Reporter

Kevin Knodell

Kevin Knodell reports on the military and veterans in Hawaii and the greater Pacific for Civil Beat as a corps member for Report For America, a national nonprofit that places journalists in local news rooms to cover underreported topics. Report for America Corps members also undertake public service projects that help community members tell their own stories.

Kevin has worked for small town newspapers, national magazines and digital media startups. As a freelance journalist he has reported from the field on Northeast Syria’s Rojava Revolution, reported on wildfires in the Pacific Northwest, explored Iraqi Kurdistan’s night life and interviewed Navy SEALs, revolutionaries, mercenaries, pole dancers and politicians.

His writing and photography have appeared at Playboy, The Daily Beast, Vice, The Nib, Crosscut and others. As a contributing editor for the digital conflict news collective War is Boring he spent as a year as the coordinator for the Iraq and Syria field team during the Yazidi Genocide and worked with the investigative news team.

Kevin’s most recent assignment before joining Civil Beat was as a correspondent for Coffee or Die Magazine in Iraq and Syria where he covered the consequences of the Turkish invasion of Northeast Syria in the fall of 2019, confrontations between U.S. troops and Iranian-backed militias and how the spread of COVID-19 has complicated both the political and humanitarian situation in the region. Kevin received the 2021 Military Reporters & Editors Association Award for best overseas coverage for his work in Kirkuk.

He is a producer for the podcast Angry Planet, a weekly look at a world in conflict. He’s also the co-author of Machete Squad and The ‘Stan from Dead Reckoning Graphic Novels, was one of the lead writers of the War is Boring: True War Comics series and wrote the Acts of Valor comic series for the magazine Naval History with cartoonist Kelly Swann from 2017-2019.

Kevin has also worked as a comic shop clerk, a paint delivery driver, security guard, event photographer and done various other odd jobs for rent and beer money. He was born and raised in Portland, Oregon and studied history and communications at Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma, Washington. In his free time he is a mediocre illustrator and okay photographer.

September 2021

Thursday, September 16

Air Force And Marines Team Up For First Trans-Pacific Reaper Drone Flights

Thursday, September 2

Kūlanalana Ka ʻAelike E Pau Ai Ka Hukihuki: Makemake ʻIa Ko Oʻahu Awāwa ʻO Mākua E Ka Pūʻali Koa A Me Ka Lāhui Hawaiʻi Ponoʻī

Wednesday, September 1

The Military Wants Ideas On How To Turn Down The Volume In Hawaii’s Noisy Skies

August 2021

Tuesday, August 24

The Hawaii National Guard’s Covid Task Force Is Extended Through December

Sunday, August 22

Here’s Why The Navy Is Betting On Wave Energy Research In Hawaii

Tuesday, August 17

The VA Is Shopping For Land For A ‘One-Stop Shop’ Clinic In Maui

Monday, August 16

Hawaii Congressional Delegation Urges Biden To Speed Up Airlift Of Afghans

Sunday, August 15

A Shaky Truce: The Army And Native Hawaiians Both Want Oahu’s Makua Valley

Friday, August 13

Troops Can’t Sue The Military For Discrimination. This Hawaii Sailor Wants To Change That

Monday, August 9

Military Moves To Mandate Vaccines For Troops Next Month

Hawaii-Based Soldiers Train In Indonesia As US Seeks To Solidify Ties

Monday, August 2

Global Competition Over Fish Stocks Increasingly Affects Hawaii

July 2021

Thursday, July 29

Case Tries Again To Get The Army To Fix Tripler’s Parking Problem

Wednesday, July 28

Micronesian President Discusses Military Issues During Hawaii Visit

Thursday, July 22

Hirono Stresses Shipyards And Shipbuilding In Navy Funding Deal

Wednesday, July 21

Hawaii Officials Are Making A Cybersecurity Push To Keep Federal Contracts Flowing

Thursday, July 15

Navy To Review Impact Of Pacific Training After 2 Whales Die During Exercise

Tuesday, July 13

PODCAST: Hawaii’s Complicated Relationship With European Honey Bees

Sunday, July 11

Navy Agrees To Fix Pearl Harbor Wastewater Treatment Plant

Tuesday, July 6

A Hawaii Hospital Told A Veteran The VA Wouldn’t Cover His Surgery. The VA Disagrees

