Alia Wong

Alia Wong previously covered education news for Civil Beat.

A Honolulu native, Alia returned to the islands in May 2012 after graduating from Boston University with degrees in journalism and Latin American studies.

Alia was a longtime intern at Civil Beat before landing her position as a reporter-host. One of her stories, “A Lost Child of Kalaupapa,” won her the 2011 Society of Professional Journalists Hawaii Chapter award for best online feature writing.

But not all her intern assignments at Civil Beat have been as glamorous. During the summer of 2012, she had to tour (read: smell) some of Oahu’s nastiest bathrooms for her story The Dirty Dozen: The State of Honolulu’s Public Restrooms.

She sincerely hopes her editors remember she’s no longer an intern.

Before the birth of Civil Beat, Alia wrote for Honolulu Weekly. She also had a number of jobs while in Boston, including as a fellow in Boston University’s writing center and a research assistant on a long-term project that analyzed the relationship among the Mexican Revolution, international cinema and transnational politics.

Alia is a self-proclaimed globetrotter and will do anything she can to travel to new places. She developed a fascination with Latin America while in high school and hasn’t been able to keep herself away since. Most recently she traveled to Ecuador, where she lived and studied for six months.

You can follow Alia on Twitter at @aliaemily

November 2014

Tuesday, November 4

Statewide Measures: Voters Solidly Reject Money for Private Preschools

October 2014

Thursday, October 30

Preschool Measure: Big Spending by Just a Few Groups

Wednesday, October 29

Teachers Blast TIME Mag for Cover Portraying Them as ‘Rotten Apples’

Monday, October 27

New York-Based Education Super PAC Registers in Hawaii

New Hope’s Evangelism Has a Political Flavor

Tuesday, October 21

Schatz Endorses Preschool Ballot Campaign

Friday, October 17

Watch: HPD Releases Cachola Surveillance Videos, 911 Tape

Windward Community College Gets $9.9M for Native Hawaiians

Thursday, October 16

New Report Finds “Testing Overload in America’s Schools”

Parents to DOE: Why Aren’t We Being Told Sooner About Possible Child Abductions?

Wednesday, October 15

Big Bucks Going Into Preschool Ballot Initiative

Monday, October 13

UH Manoa Conducts First Massive Open Online Course

Friday, October 10

$33M Released for UH Hilo College of Pharmacy Building

UH Student Affairs Exec Recommended as Maui College Chancellor

Thursday, October 9

Is the DOE’s New Performance System Skewed Toward Elementary Schools?

Wednesday, October 8

Pahoa Charter School’s Fate Uncertain as Kilauea Lava Advances Toward Campus

Tuesday, October 7

Teachers Union Axed Preschool Ballot Campaign to Avoid Breaking Hawaii Law

Monday, October 6

Former Judge Among New Picks for UH Board of Regents

Thursday, October 2

What Happened to the Hawaii Teachers Union Preschool Ballot Campaign?

September 2014

Tuesday, September 30

Aiona, Ige Largely Like-Minded on Needed Education Reform

Monday, September 29

Study: Hawaii the 5th Worst State for Teachers

US Labor Dept Gives $10M to Hawaii Community Colleges

Friday, September 26

New Disclosure Law No Problem For These UH Regents Applicants

Thursday, September 25

Lava Flow Threatens Pahoa Schools

Tuesday, September 23

New Education Think Tank: Let’s Overcome Hawaii’s DOE Bureaucracy

Friday, September 19

National Campaign to End Campus Assaults Doesn’t Involve Hawaii Students

Thursday, September 18

UH Manoa Faculty Senate Censures President Lassner

Chemical Odor Sends 50 Honokaa Students, Staff to Hospital

The Children Left Behind: Kindergarten Age Cutoff Has Families Scrambling

Wednesday, September 17

Record Number of Hawaii Public School Students Get AP Honors

Tuesday, September 16

Candidates for Vacant UH Board of Regents Seats Announced

Classes Off to a Hot Start in Schools Without Air Conditioning

Monday, September 15

Should Public Money Be Used for Private Preschools?

