66.8 percent to 23 percent.

District 30 (Kalihi Kai, Sand Island, Hickam, Pearl Harbor, Ford Island, Halawa Valley Estate) — Longtime Democratic incumbent Romy Cachola led Republican Mar Velasco 55.6 percent to 37 percent. Cachola’s primary win was unsuccessfully challenged in court over allegations of voter fraud.

District 37 (Mililani, Waipio Gentry, Waikele) — Rep. Ryan Yamane, a Democrat, was comfortably cruising to another term over Republican challenger Mary Smart, 67.2 percent to 27.3 percent.

District 40 (Ewa, Ewa Beach, Ewa Gentry, Iroquois Point) — Rep. Bob McDermott, a Republican, had no problem so far fending off Democrat Rose Martinez, 53.4 percent to 42.3 percent.

District 41 (Ewa, Ewa Beach, Ewa Gentry, Ewa Villages, Hoakalei, Ocean Pointe) — Democrat Rida Cabanilla, a former lawmaker, was poised to return to the Legislature. She had 50.3 percent of the vote to 43.2 percent for Republican Chris Fidelibus. The seat was being vacated by Rep. LoPresti.

District 46 (Wahiawa, Whitmore Village, Launani Valley) — Democrat Amy Perruso was outdoing Republican John Miller 59.4 percent to 30.4 percent. Perruso unseated Rep. Lei Learmont in the primary.

District 47 (Waialua, Haleiwa, Pupukea, Kahuku, Laie, Hauula, Waiahole, Waikane, Sunset Beach, Punaluu, Kaaawa) — Democrat Incumbent Sean Quinlan was shutting down Republican Richard Fale’s attempt at a comeback, 55.9 percent to 39.7 percent.

District 50 (Kailua, Kaneohe Bay) — Republican veteran Cynthia Thielen was trumping Democrat Micah Pregitzer 57.7 percent to 35.2 percent.

District 51 (Kailua, Waimanalo) — Rep. Chris Lee, a Democrat, was thwarting Republican challenger Noe Galeai 64.5 percent to 28.6 percent.

About the Author