Sophie Cocke

Sophie Cocke is a former reporter for Civil Beat.

April 2015

Thursday, April 9

Oahu Faces a Future With Far Fewer Beaches

March 2015

Tuesday, March 31

Why Did the City Approve a New Seawall for a Kahala Property After the State Ordered It Removed?

Monday, March 30

Feds Give OK to NextEra Purchase of Hawaiian Electric

Tuesday, March 17

House Committee Kills Homeless Bill of Rights

Man Dies In Police Custody After Being Tased, Pepper Sprayed

Friday, March 13

State Study: Possible Sand Island Homeless Camp Site is Safe

Wednesday, March 11

Will Hawaii Finally Become Last State to Ban New Cesspools?

Monday, March 9

Saving Waikiki Beach — At Least for Now

Friday, March 6

Women In Renewable Energy Ban the Press

Monday, March 2

Caldwell Administration Stresses Fiscal Austerity in 2016

Living Hawaii: How Come Our Electric Bills Are Still So High?

February 2015

Friday, February 27

Despite City’s Sit-Lie Crackdown, Homeless Aren’t Moving Into Shelters

Tuesday, February 24

Ormat Awarded Big Island Geothermal Contract

Caldwell Vows Not to Run From Rail, Homeless Problems

Monday, February 23

Caldwell to Deliver 2015 State of the City Address

Thursday, February 19

Hawaii Solar Industry Hemorrhaging Jobs

Councilman Menor Proposes New Housing Office

NYTimes: The Debate Over Housing the Homeless

Wednesday, February 18

Senate Confirmation Panel to Take Up Ching Nomination

Regulators Reject Petitions to Delay NextEra’s Purchase of HECO

Eight Industrial-Sized Solar Farms in the Works

Tuesday, February 17

Big Island Electric Co-op Seeks to Intervene in NextEra Sale

Monday, February 16

Waning of Hawaii’s Solar Boom is Getting Noticed

Thursday, February 12

Is Carleton Ching the Man to Protect Hawaii’s Public Lands?

Tuesday, February 10

Caldwell to Sign Bill that Bans Sitting and Lying in Outdoor Malls

Hawaii Lawmakers Hear Bill to Repeal Undersea Cable Law

Thursday, February 5

City Seeks Public Input on Overhaul of Blaisdell Center

Wednesday, February 4

Hawaii Consumer Advocate: Review of NextEra Deal Should Proceed

Tuesday, February 3

Clean Energy Advocates Push for 100 Percent Renewables

January 2015

Friday, January 30

Feds Order Cleanup of Sand Island Oil Spill

Thursday, January 29

NextEra Says Hawaii Customers Will Save $60 Million in HECO Merger

City of Honolulu Hiring Practices: Not Everyone Gets a Fair Shot

Wednesday, January 28

Legislators Find NextEra and HECO Execs Short on Details

Monday, January 26

NextEra Deal Sparks Talk of Big Island Electric Co-op

Friday, January 23

Ige Taps Castle & Cooke Lobbyist to Lead Land and Natural Resources Department

Wednesday, January 21

New Maps Chart Homeless Across the Nation, Hawaii Ranks #1

HECO Seeks to Make Rooftop Solar More Common, Less Lucrative

Friday, January 16

Ige Picks Randy Iwase for Hawaii’s PUC Chair as Major Energy Decisions Loom

Thursday, January 15

Big Island Geothermal Plant Fined for Clean Air Violations

Wednesday, January 14

Clean Energy Groups Urge Regulators to Hold off on NextEra Approvals

Tuesday, January 13

Oahu Residents Asked to Cut Energy Use Again

Honolulu Nonprofits Say the City Is Ignoring Them on Loan Requests

Monday, January 12

PUC Chair Mina Morita Resigns

Friday, January 9

Hawaiian Electric Execs Could Get Big Payouts in NextEra Deal

Attorneys Question Hawaii PUC’s Approval of Wind Farm

Wednesday, January 7

The High Price of Wind Energy in Breezy Hawaii

Tuesday, January 6

Kahuku ‘Is Going To Be Surrounded by Wind Turbines’

Monday, January 5

Honolulu Zoo Loses Another Director

Honolulu City Council Continues on Collision Course With Mayor

Friday, January 2

Honolulu Zoning Committee to Tackle Illegal Vacation Rentals

Honolulu City Council Committee Chairs Picked