Hawaii’s House Republican Caucus on Saturday elected Rep. Lauren Cheape Matsumoto (District 38: portions of Mililani and Waipio Acres, Mililani Mauka) its new House minority leader.

The other appointments are as follows:

  • Rep. Diamond Garcia (District 42: portions of Varona Village, Ewa, and Kapolei, Fernandez Village), minority floor leader.
  • Rep. Kanani Souza (District 43: Kapolei, Makakilo), minority whip.
  • Rep. Gene Ward (District 18: Portlock, Hawaii Kai, Kalama Valley), minority policy leader.
  • Rep. David Alcos (District 41: Portion of Ewa Beach, Ocean Pointe, Barbers Point), assistant minority leader.
  • Rep. Elijah Pierick (District 39: Royal Kunia, portion of Waipahu, Honouliuli, portion of Lower Village), assistant minority floor leader.
Lauren Cheape Matsumoto. Submitted

Garcia, Souza, Alcos and Pierick are new to the House minority caucus, which now numbers six out of the 51-member House controlled by Democrats.

“I am inspired by this new group of Republican Representatives with all of the strengths that they bring to the table,” Matsumoto said in a press release. “Together we will be a strong voice and advocate for the people of Hawaii.”

In the state Senate, Kurt Fevella (District 20, Ewa Beach, Ocean Pointe, Ewa by Gentry, Iroquois Point, portion of Ewa Villages) remains minority leader and minority floor leader, according to the Senate’s website.

Newly elected Sen. Brenton Awa (District 23, portions of Kaneohe, Kaaawa, Hauula, Laie, Kahuku, Haleiwa, Waialua, Schofield Barracks, Kunia Village) doubles the GOP caucus to two in the 25-member, Democratic-controlled chamber.

What stories will you help make possible?

Since 2010, Civil Beat’s reporting has painted a more complete picture of Hawaii — stories that you won’t find anywhere else.

Your donation, however big or small, will ensure that Civil Beat has the resources to provide you with thorough, unbiased reporting on the issues that matter most to Hawaii. We can’t do this without you.


About the Author