Friday, September 12

USDOE Grants $20M for Native Hawaiian Education

Tuesday, September 9

Hawaii Colleges Get So-So Scores in Newest U.S. News Rankings

Thursday, September 4

UH Launching Center to Help Commercialize Research

DOE Gives Green Light to Revised Pono Choices Sex-Ed Program

August 2014

Monday, August 25

Hawaii Schools: Better Attendance Rates But Worse Test Scores

Gov. Abercrombie Releases $39M for UH Facilities Upgrades

Money 101: The State of Fiscal Affairs at the University of Hawaii at Manoa

Thursday, August 21

UH Regents Approve Replacement for Chancellor Tom Apple

Education Secretary Backs Off Use of Tests in Teacher Evaluations

Wednesday, August 20

National Poll: Most People Oppose Common Core

Tuesday, August 19

Hawaii DOE Proposes Cutting $9.2M from Special Education

Hawaii School Board Members Unhappy With Changes to Teacher Evaluations

DOE Spent $26M on New Common Core Materials

Monday, August 18

Kona Charter School Now Serving Universal Free Breakfast to Students

Friday, August 15

DOE Outsources Teacher Mentoring for $3.5 Million

Thursday, August 14

UH President Wants Languages Dean as UH Manoa Interim Chancellor

Wednesday, August 13

Teaching Force Becoming Less Stable, More Female, National Study Finds

Sunday, August 10

Hawaii’s Primary Election Turnout Likely Near All-Time Low This Year

Friday, August 8

Iselle Fizzles After Hitting Big Island, But Julio Still on Its Way

Iselle Pummels Big Island, Toppling Trees, Power Lines

Thursday, August 7

Hawaii DOE Facilities Executive to Resign

UH Closes All Campuses in Anticipation of Storm

Wednesday, August 6

Stormy Weather: Hurricane Iselle Is About to Rock Hawaii

Tuesday, August 5

Hurricane Iselle Likely to Hit Islands as Tropical Storm on Thursday

Friday, August 1

Fired UH Chancellor Says Cancer Center Politics Sparked His Termination

July 2014

Thursday, July 31

Water Complications Close 4 Kauai Schools on First Day of Classes

Students, Faculty Slam UH President for Firing Apple

Wednesday, July 30

It’s Official: Tom Apple Is Out as UH Manoa Chancellor

Charter School Commission Gives Green Light to Halau Lokahi

Tuesday, July 29

Students to Occupy Bachman Hall in Support of Apple

UH President Explains Secrecy Surrounding Chancellor Apple

Monday, July 28

Tom Apple’s Ouster: Rumor or Retaliation?

Friday, July 25

Disclosures: Googling Hawaii’s Former Board Members

Wednesday, July 23

Calvin Say Residency Trial Postponed to After Primaries

Tuesday, July 22

Thoughts on New Common Core Tests? Share Your Thoughts in Upcoming Panel

Education Improving, Poverty Worsening Among Hawaii Children

Report: College Dropouts Much More Likely to Default on Loans

Monday, July 21

Navy Gives $9M to UH for Wave Energy Research

Living Hawaii: Babies — First the Good News

Friday, July 18

UH Board of Regents Chooses New Chair, Vice Chairs

Tuesday, July 15

New 1:1 Laptop Program Boosting Engagement in Some Hawaii Classrooms

Friday, July 11

Calvin Say Ordered to Appear in Court to Prove Residency

Wanted: New University of Hawaii Regents

Waialae Avenue Repaving Project Is Finally Finished

Thursday, July 10

Researchers: CDC Autism Statistics Could Be Wrong

UH Still Hard-Pressed to Address Repair and Maintenance Backlog

Wednesday, July 9

Kahuku High Raises Minimum GPA for Athletes

Monday, July 7

UH Hilo Pharmacy School Secures Accreditation

3 of Hawaii’s Community Colleges Among Least Expensive in U.S.

USDOE Extends Hawaii’s Waiver from No Child Left Behind

Is UH Doing Its Part to Combat Sexual Assaults on Campus?

Wednesday, July 2

DOE Looks to Strengthen Civics Education in Hawaii Classrooms

June 2014

Monday, June 30

Lead Exposure Linked With Anxiety, Depression in Children

Hawaii’s School Librarians: No Longer at a Campus Near You?

