House Bill 720, which requires gun owners to report lost, stolen or destroyed firearms to county police departments within 24 hours of discovering the loss, theft or destruction of the weapon, is now law.

Gov. David Ige signed the measure today, and it goes into effect immediately.

“This reporting process will increase accountability and strengthen public safety measures,” Ige said in a press release. “This will help police officers in situations involving firearm ownership and possession, and it will protect firearm owners if their lost or stolen firearm was used in a crime.”

Christy Agena from Kaneohe fires a 9mm Beretta handgun during 23rd Annual Shooting Sports Fair sponsored by the Hawaii Rifle Association at Koko Head shooting complex. 19 june 2016
Christy Agena from Kaneohe fires a handgun during 23rd Annual Shooting Sports Fair sponsored by the Hawaii Rifle Association at Koko Head shooting complex, June 2016. Cory Lum/Civil Beat

According to the governor’s office, anyone who “intentionally or knowingly” fails to make the required report could face petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor charges “that could lead to the loss of firearms registrations, ammunition and firearms. Offenders could also be prohibited from registering, possessing or owning a firearm.”

HB 720 was authored by Rep. Chris Lee, chair of the House Judiciary Committee.

The National Rifle Association of America and the Hawaii Firearms Coalition were among the bill’s opponents.

An Important Note

If you consider nonprofit, independent news to be an essential service that helps keep our community informed, please include Civil Beat among your year-end contributions.

And for those who can, consider supporting us with a monthly gift, which helps keep our content free for those who need it most.

This year, we are making it our goal to raise $225,000 in reader support by December 31, to support our news coverage statewide and throughout the Pacific. Are you ready to help us continue this work?

About the Author