Civil Beat Staff

Suevon Lee

Suevon Lee joined Honolulu Civil Beat as a reporter in June 2017.

She was previously based in Los Angeles, where she wrote for legal news wire Law360. She also served as editor-in-chief of former print culture magazine, KoreAm Journal.

She has also worked in New York, where she was a reporting intern for ProPublica and editor/reporter for an affiliate publication of the New York Law Journal. She has also spent time in Florida, covering courts for the Ocala Star-Banner.

Originally from the D.C. suburbs, Suevon graduated from the University of Maryland with a degree in English. She holds a masters from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism and a master of studies in law from Yale Law School.

You can reach Suevon via email at slee@civilbeat.org or follow her on Twitter at @suevlee.

May 2019

Tuesday, May 14

Nonprofit Group Says DOE Is Withholding Key Financial Data

Thursday, May 2

Bill To Expand Public Preschool Teed Up For Full Senate Vote

More Fiscal Transparency Appears On The Way For Charter Schools

Wednesday, May 1

Partnership Aims To Help Hawaii Teachers Buy Homes

Bill To Expand Public Preschool Teed Up For Full Senate Vote

April 2019

Tuesday, April 23

Multilingual Report Cards May Be Coming Soon To Hawaii Schools

Wednesday, April 17

DOE Lays Out A 10-year ‘Road Map’ For Fixing Old Schools, Building New Ones

Tuesday, April 9

State Initiates Audit Of School Impact Fees On Developers

Friday, April 5

Ige Appoints Kamehameha Schools Official To Board of Education

Following Lawsuit, DOE Revives Its Gender Equity Committee

Monday, April 1

Charter School Clampdown Has Educators Worried About Their Independence

March 2019

Thursday, March 28

Push To Increase Spending On Schools Loses Momentum

Tuesday, March 19

The Battle Over Preschool Puts Hawaii Governor On The Hot Seat

Wednesday, March 13

School Chief Chooses Some Of The People Helping To Evaluate Her

Wednesday, March 6

Who Should Run Hawaii’s Pre-K Program?

February 2019

Tuesday, February 26

Rural Schools Take A Big Hit In Hawaii’s Funding Formula

Friday, February 15

Overdue Report Holds Up Hawaii Plan To Prevent Gender Discrimination

Monday, February 11

Nonprofits Protest Coca-Cola’s Sponsorship Of The Great Aloha Run

Wednesday, February 6

These Waipahu Students Got A Head Start On Health Care Job Training

Tuesday, February 5

Civil Beat Sues To Get Teacher Misconduct Records

January 2019

Thursday, January 31

Here’s How Public Preschools Could Rapidly Expand In Hawaii

Tuesday, January 29

Why Hawaii Student Journalists Feel The Need To Censor Themselves

Friday, January 25

Hawaii’s Never-Ending Teacher Shortage Leaves Many Lawmakers Frustrated

Thursday, January 17

Hawaii School Superintendent’s Contract Extended For One Year

Wednesday, January 16

Education Officials Are Keeping Teacher Misconduct A Secret

Friday, January 11

School Board To Revote On Superintendent’s Contract — This Time Publicly

Tuesday, January 8

Hawaii’s Schools Chief Could Get One-Year Contract Extension