Civil Beat Staff

Suevon Lee

Suevon Lee joined Honolulu Civil Beat as a reporter in June 2017.

She was previously based in Los Angeles, where she wrote for legal news wire Law360. She also served as editor-in-chief of former print culture magazine, KoreAm Journal.

She has also worked in New York, where she was a reporting intern for ProPublica and editor/reporter for an affiliate publication of the New York Law Journal. She has also spent time in Florida, covering courts for the Ocala Star-Banner.

Originally from the D.C. suburbs, Suevon graduated from the University of Maryland with a degree in English. She holds a masters from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism and a master of studies in law from Yale Law School.

You can reach Suevon via email at slee@civilbeat.org or follow her on Twitter at @suevlee.

October 2020

Monday, October 26

Why Some Hawaii Parents Now Want Their Kids In Private School

Friday, October 23

Military Family Struggles To Find School Routine That Works

Wednesday, October 21

More Hawaii Parents Are Pulling Their Kids From DOE To Home School

Tuesday, October 20

DOE Officials Have Spent $38M On Devices For Students

Thursday, October 15

Hawaii Board Of Education Votes To End Controversial Distance Learning Program

Friday, October 9

Hawaii Ed Board Chair Expects Acellus To ‘Drop Dead’ By End Of School Year

September 2020

Tuesday, September 29

Hawaii DOE Has Struggled To Cope With The Pandemic. Can It Do Better?

Sunday, September 27

Hip-Hop And Hindi Fill This Second Grader’s Distance Learning Days

Thursday, September 17

Hawaii Schools To Continue Mostly Distance Learning Through December

Tuesday, September 15

‘Equity Specialists’ Are Reviewing Hawaii DOE’s Problematic Online Learning Program

Sunday, September 13

Distance Learning Means ‘Musical Chairs’ For Windward Oahu Family

Tuesday, September 1

Hawaii DOE’s Distance Learning Tool ‘Very, Very Questionable’

August 2020

Saturday, August 29

Auditor: DOE Should Be Releasing More Info About COVID-19 In Schools

Monday, August 24

Hawaii Schools Dump Distance Learning Program Over ‘Racist’ Content

Thursday, August 20

New COVID-19 Response Team Will Help Schools Deal With Positive Cases

Hawaii Principals Are Left To Trust Their ‘Gut’ On How To Reopen Schools

Monday, August 17

DOE Struggles To Get Students The Technology They Need For Online Learning

Sunday, August 16

Parents Navigate Difficult Choices Around Schools’ Reopening Plans

Thursday, August 13

Teachers Union, DOE Bicker Over Back-To-School Plans

Wednesday, August 12

Instructors For Hire: How The Pandemic Is Fueling A New Side Business

Tuesday, August 11

DOE Announces 13 Cases Of COVID-19 In Schools On Oahu, Kauai

Private Schools Debate Requiring Waivers For Students To Return

July 2020

Thursday, July 30

Hawaii Board of Education Approves Delay To New School Year

Wednesday, July 29

Education Spending Drives Races For Hawaii Legislature

Monday, July 27

Candidates In District 7 Race Tout Community Ties To Kalihi

Friday, July 24

Some Hawaii Teachers Will Still Get An Extra Pay Boost Despite Looming Budget Cuts

Thursday, July 23

State Ed Board Still Undecided On Sending Kids Back To The Classroom

Thursday, July 16

Hawaii Health Officials Back Superintendent’s Plan To Reopen Schools

Tuesday, July 14

Hawaii’s Charter Schools Are Listening To Parents When It Comes To Reopening

Thursday, July 9

Proposed Classroom Set-Up Draws Protests From Teachers

Monday, July 6

School Nurses Turn To Telehealth To Reach Students

Sunday, July 5

Civil Beat’s Virtual Education Event Digs Into Distance Learning

Thursday, July 2

Here’s How Hawaii Plans To Bring Kids Back To School This Fall

June 2020

Monday, June 29

State Teachers Union, DOE Agree To Reopening Terms

Monday, June 22

Teachers Report Difficulties In Reaching Students, Remote Learning During School Closures

How 12 Teens Who’d Never Met Before Organized Honolulu’s Black Lives Matter Protest

