Civil Beat Staff

Christina Jedra

Christina Jedra is a watchdog reporter on the City and County of Honolulu beat. She writes stories that hold the government accountable for how it spends your tax dollars and makes decisions that affect the lives of everyone on Oahu. Her coverage area includes the mayor, the Honolulu City Council and the Honolulu Police Department.

Previously, Christina was an investigative reporter for the Delaware News Journal. Using public records and persistence, she uncovered stories including the city council’s misuse of taxpayer dollars, workplace fraud in a construction training program, prison healthcare failures, falsified documents in an addiction treatment program and more.

Her investigative stories have sparked criminal investigations and penalties and prompted legislative and policy changes. She was recognized several times by the Maryland-Delaware-DC Press Association, which awarded her a first-place prize and a best of show award in investigative reporting in 2019.

Christina’s first full-time job in journalism was at The Capital newspaper in Annapolis, Maryland.

A graduate of Emerson College in Boston, Christina interned with The Baltimore Sun, The Boston Globe, The New England Center for Investigative Reporting and USA Today. Christina was born and raised in New Jersey and has strong feelings about quality bagels and pizza.

Christina welcomes story ideas and anonymous tips at cjedra@civilbeat.org. You can follow her on Twitter @ChristinaJedra.

April 2021

Tuesday, April 20

Blangiardi Nominates Former Mainland Officer To Honolulu Police Commission

HPD Says It Won’t Release Video Of Officers Fatally Shooting 16-Year-Old

Monday, April 19

How Honolulu Will Select Its Next Police Chief

Friday, April 16

Police Body Cam Footage Shows Officers Struggle With, Shoot Man In Nuuanu

Thursday, April 15

HPD: Officers Shot Man After Home Invasion, Assault On Officers

Wednesday, April 14

Honolulu Police Shoot, Kill Break-In Suspect In Nuuanu

Tuesday, April 13

Blangiardi’s Pick For Police Commission Withdraws Nomination

A Building Inspector Took Money From A Homeowner. Her Punishment: 2 Years Paid Time Off

Friday, April 9

Embattled Honolulu Police Chief Announces Retirement

Wednesday, April 7

Police Commission Slams Chief For Leadership Failures, Puts Her On Improvement Plan

Blangiardi And Ige Agree To Keep Looser COVID Restrictions Despite Rising Cases

City Permits Employee Pleads Guilty To Accepting Bribe To Expedite Project

New Honolulu Police Policy On Using Force Aims To Defuse Tense Situations

Tuesday, April 6

As Honolulu Opens Up, Some Artists Wonder Why Their Venue Is Still Shut Down

Monday, April 5

Honolulu Police Chase And Shooting Leaves 16-Year-Old Suspect Dead, Others Injured

Despite Rising Cases, Blangiardi ‘Dead Set Against’ Return To Tier 2 For Honolulu

HPD Chief Susan Ballard Is Up For Review This Week. Is She Still Up To The Job?

March 2021

Tuesday, March 30

Five Honolulu Planning Department Employees Indicted For Bribery

Monday, March 29

Na Leo CEO To Take Leave Following Bribery Allegations

Sunday, March 28

Hawaii Nonprofit Leader Pleads Guilty To Embezzling And Agreeing To Take A Bribe

Friday, March 26

Honolulu Police Overtime Reached New Heights In The Last Fiscal Year

Wednesday, March 24

Blangiardi Nominates Former HPD Officer For Police Commission

Tuesday, March 23

Despite Lawsuit, HPD Still Lacks Conflict Of Interest Policy

Monday, March 22

Honolulu Council Hopes Federal Relief Can Reverse Cuts In Blangiardi Budget 

Wednesday, March 17

Consider Shifting Police Funds To Social Services, Police Commission Says

Tuesday, March 16

HPD Lawsuit Settlement: Teen Arrested By Classmate’s Father To Receive $150,000 

Monday, March 15

Budget Realities Undermine Blangiardi’s Vision For Honolulu

Thursday, March 11

Honolulu Adjusts COVID Rules To OK Bars, Large Funerals And Sports

COVID-19 Is Airborne. So Why Doesn’t Hawaii Have Pandemic Air Quality Standards?

Tuesday, March 9

Feds Examining Honolulu Police CARES Spending On ATVs, Robot Dog

Thursday, March 4

Police Commissioners: Redirect HPD Funds To Social Services And Cut Overtime

Tuesday, March 2

Blangiardi Proposes Slashing Honolulu Budget, No Tax Rate Hikes

Monday, March 1

Here’s What Happens When Social Workers, Not Police, Respond To Mental Health Crises

February 2021

Thursday, February 25

Honolulu Council Chair Calls For Audit Of HPD Overtime

Proposal Would Streamline Involuntary Treatment Of Those With Severe Mental Illness

Tuesday, February 23

Mayor: Oahu Pandemic Restrictions Set To Loosen On Thursday

Friday, February 19

Honolulu Mayor Files Financial Disclosure — 3 Weeks Late

Friday, February 12

Honolulu: Blangiardi Keeps Oahu’s Pandemic Restrictions In Place

Thursday, February 11

Hawaii Homeless Program Failed After Prosecutors And Police Wouldn’t Play Ball

Wednesday, February 10

Will This Watchdog Bite? The Honolulu Police Commission Is At A Crossroads

Wednesday, February 3

‘Significant’ Disparity In Use Of Force Questioned By Honolulu Police Commission

January 2021

Friday, January 29

Civil Beat Sues Honolulu Police To Make Officer Overtime Data Public

Monday, January 25

She Was About To Lose Her Job. Then Her Dad’s Department Hired Her

Friday, January 15

Congresswoman Concerned About Hawaii Pandemic Response Got No Answers From Ige

Thursday, January 14

New Honolulu Mayor, Same Pandemic Tier System For Now

Tuesday, January 12

New Honolulu Prosecutor Pledges To Restore Trust

Monday, January 11

City, State Officials Monitoring Threats From Right-Wing Extremists

Sunday, January 10

Honolulu Police Spent $150,000 In CARES Funds On A Robot Dog

Thursday, January 7

Hawaii ‘Proud Boy’ Could Face Consequences With Help Of US Attorney

Wednesday, January 6

Caldwell’s Top Aide Lands City Council Gig To Cash In On Retirement Benefits