The council in charge of nominating candidates for the University of Hawaii’s Board of Regents today announced the finalists for the four seats that were vacated because of a new law requiring members to submit public financial disclosure statements.

Specifically, the law requires that members of the Board of Regents and another 14 boards and commissions publicize their financial interests. Earlier this summer, the measure prompted the resignations of at least 16 members, including four regents: Carl Carlson (Hawaii County), John Dean (Honolulu), Saedene Ota (Maui) and Tom Shigemoto (Kauai).

The board is made up of 15 seats total.

Photo illustration showing the four members of the UH Board of Regents who have resigned in recent week over financial disclosure issues.  Left to right:  Carl Carlson Jr., John Dean Tom Shigemoto and Saedene Ota.

Photo illustration showing the four members of the UH Board of Regents who have resigned in recently. From left, Carl Carlson Jr., John Dean, Tom Shigemoto and Saedene Ota.

PF Bentley/Civil Beat

Now, the regents’ Candidate Advisory Council has presented a list of candidates to Gov. Neil Abercrombie to fill the four seats on an interim basis. The duration of the appointments is subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Here are the candidates:

City and County of Honolulu (term expires in June 2017)

  • Simeon Acoba, Jr.
  • Peter Adler
  • Maralyn Kurshals
  • Michael McEnerney
  • Russel Nagata

Hawaii County (term expires in June 2016)

  • Wayne Higaki
  • Peter Hoffmann
  • Roy Vitousek III

Kauai County (term expires in June 2017)

  • Dileep Bal
  • David Iha
  • Klaus Keil

Maui County (term expires in June 2015)

  • Sherrilee Dodson
  • Anders Lyons
  • Helen Nielsen

The advisory council began recruiting nominees in July following the resignations. The candidates were personally recruited by council members or recommended by government and community leaders.

The council is also seeking candidates for five-year appointments to the Honolulu and Maui County seats.

The council was created in 2006, when voters approved a constitutional amendment allowing the governor to select regents from a pool of candidates proposed by the council.


About the Author