Civil Beat Staff

Anita Hofschneider

Anita Hofschneider is a reporter covering social issues for Civil Beat. She previously covered city and state politics, the environment, land use and housing. Her work has won multiple national, regional and local awards.

Prior to starting at Civil Beat, Anita covered the 2013 Hawaii legislative session for the Associated Press and interned at the Wall Street Journal in New York. She graduated from Harvard with honors in 2012.

You can follow Anita on Twitter @ahofschneider, on Instagram @anitahofschneider or email her at ahofschneider@civilbeat.org.

September 2020

Thursday, September 24

Ige’s Eviction Moratorium Doesn’t Do What He Says It Does

Wednesday, September 9

Kalihi Has The Worst COVID-19 Outbreak In Hawaii. Here’s How The Community Is Responding

Friday, September 4

Here’s What Honolulu Is Doing To Test Hard-Hit Communities For COVID-19

August 2020

Friday, August 28

Women Were Already Struggling At Work. The Pandemic Is Making It Worse

Monday, August 24

Pacific Islanders Have The Highest COVID-19 Death Rate In Hawaii

How Hawaii Is Trying To Help COVID-19 Patients Stuck At Home

Friday, August 21

Researchers: State Must Support Pacific Islanders In The Pandemic

Monday, August 17

Health Officials Knew COVID-19 Would Hit Pacific Islanders Hard. The State Still Fell Short

Thursday, August 13

Community Leaders: State Is Failing Pacific Islanders In The Pandemic

Saturday, August 8

OHA: Alapa Leads Machado Forcing A November Runoff

Tuesday, August 4

Hawaii’s Eviction Moratorium Isn’t Saving These Tenants

Sunday, August 2

Hawaii Wanted To Save Insurance Money. People Died

July 2020

Wednesday, July 29

Mauna Kea Provides ‘Wake-Up Call’ For Candidates To Run For OHA

Wednesday, July 15

Here’s What You Should Know About The OHA Elections This Year

Tuesday, July 7

Advocates: Lack Of Interpreter Services At Unemployment Office Is Illegal

Monday, July 6

ACLU Presses HPD To Fix Racial Disparities In Policing

Thursday, July 2

Court: Hawaiians Deserve Compensation For State’s Poor Oversight Of Homelands

June 2020

Monday, June 29

HPD Chief Says There’s Less Racial Bias In Hawaii. She’s Wrong

COVID-19 Cases Among Pacific Islanders Surge In Hawaii

Friday, June 19

Major Player In Illegal Marshallese Adoptions Pleads Guilty To Fraud

Man Who Died In Honolulu Police Custody Identified As 28-Year-Old Kaneohe Resident

Honolulu Police Chief Hopes Nationwide Reform Movement Skips Hawaii

Thursday, June 18

Man Dies In Kaneohe While In Honolulu Police Custody

Wednesday, June 17

Shoddy Record Keeping By HPD Skews Public Picture Of Police Killings

Saturday, June 6

Pacific Islanders, Filipinos Have Highest COVID-19 Rates In Hawaii

Friday, June 5

If George Floyd Died In Hawaii, We’d Know Little About The Cop Who Killed Him

Wednesday, June 3

Many In Hawaii Grieve — And Protest — The Police Killing Of George Floyd

Monday, June 1

Pandemic Job Losses In Hawaii Curb Cash Flow To Families Abroad

May 2020

Saturday, May 30

Why The State Doesn’t Consistently Track Data On Native Hawaiians

Thursday, May 28

Lawsuit: Oahu Hospital Allegedly Shielded 2 Sexual Harassers

Thursday, May 21

Hawaii Reopened Its Civil Rights Office. But Investigations Are Still Stalled

Monday, May 18

Hawaii Medicaid Applications Soar Amid Widespread Job Losses

Wednesday, May 13

First COVID-19 Cases Reported In Hawaii Public Housing

Sunday, May 10

Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders Confront High Rates Of COVID-19 In Many States

Tuesday, May 5

The Long Wait For Unemployment Checks Is Taking A Personal Toll

Sunday, May 3

Hawaii Reports New Coronavirus-Related Death On Maui

April 2020

Wednesday, April 29

DOH Says Native Hawaiians Have A High COVID-19 Rate. But How High?

Tuesday, April 28

Hawaii Nonprofits Want More Say In How State Spends Federal Virus Aid

Monday, April 27

Immigrants And Others Struggle Applying For Hawaii Jobless Benefits

Sunday, April 26

Hawaii Reports Just 2 New Coronavirus Cases

Saturday, April 25

Guam Asks To Pause Migration From Pacific Nations During Virus Crisis

Thursday, April 23

‘What Was It All For?’: Divide Grows Over Hawaii’s Lockdown

Monday, April 20

Hawaii’s Civil Rights Office Is Still Closed During A Time It’s Needed Most

Sunday, April 19

Hawaii Reports Another Coronavirus Death, Making 10 Now

Tuesday, April 14

Hawaii Updates Unemployment Application To Include Pacific Migrants

Hawaii Appears To Be Flattening The COVID-19 Curve — For Now

Sunday, April 12

Hawaii Now Has 499 Confirmed COVID-19 Cases

Saturday, April 11

Hawaii’s New Unemployment Application Excludes Micronesian Migrant Workers

Wednesday, April 8

Sixth Person Dies From COVID-19 In Hawaii

Sunday, April 5

Survey: Most Of Us Are Staying Home During Virus Outbreak

Hawaii Coronavirus Cases Now At 371

Saturday, April 4

The Imprecise Science Of Predicting The Spread Of COVID-19

March 2020

Thursday, March 26

This Hawaii Multi-Generational Family Of 7 Worries As Coronavirus Spreads

Saturday, March 21

Hawaii Imposes Mandatory 14-Day Quarantine For All Arrivals

Number of Hawaii Coronavirus Cases Rises To 48

Thursday, March 19

Hawaii Unemployment Claims Skyrocket As Coronavirus Crisis Continues

Wednesday, March 18

Hawaii’s Biggest Industry Is Reeling As The Coronavirus Spreads

February 2020

Wednesday, February 5

Mauna Kea Ignited A New Wave Of Hawaiian Pride. Where Does It Go From Here?