Civil Beat Staff

Anita Hofschneider

Anita Hofschneider is a reporter covering social issues for Civil Beat. She previously covered city and state politics, the environment, land use and housing. Her work has won multiple national, regional and local awards.

Prior to starting at Civil Beat, Anita covered the 2013 Hawaii legislative session for the Associated Press and interned at the Wall Street Journal in New York. She graduated from Harvard with honors in 2012 and is originally from the U.S. Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

You can follow Anita on Twitter @ahofschneider, on Instagram @anitahofschneider or email her at ahofschneider@civilbeat.org.

April 2021

Sunday, April 18

Police Killing Of Micronesian Teen In Hawaii Prompts Grief And Questions

Thursday, April 8

Hawaii’s Transgender Community Pushes For Better Health Insurance Coverage

Monday, April 5

Lawmakers Consider Adding ‘Coercive Control’ In Domestic Violence Cases

March 2021

Wednesday, March 31

For Many Hawaii Companies, The Pandemic Has Changed Work Forever

Monday, March 22

Immigration Reform Efforts In Congress Offer Hope To Hawaii ‘Dreamers’

Tuesday, March 16

Pacific Islanders, Including Hawaiians, Disproportionately Missing Out On Vaccines

Sunday, March 14

To Get Leftover Vaccines In Hawaii, It Helps To Be Related To A Hospital Employee

Thursday, March 11

Critics Say More Data Needed To Avoid Racial Inequity in Hawaii’s Vaccine Rollout

Tuesday, March 9

LGBTQ Parents May Get Help When Having A Baby In Hawaii

Thursday, March 4

Hawaii Lawmakers Consider Requiring Gender Diversity On Corporate Boards

February 2021

Friday, February 26

Hawaii Lawmakers Mull Mediation To Prevent Mass Evictions After Moratorium Lifted

Thursday, February 18

Ngeni Chon Ekkewe Mwu COFA, Iei Auwa Tongeni Nounou Sefan Ewe Medicaid

Proposal To Protect Pacific Corals Exempts Military Training Areas

Monday, February 15

It’s No Surprise That CEOs Make More Than Other Employees. But How Much Is Too Much?

Monday, February 8

Micronesians Wait Their Turn As Other Pacific Islanders Head Home

Wednesday, February 3

‘Significant’ Disparity In Use Of Force Questioned By Honolulu Police Commission

Armej Ro Iumin COFA Ilo Hawaii In Rej Maron Kio Apply Nan Medicaid

Tuesday, February 2

Advocates Say Pacific Islanders Should Be On Hawaii’s Vaccination List. Here’s Why

January 2021

Tuesday, January 26

Biden Raises Hopes For Native Hawaiians Seeking Federal Recognition

Sunday, January 24

OHA Says Better Data Is Needed To Tackle Problems Facing Native Hawaiians

Thursday, January 21

Hawaii Residents From COFA Nations Can Now Apply For Medicaid

Stranded American Samoans Are Finally Going Home After A Hawaii Quarantine

Friday, January 15

Hawaii Judiciary Launches Virtual Series On Racial Inequity

Thursday, January 14

Malakas Na Tinatamaan Ng Pandemya Ang Komunidad Ng Mga Pilipino Sa Hawaii

Wednesday, January 13

How Single Mothers In Hawaii Are Weathering The Pandemic

Monday, January 11

Gaps In Hawaii Eviction Moratorium Leave Some Renters Scrambling For Housing