Tuesday, June 16

Face Masks, Temperature Checks: The New Reality For Summer School Students

Thursday, June 11

Hawaii Is Spending $16M In Federal Aid For Summer Learning Programs

Wednesday, June 10

Teachers, Just Like Other Working Parents, Are In A Bind Over Lack Of Child Care

Saturday, June 6

Thousands Show Up Across Hawaii To Protest Racial Injustice

Wednesday, June 3

Schools Chief Hopes To See Hawaii Elementary Schools Open By August

May 2020

Sunday, May 24

Hawaii Schools Under Pressure To Provide More Data About Remote Learning

Thursday, May 21

Hawaii School Superintendent Gets ‘Effective’ Rating From Board

Current Board of Education Member May Not Be Renominated

Tuesday, May 19

Hawaii Public Schools Gear Up For Summer Programs

Thursday, May 14

DOE Is Opening Up Classrooms This Summer For Some Students

Thursday, May 7

Schools Chief: Use Federal Bailout Money To Avoid Teacher Pay Cuts

UH Is Making Students Vacate Campus Housing Next Week

Wednesday, May 6

Ige Says Child Care Centers Can Reopen. But Are They Ready?

Private Schools May Suffer As Cash-Strapped Families Can’t Afford Tuition

April 2020

Wednesday, April 29

DOE Chief: Distance Learning Will Still Fill A Need Once Classrooms Reopen

Tuesday, April 28

What Should Hawaii’s Schools Look Like After The Pandemic?

Friday, April 24

Hawaii Foodbank Gets $2 Million Boost

Thursday, April 23

Coronavirus Shakes Up Dreams Of College For Many Hawaii Seniors

Wednesday, April 22

Lawsuit: Closed-Door Board Of Ed Meeting Violated Sunshine Law

Saturday, April 18

Teaching Your Kid At Home Is Not As Easy As It Looks

Friday, April 17

Hawaii Schools Closed For Rest of School Year

Wednesday, April 15

Traditional High School Graduations in Hawaii Canceled This Year

Lawmakers, Union Officials Are Pushing Back Against State Pay Cuts

Lawsuit: Special Ed Students Need Extra Help When Schools Reopen

Wednesday, April 8

Hawaii Public Schools Unlikely To Open Again This School Year

Sunday, April 5

Educators Worry About Kids With No Computers As Online Classes Start

Thursday, April 2

Board of Ed Waives High School Graduation Requirements

March 2020

Monday, March 30

Churches Are Going Online To Keep The Faithful Connected

Hawaii Schools Want To Keep Kids Engaged Until School Resumes

Sunday, March 29

Hawaii Coronavirus Cases Now At 175

Tuesday, March 24

Superintendent: Hawaii Schools To Remain Closed Through April 30

Monday, March 23

Your Child Care Center May Still Be Open

Thursday, March 19

DOE Will Offer Meals Outside Some Cafeterias While Schools Are Closed

Tuesday, March 17

Hawaii Teachers Union Files Complaint Against DOE, Governor

Monday, March 16

Advocates Want More Emphasis On High Quality Pre-K In Early Education Bill

Sunday, March 15

Hawaii Public Schools Extend Spring Break Due To Coronavirus

Wednesday, March 11

Hawaii DOE Cancels All School Travel Outside State

February 2020

Tuesday, February 25

Bill To Expand Preschool Access Clears Key House Committees

Hawaiian Language Makes A Comeback In Hana’s Schools — And Homes

Monday, February 24

Building A Hawaiian Language Curriculum Classroom By Classroom

Thursday, February 20

Hawaii DOE’s Next 10-Year Vision Will Have To Wait

Tuesday, February 11

Why Hawaii Isn’t Competitive In Recruiting Teachers

Friday, February 7

Plan For Dramatic Expansion Of Hawaii Pre-K Programs Still Lacks Details

January 2020

Friday, January 31

Hawaii Looks To The Philippines For Its Newest Teacher Recruits

Monday, January 27

Saiki Proposes Tax Funding Measure To Raise Teacher Pay

Friday, January 24

Judge: ACLU Title IX Suit Cannot Proceed As Class Action

Friday, January 17

DOE Faces More Tough Questions Over How It Will Pay For Teacher Raises

Thursday, January 16

Lawyer: Mid-Pac Institute ‘Showed Stupefying Incompetence’ In Death Of Boy

Tuesday, January 14

Hawaii Leaders Back Ambitious Plan To Rapidly Expand Preschool

DOE Wants To Raise Pay For Experienced Hawaii Teachers

Tuesday, January 7

Hawaii Board Of Education Wants More Transparency In School Construction Projects

Monday, January 6

A $75,000 Settlement Is Scaring Hawaii Charter Schools