Special Report

Hawaii's Changing Economy

May 2020

Wednesday, May 13

The Pandemic Ignites A Bike Boom In Honolulu

Tuesday, May 12

Hawaii’s Struggling Farms Want The State To Become A Bigger Customer

April 2020

Wednesday, April 8

Hawaii Businesses Affected By COVID-19 Could Face Tough Fights With Insurers

Monday, April 6

Hawaii Banks Start Rolling Out Relief To Small Firms

March 2020

Sunday, March 29

Will Feds’ Relief Package Be Enough To Keep Hawaii’s Small Businesses Afloat?

Wednesday, March 11

Jobs In Hawaii: The Future Looks A Lot Like The Past

Tuesday, March 10

Lawmakers Want To Subsidize Big Rate Increases By Hawaii’s Only Interisland Shipper

Wednesday, March 4

Hawaii’s Largest Private College Is Fighting For Its Future

February 2020

Tuesday, February 11

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee

January 2020

Tuesday, January 28

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially

Tuesday, January 7

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Monday, January 6

Cyber Spies Are Quietly Boosting Hawaii’s High Tech Economy

December 2019

Friday, December 20

Economists: High Living Costs Continue Driving Hawaii Residents Away

November 2019

Tuesday, November 19

Energy Giant AES Has A Big — And Growing — Footprint In Hawaii

Friday, November 15

Report: Hawaii’s Economic Growth Is The Lowest In The Nation

Tuesday, November 5

Hawaii Gas Faces Uncertain Future In State’s Renewable Energy Push

October 2019

Wednesday, October 23

Conflicts, Antitrust Questions Raised Regarding Maui Solar Farm

Thursday, October 17

Hawaii’s Green Energy Projects Search For Ways To Navigate Community Opposition

Wednesday, October 16

Why Hawaii Still Has So Few Electric Cars

Thursday, October 3

How ‘Green Fees’ Might Offset The Hidden Costs Of Tourism In Hawaii

September 2019

Monday, September 23

Why No One Knows How Many Green Energy Jobs Exist In Hawaii

Tuesday, September 10

Will Hawaii Electric Customers Ever Save Money With Renewable Energy?

August 2019

Tuesday, August 27

Air Travel’s Carbon Footprint Takes A Big Environmental Toll In Hawaii

Thursday, August 22

Can This New Hawaii Venture Become The Stock Fund For Millennials?

July 2019

Thursday, July 18

How These Travel Hotspots Are Trying To Make Tourism Pay Its Own Way

Wednesday, July 17

Hawaii Struggles To Maintain Its Worn-Out Hiking Trails

Thursday, July 11

How Kailua Became A Tourist Town

Wednesday, July 10

9 Charts That Show How Hawaii Tourism Is Changing

10 Million Visitors: Can Hawaii Survive Its Own Popularity?

Tuesday, July 2

Selling Students On A Future Career, Not Just A Degree

June 2019

Thursday, June 20

Hawaii Has The Lowest Health Care Costs, Thanks To Strong State Laws

Friday, June 14

No One Knows How Many Homes Are Sitting Empty Despite Housing Shortage

Monday, June 10

Kakaako’s Empty Condos: ‘At Night, It’s A Ghost Town Down Here’

Monday, June 3

Hawaiian Electric’s Ambitious Plan To Quit Using Coal Is A ‘Moon Mission’

May 2019

Monday, May 20

Can These Unlikely Partners Help Diversify Hawaii’s Economy?

Monday, May 6

Wanted: People Who Can Make Useful Sense Of Vast Amounts Of Data

April 2019

Friday, April 26

Will One Of These Fledgling Companies Be Hawaii’s Next Big Brand?

Friday, April 19

Can A Sustainable Industry Be Built From An Invasive Species?

Tuesday, April 16

The High Price Of Luring The Movies To Hawaii

Thursday, April 4

Hawaii’s Population Decline Signals Future Economic Challenges

Tuesday, April 2

Beyond Hotels And Beaches: Can Hawaii Really Diversify Its Economy?

Civil Beat Wants To Find Out Where Hawaii’s Economy Is Headed

The Pandemic Ignites A Bike Boom In Honolulu Cory Lum/Civil Beat

The Pandemic Ignites A Bike Boom In Honolulu

With gyms closed and other exercise options limited, bicycle shops say they are selling almost every bike they can get their hands on.

Hawaii’s Struggling Farms Want The State To Become A Bigger Customer Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii’s Struggling Farms Want The State To Become A Bigger Customer

With local farmers reeling from a drop in demand from hotels and restaurants, advocates hope schools, prisons and hospitals will buy more local produce.

Hawaii Businesses Affected By COVID-19 Could Face Tough Fights With Insurers Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Businesses Affected By COVID-19 Could Face Tough Fights With Insurers

Hospitality industry executives in Hawaii and elsewhere are pushing for insurers to pay claims related to government-ordered shutdowns.

Hawaii Banks Start Rolling Out Relief To Small Firms Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii Banks Start Rolling Out Relief To Small Firms

With some $350 billion to spread around, banks across the nation began taking applications from small businesses on Friday.

Will Feds’ Relief Package Be Enough To Keep Hawaii’s Small Businesses Afloat? Stewart Yerton/Civil Beat

Will Feds’ Relief Package Be Enough To Keep Hawaii’s Small Businesses Afloat?

The package includes $377 billion for small businesses. Loan money spent on payroll and rent for the next two months doesn’t have to be paid back.

Jobs In Hawaii: The Future Looks A Lot Like The Past April Estrellon/Civil Beat

Jobs In Hawaii: The Future Looks A Lot Like The Past

Many of the state’s fastest-growing areas of employment remain in service and tourism jobs that make it tough to get by in Hawaii’s pricey economy.

Lawmakers Want To Subsidize Big Rate Increases By Hawaii’s Only Interisland Shipper Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Lawmakers Want To Subsidize Big Rate Increases By Hawaii’s Only Interisland Shipper

Supporters say the cash is needed to help offset Young Brothers increasingly expensive cargo service to Molokai and Lanai.

Hawaii’s Largest Private College Is Fighting For Its Future Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Hawaii’s Largest Private College Is Fighting For Its Future

Hawaii Pacific University has experienced plunging enrollment, steep operating losses and large debt. Now it’s planning for an ambitious turnaround at a time when many small colleges are in trouble.

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee Stewart Yerton

Hawaii Lawmakers Are Showing A Little Love For Kona Coffee

A bill that would require coffee labeled with a Hawaiian name contain at least 50% Hawaii-grown beans has so far faced no opposition.

 

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Report: Two-Thirds of Hawaii Residents Struggle Financially

Residents cope by working multiple jobs, living with relatives and tapping savings, a new study shows.

Investor: Changes At Hawaiian Electric ‘Can Happen Fast’ Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Investor: Changes At Hawaiian Electric ‘Can Happen Fast’

A activist shareholder says Hawaiian Electric could be a case study for environmental sustainability.

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua Cory Lum/Civil Beat

Vacation Rentals Are Still Thriving In Kailua

Critics warned that a bill to crack down on illegal vacation rentals would doom Kailua’s economy. But months later, the town still bustles with tourists and hundreds of vacation rentals.