Special Report

The Hawaii Variable

April 2021

Monday, April 5

Hawaii Data Landscape: Antiquated Infrastructure, Widespread Distrust

Friday, April 2

Hawaii’s Pandemic-Induced Rental Car Shortage — Here’s What The Data Shows

March 2021

Wednesday, March 24

Hawaii’s Antiquated 211 Phone Line Gets A Much Needed Upgrade

Sunday, March 7

Fewer Farmers Are Growing Hawaii’s ‘Miracle Food’ Taro Despite Growing Demand

Friday, March 5

Report Calls For Better Data About And For Native Hawaiians

February 2021

Monday, February 22

Hawaii Farmers Need Better Data To Make Decisions

January 2021

Monday, January 11

What’s Happening On Maui? COVID-19 Surge Is Largely Blamed On Holiday Gatherings

December 2020

Thursday, December 31

The Hawaii Variable Index: 2020 By The Numbers

Wednesday, December 30

Researchers: Detailed Mobility Data Can Help Target COVID-19 Hot Spots

Monday, December 21

Safe Travels Fails To Lure Many Travelers From Japan To Hawaii

Tuesday, December 15

Surveillance Test Study Shows Few COVID-19 Positives During Safe Travels

Sunday, December 6

Economic Gains, Travel-Related Cases: Unpacking Safe Travels Data

November 2020

Tuesday, November 24

COVID-19 Is Changing ‘The Face Of Hunger’ In Hawaii

Monday, November 16

COVID-19 Data: Dashboards Galore, But Key Data Still Sparse

Friday, November 6

Biden Easily Won Hawaii But Data Shows Support For Trump Has Grown

Monday, November 2

Glitches And Problems: My First Adventure With Hawaii’s New COVID-19 Travel Program

October 2020

Sunday, October 25

Wrong Tests, Weird Exemptions – What The Data Tells Us About Hawaii’s Reopening

Thursday, October 15

Are You Wearing A Mask In Public? These Hawaii Researchers Want To Know

Monday, October 5

Hawaii’s Population Is Shrinking. The Pandemic Could Make Things Worse

September 2020

Thursday, September 24

The Most Comprehensive Hawaii COVID-19 Maps Come From This ‘Data Geek’

Friday, September 4

State Officials Are Overusing Privacy Excuse To Withhold COVID-19 Data

August 2020

Wednesday, August 26

The Public Wanted More COVID-19 Data. What DOH Delivered ‘Misses The Point’

Sunday, August 16

Trying To Make Sense Of COVID-19 Data? Here’s Some Help

Monday, August 10

How Bad Is Hawaii At Social Distancing? Here’s What The Data Shows

Sunday, August 2

Why Does Hawaii Have Such Low Voter Turnout? Here’s What The Data Says

July 2020

Sunday, July 26

Report: Hawaii Isn’t Collecting And Sharing Enough Data On COVID-19

Sunday, July 19

Hawaii Is Trailing In Census Participation — And It Could Cost Us

Hawaii Data Landscape: Antiquated Infrastructure, Widespread Distrust Courtesy: Hawaii Data Collaborative

Hawaii Data Landscape: Antiquated Infrastructure, Widespread Distrust

New report from the Hawaii Data Collaborative lays out the challenges faced by the state’s data ecosystem and recommendations on how to move forward.

Hawaii’s Pandemic-Induced Rental Car Shortage — Here’s What The Data Shows Cory Lum/Civil Beat/2021

Hawaii’s Pandemic-Induced Rental Car Shortage — Here’s What The Data Shows

Rental car companies sold off part of their fleets to make up for economic losses caused by the pandemic.

Hawaii’s Antiquated 211 Phone Line Gets A Much Needed Upgrade Ronen Zilberman/Civil Beat/2020

Hawaii’s Antiquated 211 Phone Line Gets A Much Needed Upgrade

As the pandemic escalated last year, soaring call volumes crashed the system. Hawaii Data Collaborative is helping overhaul it.

Fewer Farmers Are Growing Hawaii’s ‘Miracle Food’ Taro Despite Growing Demand Yoohyun Jung/Civil Beat

Fewer Farmers Are Growing Hawaii’s ‘Miracle Food’ Taro Despite Growing Demand

Growing, cultivating and cooking the starchy root vegetable, which is used to make poi, is hard work that’s not always profitable.

Report Calls For Better Data About And For Native Hawaiians Courtesy: Hawaii Budget & Policy Center/Papa Ola Lokahi

Report Calls For Better Data About And For Native Hawaiians

Native Hawaiians face disproportionate social and economic problems, but data about them is often incomplete, complicating efforts to improve the situation.

Hawaii Farmers Need Better Data To Make Decisions Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Farmers Need Better Data To Make Decisions

Several market analysis programs have been discontinued in the past decade, including monthly reports on Hawaii produce like bananas and papayas.

What’s Happening On Maui? COVID-19 Surge Is Largely Blamed On Holiday Gatherings Nathan Eagle/Civil Beat

What’s Happening On Maui? COVID-19 Surge Is Largely Blamed On Holiday Gatherings

Officials point to holiday-related gatherings including an outbreak at a condo complex that was believed to have started with a choir practice.

The Hawaii Variable Index: 2020 By The Numbers Cory Lum/Civil Beat

The Hawaii Variable Index: 2020 By The Numbers

COVID-19, elections and more. What a year it’s been.

Researchers: Detailed Mobility Data Can Help Target COVID-19 Hot Spots

Researchers: Detailed Mobility Data Can Help Target COVID-19 Hot Spots

Recent studies show people are going out more as the pandemic drags on.