Special Report

Hawaii's Changing Economy

February 2020

Tuesday, February 25

Hawaiian Language Makes A Comeback In Hana’s Schools — And Homes

Tuesday, February 11

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee

January 2020

Tuesday, January 28

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially

Tuesday, January 7

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Monday, January 6

Cyber Spies Are Quietly Boosting Hawaii’s High Tech Economy

December 2019

Friday, December 20

Economists: High Living Costs Continue Driving Hawaii Residents Away

November 2019

Tuesday, November 19

Energy Giant AES Has A Big — And Growing — Footprint In Hawaii

Friday, November 15

Report: Hawaii’s Economic Growth Is The Lowest In The Nation

Tuesday, November 5

Hawaii Gas Faces Uncertain Future In State’s Renewable Energy Push

October 2019

Wednesday, October 23

Conflicts, Antitrust Questions Raised Regarding Maui Solar Farm

Thursday, October 17

Hawaii’s Green Energy Projects Search For Ways To Navigate Community Opposition

Wednesday, October 16

Why Hawaii Still Has So Few Electric Cars

Thursday, October 3

How ‘Green Fees’ Might Offset The Hidden Costs Of Tourism In Hawaii

September 2019

Monday, September 23

Why No One Knows How Many Green Energy Jobs Exist In Hawaii

Tuesday, September 10

Will Hawaii Electric Customers Ever Save Money With Renewable Energy?

August 2019

Tuesday, August 27

Air Travel’s Carbon Footprint Takes A Big Environmental Toll In Hawaii

Thursday, August 22

Can This New Hawaii Venture Become The Stock Fund For Millennials?

July 2019

Thursday, July 18

How These Travel Hotspots Are Trying To Make Tourism Pay Its Own Way

Wednesday, July 17

Hawaii Struggles To Maintain Its Worn-Out Hiking Trails

Thursday, July 11

How Kailua Became A Tourist Town

Wednesday, July 10

9 Charts That Show How Hawaii Tourism Is Changing

10 Million Visitors: Can Hawaii Survive Its Own Popularity?

Tuesday, July 2

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree

June 2019

Thursday, June 20

Hawaii Has The Lowest Health Care Costs, Thanks To Strong State Laws

Friday, June 14

No One Knows How Many Homes Are Sitting Empty Despite Housing Shortage

Monday, June 10

Kakaako’s Empty Condos: ‘At Night, It’s A Ghost Town Down Here’

Monday, June 3

Hawaiian Electric’s Ambitious Plan To Quit Using Coal Is A ‘Moon Mission’

May 2019

Monday, May 20

Can These Unlikely Partners Help Diversify Hawaii’s Economy?

Monday, May 6

Wanted: People Who Can Make Useful Sense Of Vast Amounts Of Data

April 2019

Friday, April 26

Will One Of These Fledgling Companies Be Hawaii’s Next Big Brand?

Friday, April 19

Can A Sustainable Industry Be Built From An Invasive Species?

Tuesday, April 16

The High Price Of Luring The Movies To Hawaii

Thursday, April 4

Hawaii’s Population Decline Signals Future Economic Challenges

Tuesday, April 2

Beyond Hotels And Beaches: Can Hawaii Really Diversify Its Economy?

Civil Beat Wants To Find Out Where Hawaii’s Economy Is Headed

Hawaiian Language Makes A Comeback In Hana’s Schools — And Homes April Estrellon/Civil Beat

Hawaiian Language Makes A Comeback In Hana’s Schools — And Homes

The establishment of a popular Hawaiian immersion program several years ago has had an impact on the broader community, says the Hana High & Elementary principal.

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee Stewart Yerton

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee

A bill that would require coffee labeled with a Hawaiian name contain at least 50% Hawaii-grown beans has so far faced no opposition.

 

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially

Residents cope by working multiple jobs, living with relatives and tapping savings, a new study shows.

Investor: Changes At Hawaiian Electric ‘Can Happen Fast’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Investor: Changes At Hawaiian Electric ‘Can Happen Fast’

A activist shareholder says Hawaiian Electric could be a case study for environmental sustainability.

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Critics warned that a bill to crack down on illegal vacation rentals would doom Kailua’s economy. But months later, the town still bustles with tourists and hundreds of vacation rentals.

Cyber Spies Are Quietly Boosting Hawaii’s High Tech Economy National Security Agency

Cyber Spies Are Quietly Boosting Hawaii’s High Tech Economy

Can the state build on a massive base of National Security Agency and other government cyber jobs?

Economists: High Living Costs Continue Driving Hawaii Residents Away Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Economists: High Living Costs Continue Driving Hawaii Residents Away

A new UH study predicts tourism to drive moderate growth in 2020, despite recent population declines.

Energy Giant AES Has A Big — And Growing — Footprint In Hawaii Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Energy Giant AES Has A Big — And Growing — Footprint In Hawaii

The Kahuku wind farm developer opposed a proposed ban on coal in Hawaii.

Report: Hawaii’s Economic Growth Is The Lowest In The Nation

Report: Hawaii’s Economic Growth Is The Lowest In The Nation

Record visitor numbers are hiding an alarming trend.

Hawaii Gas Faces Uncertain Future In State’s Renewable Energy Push Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Gas Faces Uncertain Future In State’s Renewable Energy Push

A bill to limit the use of natural gas in new homes could be a first step to broader bans, a gas company official says.

Conflicts, Antitrust Questions Raised Regarding Maui Solar Farm Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Conflicts, Antitrust Questions Raised Regarding Maui Solar Farm

Utilities and others are concerned that the same lawyers are representing multiple parties in a competitive bidding process.

Hawaii’s Green Energy Projects Search For Ways To Navigate Community Opposition Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii’s Green Energy Projects Search For Ways To Navigate Community Opposition

A number of new solar and wind projects are needed on Oahu to replace the last coal-fired plant, which is scheduled to close in 2022.