Saturday, July 3

SLIDESHOW: French Warplanes Train in Honolulu

June 2021

Monday, June 28

VA Wants A Review Of Hawaii’s Veterans Cemeteries After Finding Two In Rough Shape

Thursday, June 24

Hawaii’s National Guard Begins Winding Down Its COVID-19 Response Teams

Monday, June 21

Oahu Veterans Bid Emotional Farewell To Coast Guard Ship Getting ‘New Life’ In Vietnam

Thursday, June 17

Nā Hihia E Pohihihi Ai Ka Haʻaheo O Ke Kanaka Maoli Nāna E Komo I Ka Pūʻali Koa

Wednesday, June 16

French Warplanes To Train With US Military In Hawaii As Allies Solidify Ties

Tuesday, June 15

Russian Military Exercise Prompted US Fighter Jets To Scramble, Military Says

Sunday, June 13

How Hawaii Sen. Dan Inouye Helped Set The Stage For UFO Research

Friday, June 11

Veterans Say ‘Guam Option’ Is The Last Chance To Save Afghans Who Helped The US

Tuesday, June 8

Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam Locked Down Over Security Threat

Sunday, June 6

Battle Of Midway Commemorated As Rebuilt Barbers Point Memorial Unveiled

Gen. Charles Flynn Returns To Hawaii As Commander Of US Army Pacific

May 2021

Friday, May 21

Marines Scrap Hawaii-Based Attack Helicopters After Just Three Years

Monday, May 17

Hawaii’s Fishermen Are Worried About China’s Fleet. So Is The Military

Tuesday, May 11

More Marines Are Coming To Hawaii. Will Kaneohe Be Ready For Them?

Friday, May 7

Navy Investigating Fuel Leak At Red Hill

Tuesday, May 4

Ed Case Revives Ambitious Pacific Island Foreign Policy Bill

April 2021

Friday, April 30

Outgoing INDOPACOM Commander Warns China Seeks To Dominate Pacific

Wednesday, April 28

Navy Dismisses Pearl Harbor Submarine Commander Due To ‘Loss of Confidence’

Tuesday, April 27

NOAA Keeps Deploying Fishery Observers But With Limits Amid Pandemic

Friday, April 23

Three Troops Arrested In Hawaii Sting Targeting Child Sexual Predators

Wednesday, April 14

Sailor Who Took His Own Life At Honolulu Resort Was A Career Navy Man

Monday, April 12

The Navy Has Promised Action On Mental Health And Suicide, But Sailors Are Still Dying

Sunday, April 11

Military Pilots Try To Keep Hawaii Skies Quiet. Here’s Why It’s Hard

Retiring Native Hawaiian Army General Was A Trailblazer

Thursday, April 8

Navy Dismisses Commander Of Pearl Harbor Destroyer Over Morale Problems

March 2021

Sunday, March 21

Rep. Kai Kahele Wants New Missile Defense Radar System On Kauai — Not Oahu

Sunday, March 14

Veterans Near End Of Fight To Return Barbers Point Memorial To West Oahu

Thursday, March 11

Military Has Begun Vaccinating Troops And Family Members From Age 16

Friday, March 5

The VA’s Pacific Island Director Wants Closer Cooperation With Tripler

Thursday, March 4

Military Spouses Hope For Easier Ways To Get Licensed To Work In Hawaii

February 2021

Saturday, February 27

Hundreds Of Military Vets Get COVID-19 Vaccines In Hawaii

Friday, February 26

Military Health Chief Says Demand For COVID-19 Vaccine Outpacing Supply

Wednesday, February 17

The Complicated Pride Of Native Hawaiians In The Military

Tuesday, February 9

Hawaii Wants To Form A Defense Industry ‘Alliance’ For Local Businesses

Monday, February 8

New Space Force Guardians Sworn In On Maui

Thursday, February 4

Military Charges Soldier With Murder Of His Wife On Schofield Barracks

January 2021

Friday, January 29

A Dozen Sailors Test Positive For COVID-19 On Pearl Harbor Warship

A Bitter Domestic Dispute Could Shake Up How The Navy Handles Abuse Cases In Hawaii

Tuesday, January 26

Marines In Hawaii Are Training For A Return To Island Fighting

Friday, January 15

Soldier Arrested In Woman’s Death At Schofield Barracks, Army Says

Thursday, January 7

Hawaii National Guard Turns Plane Into ‘Mobile Vaccination Clinic’