Civil Beat Staff

Suevon Lee

Suevon Lee joined Honolulu Civil Beat as a reporter in June 2017.

She was previously based in Los Angeles, where she wrote for legal news wire Law360. She also served as editor-in-chief of former print culture magazine, KoreAm Journal.

She has also worked in New York, where she was a reporting intern for ProPublica and editor/reporter for an affiliate publication of the New York Law Journal. She has also spent time in Florida, covering courts for the Ocala Star-Banner.

Originally from the D.C. suburbs, Suevon graduated from the University of Maryland with a degree in English. She holds a masters from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism and a master of studies in law from Yale Law School.

You can reach Suevon via email at slee@civilbeat.org or follow her on Twitter at @suevlee.

October 2021

Sunday, October 24

The DOE’s Covid Travel Rules For Unvaccinated Students Can Be Costly

Thursday, October 21

‘Extremely Alarming’ Test Scores Show Challenges Ahead For Hawaii Schools

Wahi A Nā Mākua, ʻAʻole Lawa Kā DOE Mālama ʻAna I Polokalamu Pūnaewele No Nā Kula Kaiapuni

Tuesday, October 19

Hawaii’s Search For A New School Chief Will Take Longer Than Expected

Friday, October 15

Special Ed Students Have Been ‘Left Out’ From Distance Learning in Hawaii

Thursday, October 14

Hawaii Is Losing More Teachers Than Ever Amid Pandemic Fatigue

Friday, October 8

Nonprofit Will Use Grant To Create Savings Accounts For Native Hawaiian Families

Wednesday, October 6

Lanai School Gets Hawaiian Immersion Classroom

Monday, October 4

Parents Say DOE’s Effort To Create Distance Learning For Hawaiian Immersion Is Overdue

September 2021

Tuesday, September 28

Have To Stay Home From School Due To Covid Quarantine? You’re Excused

Friday, September 24

Some Hawaii Schools Have Not Yet Launched A Free Covid-19 Testing Program

Tuesday, September 21

Many Head Start Classes Go Back Online Amid Covid Surge

Thursday, September 16

Hawaii Education Plan for ‘Learning Acceleration’ Short on Details, Board Members Say

Monday, September 13

Former Hawaii Legislator Joins Board of Education on Interim Basis

Hawaii Kindergarten Enrollment Has Dropped Sharply Since The Pandemic Began

Thursday, September 9

Can Kids Keep Up With Schoolwork In Quarantine? In Hawaii, It Depends On The School

Tuesday, September 7

State Teachers Union Files Actions Over Covid Test Mandate, Safety Protocols

August 2021

Thursday, August 26

Ua Lilo Kekahi Polokalamu ʻIke Hawaiʻi I Mea Pūnaewele A Hū Aʻe Kona Kaulana Ma ʻAmelika

Wednesday, August 25

Hawaii Has A Shortage Of School Bus Drivers, Leaving Some Students Stranded

Thursday, August 19

Hawaii Turns To Mainland Teachers To End Distance Learning Backlog

Statewide Distance Learning Delays Leave Many Children In Limbo

Tuesday, August 17

Facing New Covid Cases, Waianae School Returns to Distance Learning

Friday, August 13

These Central Oahu Schools Have Joined Forces To Offer Distance Learning

Sunday, August 8

Here’s How Hawaii Schools Plan To Spend $412 Million In New Aid

Thursday, August 5

Hawaii Public Workers Need To Be Vaccinated Or Tested Weekly

Wednesday, August 4

Hawaii Public High School Students Must Be Vaccinated To Participate In Sports

Monday, August 2

Hawaii Officials Reject Calls To Delay The Return To Classroom Learning

Sunday, August 1

Hawaii Kids Are Heading Back To School Despite COVID Surge

July 2021

Thursday, July 29

Hawaii Education Department Releases Statewide Distance Learning Plan

Monday, July 26

Hawaii Relaxes Outdoor Mask Rules, Urges Vaccines For Schools

Wednesday, July 21

Hawaii Schools Will Offer Distance Learning Options But With Limited Resources

Tuesday, July 20

How Hawaii Schools Are Helping Kids Who Struggled During The Pandemic

Thursday, July 15

Hawaii School Board Says Families Should Have Distance Learning Option In The Fall

Sunday, July 11

A Local Hawaiian Studies Program Went Online And Its Popularity Soared On The Mainland

Friday, July 9

Hawaii Schools Not Lifting Mask Mandate Yet Despite New CDC Guidance

Thursday, July 1

Ke Kūkulu ʻAna I Moʻohaʻawina I Kahi Papa A I Kahi Papa

June 2021

Wednesday, June 30

Hawaii’s Board Of Education Is In Limbo As Ige Stays Mum On Vacancies

Tuesday, June 29

How Hawaii Schools Are Weaving Connections With Pacific Islander Students

Thursday, June 24

How Hawaii’s Remote Worker Initiative Connects Students To Industry Pros

Monday, June 21

Frustration Grows Among Hawaii Parents Who Aren’t Ready To Send Their Kids Back To Class

