Civil Beat Staff

Nick Grube

Nick Grube is the Washington, D.C. correspondent for Honolulu Civil Beat. Prior to that he was an investigative reporter focusing on criminal justice and legal affairs, a position that led him to one of the largest public corruption scandals in Hawaii history. The case, which is still ongoing, resulted in the federal indictment of a former police chief, his prosecutor wife and several police officers.

Nick’s coverage of police misconduct has resulted in several changes to Hawaii law, including the creation of a new oversight agency to make sure officers meet minimum training standards and requirements. His series on problem officers in the Honolulu Police Department helped spur the creation of the Civil Beat Law Center for the Public Interest, a nonprofit law firm that helps citizens and journalists get access to public records. The law center has represented Civil Beat in several cases some of which have been argued before the Hawaii Supreme Court.

In 2015, Nick and a colleague undertook a investigative project that uncovered major shortcomings in financial oversight of Honolulu’s multi-billion dollar rail project that was both behind schedule and over-budget. As a result, the Honolulu City Council changed city law to require the agency overseeing the project to provide more detailed financial information to the public about the subcontractors working on the project.

Nick’s career in journalism began at the University of Wisconsin—Madison and took him to California, Oregon, Hawaii and Washington, D.C. He’s covered everything from prison gangs to politics. His work has been recognized by several organizations, including the California Newspaper Publishers Association, Society of Professional Journalists and Online News Association. He was selected in 2018 by the National Press Foundation for the Paul Miller Washington Reporting Fellowship, a nine month program for promising young journalists based in the nation’s capital.

News tips are welcome and appreciated. Send them directly to nick@civilbeat.org or anonymously using this Tipbox link, which uses automatic encryption. (NOTE: If you send a tip through Tipbox Nick cannot respond unless there’s contact information in the body of the message.)

April 2021

Wednesday, April 14

Another $800M For Rail? Don’t Count On It, Schatz Says

Friday, April 9

New SHOPO TV Spots Aim For A Positive Police Image

Thursday, April 1

Hawaii Jockeys For Advantage In Biden’s $2 Trillion Infrastructure Plan

March 2021

Wednesday, March 24

Why The Public Needs To Know More About Police Contract Talks

Friday, March 12

Mazie Hirono Pushes DOJ To Take On Anti-Asian Hate Crimes

Thursday, March 11

Maui Police Chief Retiring While Under Commission Scrutiny For Hit-And-Run

Wednesday, March 10

Brian Schatz: ‘Native Wisdom’ Needs To Be Part Of US Climate Policy

New Federal Relief Bill Will Help Hawaii. But It’s Still Not Enough For A Full Recovery

Thursday, March 4

Kahele, Case Divided On Whether Inmates Should Vote From Prison

Wednesday, March 3

Judge Upholds New State Law Requiring Police Misconduct Disclosure

February 2021

Sunday, February 28

Kenji Price: An Uncertain Future For A Republican In Deep Blue Hawaii

Monday, February 22

Police Accountability An ‘Essential Element’ In Rebuilding Trust, Garland Says

Wednesday, February 17

Schatz: Coronavirus Relief Package Is ‘My No. 1 Priority’

Tuesday, February 16

Hawaii US Attorney Will Leave Office Sooner Than Expected

Saturday, February 13

‘Sad And Shameful’: Hawaii Senators React To Trump Acquittal

Friday, February 12

Hawaii Proud Boy In Pro-Trump Mob Pleads Not Guilty To Conspiracy

Wednesday, February 10

Will This Watchdog Bite? The Honolulu Police Commission Is At A Crossroads

Sunday, February 7

Hawaii Longliners Take Action To Fight Poor Conditions And Human Trafficking

Wednesday, February 3

Judge Sends Former Cop Who Flipped On The Kealohas To Prison

January 2021

Thursday, January 28

HPD Chief Shakes Up Covert Intelligence Unit After Years Of Scandal

Wednesday, January 20

Hawaii Troops Help Secure US Capitol As Biden Takes Oath

Friday, January 15

Hawaii ‘Proud Boy’ Told To Stay Away From DC Or Face Another Arrest

Wednesday, January 13

Hawaii Reps Impeach Trump While Vowing To Not ‘Live In Fear’

Monday, January 11

Hawaii ‘Proud Boy’ Released From Custody, Still Faces Charge In DC

Friday, January 8

Hawaii Proud Boy Charged By DOJ After Raiding US Capitol

Thursday, January 7

Members Of Hawaii Delegation Call For Immediate Removal Of Trump

Wednesday, January 6

HPD Deputy Says ‘We Did Nothing Wrong’ In Surveillance Of Cabinet Official

Our DC Reporter Had A Close-Up View Of The Mob Taking Over The Capitol

Monday, January 4

Conspiracy Charge Dismissed Against Katherine Kealoha Victim