The Hawaii House is keeping its top leaders in place while adding a few new members for next legislative session, which starts in January.

The majority caucus on Monday reaffirmed Joe Souki as speaker, a post he has held since January 2013 when he and dissident Democrats wrested control away from Calvin Say, who’d served as speaker the previous 13 years. Souki was also speaker from 1993 to 1999.

John Mizuno will stay on as vice speaker, Scott Saiki as majority leader, Cindy Evans as majority floor leader, Ken Ito as majority whip, and Roy Takumi and Chris Lee as assistant majority leaders.

New for 2017 is Marcus Oshiro as majority policy leader — a new position — and Dee Morikawa as an additional assistant majority leader, according to a House release.

Oshiro had served as the influential Finance Committee chair under Say but has been mostly sidelined since Souki took over.

Last week the Senate announced its leadership team for next session, similarly keeping it mostly the same as last session.

Speaker Joe Souki speaks to media with left, Rep Saiki responding to Nathan’s question. ‘How dare you ask me that question…’. 20 july 2016

Speaker Joe Souki, right, and Majority Leader Scott Saiki will continue in their leadership roles next legislative session.

Cory Lum/Civil Beat

About the Author