Friday, June 27

Disclosure Bill Sparks Resignation of Two UH Regents

UH Faculty Union, State Agree to New Contract

Teacher Morale Emerges as an Issue in the Governor’s Race

Thursday, June 26

Hawaii Teacher Fellows Selected to Voice Common Core Concerns

Honolulu Ethics Commission Reaffirms Independence From City

U.S. Students Surpass Their Peers — in Sleepiness

Wednesday, June 25

Hawaii Is Out of Compliance With Federal Special Education Law

Still No Relief for Hawaii’s Most Overheated Classrooms

Tuesday, June 24

Quiz: Is the Cost of Attending UH a Problem?

Thursday, June 19

SCOTUS Rules in Favor of College Staffer Who Got Fired for Testimony

Commission Requires Leadership Overhaul at Indebted Charter School

Tuesday, June 17

School Board Raises Superintendent’s Salary to $200K

UH Receives Unprecedented $40M Grant for Oceanography Research

State Finds Some Good News in Latest Teen Behavior Report

Monday, June 16

UH Gets Federal $3M Grant for Hydrogen Energy Research

Friday, June 13

UH to Bob McDermott: ‘Pono Choices’ Isn’t Dead

Thursday, June 12

Hawaii State Librarian to Retire

DOE Announces Big Changes to Teacher Evaluation System

Student Loan Default Rampant at Some Hawaii College Campuses

Wednesday, June 11

DOE Forms Roundtable Amid Outcry from Retired Principals

Tuesday, June 10

Former UH President Greenwood to Retire

Gates Foundation Calls for Moratorium on Use of Common Core

Monday, June 9

Obama Signs Order to Ease Student Debt Burdens

Legislature Cancels Bonuses for Top Teachers in Struggling Schools

Friday, June 6

Major Changes Are Slated for Pono Choices Sex-Ed Program

Thursday, June 5

Gov. Abercrombie Releases $87M for School Facilities

Feds Renewing Deportation Protection Program for Undocumented Children

Wednesday, June 4

School Superintendent Gets New Contract Despite Criticism

Tuesday, June 3

Regents Select Lassner as University of Hawaii President

Monday, June 2

Principals: Hawaii DOE Needs New Leaders

May 2014

Saturday, May 17

UH Regents Schedule Public Meetings with Two Presidential Finalists

New Daniel Akaka UH Regents Scholarship Aimed at Building Native Hawaiian Leaders

Friday, May 16

UH Hilo Loosens Free Speech Rules in Response to Lawsuit

Thursday, May 15

Hawaii Legislature Blocks Funding for Family-Interaction Preschools

Wednesday, May 14

North Shore Schools Prevail in Hawaii History Day Competitions

The Right Stuff? Retired General Vies for University of Hawaii Presidency

Tuesday, May 13

$4.3M Slated for AC Upgrades at Ewa Beach Schools

Saturday, May 10

Retired General Gets Better Feedback in Second Forum on Bid for UH Prez

Friday, May 9

Commission Rejects Most Hawaii Charter School Applicants

Thursday, May 8

UH Unveils Initial Designs for Daniel Inouye Center (VIDEO)

UH Manoa One of ‘Least Desirable’ Colleges in Country, Online Analysis Suggests

East Hawaii Charter School Gets $618K from State to Plan New Campus

Wednesday, May 7

UH Presidential Finalist Wiercinski Makes First Public Appearance, Garners Criticism for Military Background

Tuesday, May 6

Hawaii Sen. Jill Tokuda Receives National ‘Champion for Charters’ Award

UH Presidential Finalists to Participate in Public Forums Statewide

First-Ever Student from Lanai Receives Full-Ride Gates Millennium Scholarship

Saturday, May 3

New Resolution Urges UH to Strengthen Sexual Violence Prevention Efforts

Friday, May 2

UH Makes Public Names of 2 Finalists for University Presidency

Feds Investigating UH Manoa and Other Colleges Over Handling of Sex Abuse Complaints

