Robert Brown

June 2011

Wednesday, June 29

Hawaii Judiciary: We Can’t Handle Foreclosure Flood

Tuesday, June 28

Initiative Aims To Bring Hawaii’s Prisoners Home

Monday, June 27

Furor Over Fannie Mae’s Foreclosure Decision

 Abercrombie: Big Island Alternative Energy Potential Best on Earth

Friday, June 24

 Abercrombie: ‘We’re The Only Species That Make Judgments On Ourselves’

Thursday, June 23

Fannie Mae Hangs Up On Hawaii Press

Higher Court Fees Help Increase Access to Justice for Hawaii’s Needy

More Appointees Snub Hawaii Governor

Wednesday, June 22

 Carlisle: Decision-Making For Rail Has Been in My Hands

Tuesday, June 21

Appointees Resist Hawaii Gov’s Resignation Request

Saturday, June 18

Hawaii Organizations Spent $2.5 million on Lobbying in Four Months

Friday, June 17

Hot Water Woes Evaporate at Mayor Wright

Abercrombie: Unemployment Rate in Mid-2000s Was 2 Percent

Thursday, June 16

Hawaii Attorney: Failure of Foreclosure Law Inevitable

Tuesday, June 14

Fannie Mae Skirts Landmark Hawaii Foreclosure Law

Thursday, June 9

 Governor: Weekend of Civil Unions Will Bring in More Cash Than Pro Bowl

Honolulu City Council Approves Every Gift Offered in 2011

Wednesday, June 8

Hawaii Lobbyist Disagrees He Crossed Ethics Lines

Tuesday, June 7

Rod Tam Sentencing Delayed to August

Hawaii Mortgage Task Force Warned on Ethics Conflicts

Friday, June 3

Organizations Spent More Than $1 Million to Lobby in First Two Months of 2011

Sixty Percent of Hawaii Senators Filed Disclosure Reports After Session

Thursday, June 2

Most Hawaii House Reps File Disclosures After Legislative Session

May 2011

Tuesday, May 31

Chin: Lingle Added $129 Million to Cost of Rail Project

Friday, May 27

What You Won’t Learn From Honolulu Council Financial Disclosure Forms

Wednesday, May 25

Hawaii Doesn’t Require Lost Gun Reports

Tuesday, May 24

Waialae Avenue Latest Battleground In Making Honolulu Bike-Friendly

Wednesday, May 18

 Is Abercrombie Right About AARP?

Hawaii GOP: Democrats Outspent Us 3-1 in 2010

Saturday, May 14

Fighting Rail From The Other Side Of The Tracks

Thursday, May 12

Advisory Committee Hammers Out Landfill Selection Criteria

Wednesday, May 11

Abercrombie: 18,000 More Children in Medicaid Since I Ran For Governor

Rapid Transit Board Dominated by East Honolulu Residents

Tuesday, May 10

Hawaii DPS To Finally Follow Medical Pot Law

Tenants Voice Concerns About City Plans to Sell Affordable Housing

Monday, May 9

Hawaii Ethics Commission Hasn’t Issued Advisory Opinion Since 2006

UH To Study Post-Deployment Experience of National Guard Spouses

Wednesday, May 4

Hawaii Adopts Nation’s ‘Strongest’ Foreclosure Law

Session Wrap: Gifts Were Focus Of Ethics Debate

Tuesday, May 3

Hawaii Loses Substitute Teacher Class Action Suit, Could Owe $70 Million

HGEA: Public Nurse Pay ‘Woefully’ Behind Private Sector

Monday, May 2

Court Official: Hawaii Trial Judges Worst Paid in U.S.

April 2011

Saturday, April 30

Pot Bills Go Up in Smoke

Friday, April 29

Law Lets Session Draw to a Close With Few Legislators Filing Disclosures

Thursday, April 28

Gas Breaks $6 Mark in Hawaii

Wednesday, April 27

AAA: Gas Prices in Hawaii Are Now at an All-Time High

No Hawaii Lawmakers Disclose Dependents With Stocks, Mutual Funds

Monday, April 25

Most Hawaii Lawmakers Don’t Own Stock — Or So They Say, Anyway

Friday, April 22

Hawaii Disclosure Law For Government Officials Not Transparent

Thursday, April 21

The Price is Wrong

Hawaii Lawmakers Offered Free Trip to Turkey

Tuesday, April 19

Berg: Hawaii Profiteering Off Honolulu Taxpayers

Monday, April 18

19 Convictions in 17 Years — And Still on the Street

Thursday, April 14

Carlisle: Ansaldo’s Copenhagen Line One of World’s Best

Wednesday, April 13

Selling Sex In Honolulu: Tracking Arrests

Selling Sex In Honolulu: In Nine Months, Police Dept. Arrests Just One Pimp

Tuesday, April 12

Aila: FTA Required Phased-In Approach For Rail

Honolulu Personal Service Contracts Examined

Monday, April 11

Trace Levels of Radiation Detected in Hawaii Milk

Friday, April 8

Abercrombie: Mayor Wright Hot Water Woes To Be Fixed Immediately

Thursday, April 7

Should Hawaii Adopt Instant Runoff Voting?