Thursday, June 17

Waipahu High Principal Is Confirmed As Interim Superintendent Of Hawaii’s Schools

Education Program for At-Risk Youth Shuts Down After 50 Years in Honolulu

Thursday, June 10

Despite Low Turnout, Hawaii’s Teachers Ratify New Contract

Wednesday, June 9

Hawaii Hopes New Commission Will Improve Civic Engagement And Respect For Democracy

Thursday, June 3

Hawaii School Chief Stands By Full Reopening Despite Calls For Distance Learning Options

Wednesday, June 2

Hawaii Teacher Salaries Won’t Change If New Contract Is Approved

May 2021

Friday, May 28

Veteran Education Administrator Is Nominated To Be Interim DOE Superintendent

Tuesday, May 25

High School Seniors ‘Persevered’ Through COVID-19 But Face An Uncertain Future

Friday, May 14

Summer School Offers Kids A ‘Last Chance’ To Catch Up Before New School Year

Wednesday, May 12

Incoming Hawaii Teachers Union Chief Offers Changes In Style Not Substance

Monday, May 10

How One Hawaii Foundation Is Helping Build A Local Tutor Pipeline For Schools

April 2021

Friday, April 30

Head Of Hawaii’s Teachers’ Union Is Vying To Be Interim Superintendent

Thursday, April 29

Hawaii Legislators Dole Out COVID-19 Relief Funds To Improve Public Schools

Who Should Lead Hawaii Schools? State Lawmakers Have Some Ideas

Sunday, April 18

‘We Keep Trying’: Hawaii Sees Spike In School Absenteeism Due To The Pandemic

Thursday, April 15

Hawaii Board of Education Approves Pay Boosts For Complex Area Leaders

Wednesday, April 14

Hawaii’s Search For A New School Superintendent Could Take Nearly A Year

Monday, April 12

Summer Program Will Give Kindergarteners A Crash Course In Attending School

Monday, April 5

Hawaii Parents Say ‘So Far, So Good’ As Schools Push Toward Full Reopening

March 2021

Tuesday, March 30

Hawaii’s Private Schools See Enrollment Drop More Than 20% For Preschoolers

Wednesday, March 24

University Of Hawaii Report Finds ‘Discriminatory Policing’ In Honolulu Schools

Tuesday, March 23

Did Unions’ Lack of Support Spell Trouble for School Superintendent?

Monday, March 15

DOE Doesn’t Expect Schools To Fully Reopen Until Next Year

How One Private School Is Trying To Help Public Schools Catch Up

Wednesday, March 10

From The Philippines To Lanai: State Hopes New Teaching Recruits Will Fill A Gap

Tuesday, March 9

Hawaii Schools Superintendent To Step Down After Her Contract Expires In July

Thursday, March 4

Board of Ed Defers Debate On Superintendent Contract Renewal

Wednesday, March 3

Hawaii Aims To Reopen Elementary Schools After Spring Break

Monday, March 1

Hawaii Preschools See Declines In Enrollment And Available Seats

February 2021

Thursday, February 25

Hawaii Gives Green Light To Limited In-Person Graduation Ceremonies

Tuesday, February 23

This Private School Will Soon Begin Doing COVID-19 Tests On Campus

Monday, February 22

Hawaii Always Had A Hard Time Recruiting Teachers. The Pandemic Made It Harder

Wednesday, February 17

DOE Superintendent Says Better Spacing Guidance Is Needed For School Reopenings

A DOE Bid To End Teacher Salary Incentives Is Getting Pushback

Friday, February 12

Teacher Vaccinations, New CDC Guidance Boost Hopes For Reopening Schools

How Hawaii Schools Are Teaching Kindness And Empathy In A Volatile World

Sunday, February 7

COVID-19 Was ‘The Last Straw’ For Hawaii’s Oldest Catholic School

Tuesday, February 2

First Semester DOE Data Shows Graduation Rate On Downward Slope

Monday, February 1

Hawaii Public Schools To Get $56M in Title I Funds This Year

January 2021

Tuesday, January 26

CDC Supports Reopening Schools. Hawaii Officials Say Not Yet

Thursday, January 21

Hawaii DOE Welcomes Smaller Budget Cuts But Uncertainty Remains

Wednesday, January 20

DOE To Present Grim Staffing Plan But Says Teacher Layoffs Are A ‘Last Resort’

Thursday, January 14

Teacher Training Initiative Takes Shape Under COVID-19 Federal Grant

Wednesday, January 13

The DOE Plans To Use Private Tutors To Help Struggling Students Catch Up

Tuesday, January 12

Teachers Shift Lessons to Focus on US Capitol Attack