Gov. David Ige on Wednesday named six more people to his Cabinet and two deputy directors, all of whom are subject to Senate confirmation.

Ige, who was sworn in Mondaytapped Wes Machida to serve as his budget and finance director, replacing Kalbert Young, who is expected to become the chief financial officer of the University of Hawaii system.

Machida had served under Gov. Neil Abercrombie as the head of the Employees’ Retirement System, the state’s $14 billion pension fund.

ERS Executive Director Wes Machida 1

Wes Machida, executive director of the Employees’ Retirement System, speaks during an interview at the ERS’ Honolulu office, May 23, 2014.

PF Bentley/Civil Beat

Ige chose Luis Salaveria, who worked closely on the state’s $12 billion operating budget as deputy finance director under Young, to head the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism.

Luis Salaveria

Luis Salaveria was chosen to head the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism.

Office of the Governor

“We are committed to finding the best and brightest in our community to serve as effective leaders in state government,” Ige said in a statement Wednesday afternoon. “These appointments show a variety of talented and dedicated individuals from both the public and private sectors, who have decided to work together to create a better Hawaii for future generations.”

Ige has chosen Douglas Murdock to serve as comptroller, heading the Department of Accounting and General Services beginning Jan. 1. He is currently the vice president for Administrative and Fiscal Affairs of the Hawaii Tourism Authority.

James Nishimoto was named director for the Department of Human Resources Development, replacing Barbara Krieg, who is now leading HR work in the Department of Education. Nishimoto has 38 years of government service, according to the release, including high level jobs at UH working under the president and leading the budget office.

8.16.12<br /><br /><br />
Hawaii Tourism Authority<br /><br /><br />
Headshots<br /><br /><br />
Mike McCartney, David Uchiyama

Doug Murdoch was appointed to serve as comptroller, heading the Department of Accounting and General Services.

Office of the Governor

Mary Alice Evans will continue her service as deputy director at DBEDT, the release says, a post she’s held since 2011.

Rachael Wong was chosen to serve as the director of the Department of Human Services, replacing Patricia McManaman, beginning Jan. 1. Pankaj Bhanot, currently the department’s division administrator for the Benefit, Employment and Support Services Division, will serve as her deputy director.

Maria Zielinski will head the Department of Taxation, replacing Fred Pablo. She previously served as the state’s deputy comptroller and was an accounting administrator for Maui County. 

Laurel Johnston was selected as Ige’s deputy chief of staff, serving under Mike McCartney, one of only a couple Cabinet members Ige had chosen before Wednesday. Johnston was the former director of the UH budget office.

Rachael Wong

Rachael Wong was appointed to be director of Department of Human Services.

Office of the Governor

Scott Enright, Jobie Masagatani, and William Aila. Jr. are to continue serving as chairs of the Board of Agriculture, Hawaiian Homes Commission and Board of Land and Natural Resources, respectively, until their terms expire Dec. 31. Ige said Monday that a decision will be made at that time whether to retain or replace them.

The following directors and deputies have agreed to continue serving as heads and deputy directors of their respective departments as holdovers, according to the release:

  • Ken Kakesako, deputy to the chairperson of the Board of Agriculture
  • Darrell Young, deputy to the chairman, Hawaiian Homes Commission
  • Kealii Lopez, director, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
  • Jo Ann Uchida Takeuchi, deputy director, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
  • Jesse Souki, first deputy to the chairperson, Board of Land and Natural Resources
  • Maj. Gen. Darryll Wong, adjutant general and director of civil defense, Department of Defense
  • Brig. Gen. Joe Kim, deputy adjutant general
  • Gary Gill, deputy director, Environmental Health Administration, Department of Health (DOH)
  • David Sakamoto, deputy director, Health Resources Administration, DOH
  • Lynn Fallin, deputy director, Behavioral Health Administration, DOH
  • Ted Sakai, director, Department of Public Safety
  • Dwight Takamine, director, Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

Until appointments can be made to fill the positions for the duration of Ige’s term, the following employees and former first deputy directors of DAGS, the Department of the Attorney General, DHS, and DOH have been appointed to head those departments, according to the statement:

  • Kerry Yoneshige, DAGS
  • Russell Suzuki, Department of the Attorney General
  • Barbara Yamashita, DHS
  • Keith Yamamoto, DOH

Read more about Ige’s latest appointments here.

About the Author