Thursday, May 1

Living Hawaii: Where Child Care Can Cost More Than College

April 2014

Wednesday, April 30

Transportation Dept. Doles Out $2.2M to Promote Safe Walking, Biking to Schools

Teen Births Cost Hawaii Taxpayers $32M Annually, New Data Suggests

Common Core: Louis C.K. is Not Impressed

Tuesday, April 29

Report: Hawaii High School Graduation Rates Among Most Equitable in US

Contractor Suing University of Hawaii Over Campus Center Delays

Saturday, April 26

Hawaii Legislature: Procedural Mixup Dooms Key Education Measures

Friday, April 25

Students Sue UH Hilo for Prohibiting Them From Distributing Constitution on Campus

Keiki to Compete in Hawaii’s First-Ever Elementary Science Olympiad

Thursday, April 24

Waianae Coast High School Seniors Ease Into College Through New Transition Program

Arbitration Panel Approves Raises for Hawaii Principals

Appeals Court: Calvin Say Must Prove He Lives in the District He Represents

Wednesday, April 23

Why Do Hawaii’s Private Schools Pay Teachers Less Than Public Schools?

Tuesday, April 22

UH Manoa Alumni Who Paid Fee for New Rec Center Can Use It — for $300 a Year

UH Narrows Final Presidential Picks to Less Than Five Candidates

State Officials Declare Tomorrow ‘UH Community Colleges Day’

Saturday, April 19

Escaping Hawaii’s Community College Trap

Saturday, April 12

Instructors Ask if Hawaii’s New Teacher Evaluation System Fails Students

Tuesday, April 8

Activists Urge Senators to Block Pastor From Another Term on Hawaii BOE

Thursday, April 3

McDermott: Gay-Friendly Tolerance Program Breaks Hawaii Ethics Code

Wednesday, April 2

Hawaii Lawmakers Mull Tempering Sharp Increase in Teaching Hours

March 2014

Friday, March 28

New Hawaii Catholic Schools Contract: Gay Teachers Can Be Fired

Wednesday, March 26

Health Care Insurers May Have to Cover Hawaii’s Autistic Children

Saturday, March 22

Hawaii’s Homeless: Kids, Parents Learn Together in Preschool Programs

Friday, March 21

Another Dental Nightmare Renews Call for Stronger Oversight in Hawaii

Monday, March 17

Living Hawaii: Many Families Sacrifice to Put Kids in Private Schools

Wednesday, March 12

Energy Drain: Is HECO a Drag on Hawaii Schools’ Renewable Power Plan?

February 2014

Friday, February 28

Keiki Care: Revolutionary Pilot Program’s Campus Health Care Targets Teens

Tuesday, February 25

Food for Thought: Many Oahu Schools Miss Basic Food Safety Checks

Thursday, February 20

Hawaii Lawmakers Mull Clearer Rules for Schools With Uncontrollable Kids

Wednesday, February 19

School Board Approves Long-Awaited Overhaul to Hawaiian Education

Tuesday, February 18

Moving the Ball: Hawaii Senator Wants Millions More for School Sports

Friday, February 14

What Will the Hawaii DOE Do With the $775K New Hope Settlement?

Thursday, February 13

What Does it Take to Run a School District?

Monday, February 10

Human-Manned Subs Are Being Phased Out — But at What Cost for Hawaii?

Thursday, February 6

Quiz Time: Will Hawaii Lawmakers Pass the Charter Schools Test?

January 2014

Thursday, January 30

Educators: Thousands of Hawaii Children Left Behind in Preschool Talks

Tuesday, January 28

Lawmakers to Consider Bills to Tighten Up Hawaii Regulation of Dentists

Friday, January 24

Problems at College-Prep in Kapolei Reveal Lack of Private School Oversight

Saturday, January 18

Death of 3-year-old Points To Lax Oversight of Hawaii Dentists

Friday, January 10

Faculty Doesn’t Buy Into Plan to Resolve UH Cancer Center Crisis

Thursday, January 9

UH Manoa Construction Surge Expected to Cause Significant Disruption

Saturday, January 4

What Hawaii’s Legislature Has in Store for Education

Wednesday, January 1

Hawaii: New For-Profit High School Equivalency Exam Hopes to Pass