Wednesday, April 6

What a Federal Shutdown Would Mean for Hawaii

Monday, April 4

Hawaii Gun Permits Reach Record High

Rogoff: ‘Not Unusual’ For Cities to Award 20 Percent of Rail Contracts Before FFGA

Saturday, April 2

Tea Party’s Berg Cheapest On Honolulu City Council

Friday, April 1

The Day The Gift Bill Died

March 2011

Thursday, March 31

Cachola: Honolulu Rail Project the Most Expensive in U.S.

EPA: No Radiation Found in Hawaii Milk or Water

Wednesday, March 30

Capitol Watch: March 31

Tuesday, March 29

What Should Politicians Be Required to Disclose?

Trace Amounts of Iodine-131 Found In Hawaii Radiation Monitor

Monday, March 28

Hawaii Gov. Abercrombie Defines ‘Fair Share’

Friday, March 25

Hawaii Departments Fired 67 out of 14,000 in 2010

Thursday, March 24

Hawaii Bucks National Trend: Tax Collections Up

Abercrombie: I Helped Put ‘Thousands’ of Federal Employees Back to Work

Wednesday, March 23

Judge Tosses Rail Lawsuit

Bill to Ease Gift-Giving to Lawmakers, State Employees Finds New Life

Tuesday, March 22

Cops Crash Magic Island Spring Break Party

Hawaii Anti-Nepotism Bill Facing Long Odds In House

Saturday, March 19

How To Access (Almost) Real-Time Hawaii Radiation Data From EPA

Thursday, March 17

FAQ: Nuclear Radiation, From Japan to Hawaii

Hawaii Health Officials Standing By With Anti-Radiation Medication

Wednesday, March 16

Hawaii Ethics Commission Votes to Reject Gift Bill

Tuesday, March 15

Why Navy Ships Stayed Docked in Pearl Harbor During Hawaii Tsunami

Hawaii Officials Evict Kakaako Homeless

Monday, March 14

Hawaii Tourism Will Suffer After Japan Disaster

Thursday, March 10

Bill Watch: Marijuana on a Roll at Hawaii Legislature

Bill Watch: Only 4 Ethics Bills Still Alive

Wednesday, March 9

Capitol Watch: March 10

Abercrombie: Hold Me Accountable

Tuesday, March 8

Chin: Medical Examiner’s Salary ‘Low In Comparison’

Monday, March 7

Charitable Entities: HIPA, Red Cross… Labor Unions?

Thursday, March 3

Hawaii Legislature Weighs Controversial Adoption Bill

Carlisle: In July, City Government and Rail Part Ways

Wednesday, March 2

Carlisle: $29 Million Would Keep Honolulu Running For Five Days

Tuesday, March 1

Hawaii Gift Bill Eviscerated

February 2011

Monday, February 28

Bill Would Lift Limits on Gifts to Lawmakers

Friday, February 25

 Carlisle: 18 Holes For $4.50

Thursday, February 24

Honolulu Police Officer Not Guilty of Brutality Charge

Wednesday, February 23

 Ward: Gov’s Budget Raises Taxes By Over $500 Million

Tuesday, February 22

Abercrombie Keeps Public Housing Promise

Thursday, February 17

Usual Suspects Gave Big Bucks For Abercrombie Inauguration

Wednesday, February 16

Discussion: Affordable Housing

Monday, February 14

Radcliffe: Most Government Buildings ‘Full of Mold and Virus’

Thursday, February 10

Even with Free Land, ‘Affordable Housing’ Fails

Wednesday, February 9

Cachola: Lots of Other States Have Worse Homeless Problems

Tuesday, February 8

Woman Swims From Mexico to Hawaii

Attorney General: One Ounce of Weed = 56 Joints

Monday, February 7

Hawaii Lawmakers Drown Themselves in Ink

Friday, February 4

Should Residents Be Forced to Register to Vote?

Thursday, February 3

Bill Watch: Marijuana

Fighting For Their Homes

Tuesday, February 1

Cayetano: Cost Overruns for Rail Systems Average 40 Percent

January 2011

Monday, January 31

Hawaii Is the Only State to Assess Hotel-Room Tax on Timeshare Owners

Saturday, January 29

Bill Watch: Ethics

Bill Watch: Lobbying

Thursday, January 27

Honolulu Prosecutor Says Hawaii Doesn’t Need A Human Trafficking Law

Abercrombie: Aloha Stadium Improvement Plans Could Take 40 Years

Wednesday, January 26

Abercrombie: Projection of Deficit Was ‘Considerably Less’ in October 2010

Kaneshiro Wants Stiffer Prostitution Penalties

Honolulu Tests Water at 11 Sites for Carcinogen

Tuesday, January 25

Abercrombie Responds to Civil Beat Fact Check

Monday, January 24

Abercrombie: “We Will Not Be Raising Any Taxes”

Thursday, January 20

The Big Fat Gray Area of Lobbying Laws

Tuesday, January 18

Lobbyist Violations in Hawaii? Who Knows

Thursday, January 13

UH Athletics Takes a Gamble to Pay Back Debt

Friday, January 7

Today’s Disclosure, Yesterday’s News

Thursday, January 6

State Health Officials: Drink Up, the Water is Fine

Wednesday, January 5

Inside Honolulu: Jan. 5

Tuesday, January 4

Loophole Limits Disclosure of Lawmakers’ Income