Civil Beat Staff

Chad Blair

Chad Blair has been a writer, editor and teacher in Honolulu for more than 25 years. His job as reporter and editor is to cover Hawaii, especially how political decisions impact people and communities.

Chad has worked as a journalist for Pacific Business News, Hawaii Public Radio and Honolulu Weekly. He has taught at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu Community College, Hawaii Pacific University and Chaminade University of Honolulu.

A “military brat,” Chad was born on an Army base in Alabama and later lived with his family in Germany, Illinois, Nebraska and Kwajalein in the Marshall Islands. He earned a bachelor’s degree in English at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley, where he edited the school newspaper. He also minored in Spanish and studied for a semester in Mexico.

Chad worked for a year on Diego Garcia in the Indian Ocean, where he tracked satellites for the U.S. Air Force/NORAD. He then earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in American studies from UH Manoa. His dissertation, “Democracy in Hawaii: Class, Race and Gender in Local Politics” (1996), was published as “Money, Color and Sex in Hawaii Politics” (Mutual Publishing; 1998).

You can reach him by email at cblair@civilbeat.org or follow him on Twitter at @chadblairCB.

October 2020

Wednesday, October 28

OHA Candidates Take To The Airwaves In Hunt For Support

Sunday, October 25

Chad Blair: Here’s Who Really Votes For President In Hawaii

Friday, October 23

Honolulu GOP Chair Violated Federal Hatch Act

Blangiardi = Trump, Amemiya = Values

Friday, October 16

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Hawaii Voters Embrace Biden For US President

Thursday, October 15

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Voters Still Sour On Ige And Caldwell

Wednesday, October 14

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: For Prosecutor, More Voters Prefer Alm Over Kau

Tuesday, October 13

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Blangiardi Holds Commanding Lead In Mayor’s Race

Sunday, October 11

Ballot Questions Could Bolster Ethics Watchdog’s Staffing And Spending

Thursday, October 8

Steve Alm Banks On Message Of ‘Trust’ In First TV Spot

Wednesday, October 7

Voters Will Have Their Say On A Proposed Honolulu Youth Commission

September 2020

Sunday, September 27

Hawaii Carpenters Super PAC Backs Blangiardi In TV Spot

Chad Blair: Why Politics In Hawaii May Never Be The Same Again

Wednesday, September 23

In New TV Ad, Amemiya Compares Blangiardi To Trump

Monday, September 21

Survey: Hawaii Residents Give State Low Marks For COVID Response

Friday, September 18

Hawaii Mourns The Death Of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Monday, September 14

Chad Blair: How One Maui Resident Is Working To Help Ballots Arrive In Time

Tuesday, September 8

Term Limits Proposed For Offices In 3 Counties

Thursday, September 3

Chad Blair: Can David Ige Be Impeached?

August 2020

Monday, August 31

Chad Blair: Guess Who In Hawaii Is Donating To Trump And Biden?

Thursday, August 20

UH Regents Approve Emergency Action In Response To Pandemic

Tuesday, August 18

Rep. Case: Trump Must ‘Reverse Course’ On Postal Service Interference

Monday, August 17

Chad Blair: TV Anchor Joe Moore Stuns Viewers With Dubious Report On COVID-19

Monday, August 10

Chad Blair: The Primary That Upset Hawaii’s Mango Cart

Saturday, August 8

US House: Kahele, Case Easily Win Primaries

Honolulu Prosecutor: Steve Alm Finishes First, Megan Kau Second

Wednesday, August 5

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Hawaii Voters Don’t Like School, Tourism Reopen Plans

Tuesday, August 4

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Blangiardi Holds Double-Digit Lead In Honolulu Mayor’s Race

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Steve Alm Still Ahead In Race For Honolulu Prosecutor

July 2020

Wednesday, July 29

Super PAC Spends $188K To Get Kahele To Congress

Tuesday, July 28

Mayoral Candidate Aims To Break Through With TV Spot

Monday, July 27

New Rick Blangiardi TV Ads: ‘I’m Not A Politician’

Wednesday, July 22

Megan Kau Promises To ‘Prosecute All Crimes’ In New TV Ad

Tuesday, July 21

Chad Blair: There’s A High Bar For Legislative Candidates Without A Party

Friday, July 17

New Case Campaign Ad Is As Simple As His Primary Bid This Year

Monday, July 13

Maria Ressa To Speak On ‘Press Freedom Under Fire’

Sunday, July 12

Esser Prioritizes ‘Racial Injustice’ Fight In First TV Spot

Friday, July 10

Amemiya, Alm Lead Campaign Money Races For Mayor, Prosecutor

Monday, July 6

Hawaii Legislature Removes Police Exemption For Misconduct Cases

Wednesday, July 1

New TV Spots Promote Keith Amemiya’s Democratic Roots

Lawmakers Want To Keep Foreign Interference Out Of Elections

June 2020

Tuesday, June 30

A New Direction For The Hawaii Supreme Court?

Sunday, June 28

Kym Pine Touts ‘Strong, Passionate’ Leadership In Political Ad

Wednesday, June 24

Why ‘Mayor Mufi’ Wants To Be Mayor Mufi Again

Friday, June 19

Chad Blair: Did You Hear About The White Supremacists In Aloha Shirts?

Wednesday, June 17

Hanabusa: There’s No Time For On-The-Job Training In A Crisis

Wednesday, June 3

Report On Bullying By State Senator Surfaces As Tension Mounts Over Hawaii Recovery Plan

May 2020

Friday, May 29

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Retired Judge Enjoys Double-Digit Lead In Prosecutor’s Race

Thursday, May 28

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Honolulu Mayor’s Race Is Up For Grabs

Wednesday, May 27

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Stop Virus Even If Economy Crumbles

Tuesday, May 26

Civil Beat/HNN Poll: Voters Have Negative View Of Ige, Caldwell

Saturday, May 23

Biden Clobbers Sanders In Hawaii’s Presidential Primary

Tuesday, May 19

Chad Blair: David Ige, The Governor Who Cannot Govern

Wednesday, May 13

Schatz: Hawaii Not Moving Fast Enough On Contact Tracing

Monday, May 11

Back In Session: Hawaii Lawmakers Grapple With A Billion-Dollar Budget Hole

Friday, May 8

Chad Blair: How I Survived 10 Years At Civil Beat

Tuesday, May 5

Hawaii Supreme Court Hears Maui Water Case In A Historic Online Session

Saturday, May 2

Chad Blair: Nothing Screams ‘Aloha’ Like An Ankle Monitor

Friday, May 1

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Trying To Figure Out How To Get Back Into Session

April 2020

Tuesday, April 21

Chad Blair: How Long Can Our Civil Liberties Be Suspended?

Sunday, April 19

Running For Office During A Pandemic? It’s Tough For Newcomers

Saturday, April 18

Rick Blangiardi Is Back On TV, But This Time He’s A Political Candidate

Sunday, April 12

Chad Blair: Pandemic Is Scrambling State Budget Priorities

Friday, April 3

Chad Blair: Hawaii Democrats On ‘Leading Edge’ In Picking POTUS

March 2020

Saturday, March 28

Interior Official Pushing To Renew COFA Treaties This Year Despite Obstacles

Wednesday, March 25

Ige, Green Smooth Over Differences On COVID-19 Response

Tuesday, March 24

Hawaii Lt. Gov. Josh Green Banned From State’s Virus Response Effort

Friday, March 20

As Public Clamors For Information, Senate Panel On COVID-19 Goes Dark

Thursday, March 19

Hawaii State Senator Tests Positive For Coronavirus

Tuesday, March 17

Hawaii Democrats Still Figuring Out What To Do About The Primary

Thursday, March 12

Chad Blair: Voters Deserve To Know What Tulsi Gabbard’s Up To

Tuesday, March 3

Priority Bills On Housing, Education And Wages Advance At Hawaii Legislature

February 2020

Friday, February 28

House Speaker Wants Hawaii Prepared For Coronavirus Economic Hit

Chad Blair: Lawmakers Take A Stand For The First Amendment

Thursday, February 27

Hawaii Senate Panel Approves $10.5 Million For Coronavirus

Wednesday, February 26

‘Inadvertent Mistake’ Deletes Online Evaluations Of Hawaii’s Top Judges

Thursday, February 20

Chad Blair: I’ll Give You My Membership Fee When You Pry It From My Cold, Dead Hands

Friday, February 14

Chad Blair: 10 Reasons Why Hawaii Should Hold The First Presidential Primary

Tuesday, February 11

Senate’s New Sexual Harassment Policy Hailed As ‘Good Step’

January 2020

Monday, January 27

Are You Local? What These Hawaii Scholars Have To Say Might Surprise You